We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for eight nights in Villa Schuler and could not have chosen better. The hotel is perfectly situated just a few steps down from the Corso Umberto (main street) and set in it's own beautiful gardens. The staff are all lovely and will assist with any enqury. On arrival we were offered a very welcome glass of green tea, a special recipe of the owners. We had booked a junior suite on the third floor which looked out over the bay. We chose a suite as it provided us with our own terrace and more room inside. It was spacious and had excellent air-con and a little fridge. A welcome bottle of wine and fruit were there on our arrival and when we threw open the sliding doors to our terrace the view that awaited us was fantastic.
Breakfast at Villa Schuler is so unlike the usual self-service routine of other hotels. After finding your table on the beautiful terrace (don't forget to take your cushion from just inside the door) you will be served by the very friendly waiters or waitresses and will have difficulty choosing what to eat first from the delicious menu! Portions are generous and you can have whatever you like, all served up with an amazing view of Mount Etna. What could be better?
We loved Viilla Schuler and hope to return!

Room Tip: The junior suites have a terrace with sunbeds on them although all othe rooms have small balconies t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    238
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
177
773
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the extremely pretty garden below and the mountains above. The room was cleaned and maintained every day to a high standard by friendly cleaning staff. An amazing breakfast of your choice (if what you wanted was not already on their extensive menu) was served on the breakfast terrace (with beautiful views of the bays below and Mount Etna to the side) by smiling, polite and professional staff who were all fluent in many languages. Staff on reception were extremely helpful at all times and no query was left unanswered. The hotel is situated close to the Corsa Umberto, the main sights, the bus station and funicular railway to the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose this hotel based on trip advisor and we were not disappointed! The entire staff is exceptional in every way- from the helpful front desk who offered to call a doctor when we thought I had strep throat to the breakfast servers who handled our large group's complicated orders to the cleaning staff who did our laundry and Mohamed who helped us with our bags, when we needed to iron clothes, and find a bus schedule. The breakfast is the best you will have in Italy. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful- my mother sat by the koi pond every afternoon and took it all in. The rooms are very clean and the sea views are unbeatable. It's paradise- you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monzie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Excellent family run hotel from the minute you enter the hotell you feel you are in a very friendly environment. In other words completely looked after and taken care of. All your needs are arranged for you. Places you wish to see, foods you like for breakfast, you don't even have to ask for your room key its remembered. Your name is always remembered as well as you approach reception Its as if you are part of a large family. Very central location. Yet down a little side street. Spotless rooms, go for a superior one with the balcony, worth it, really. Breakfast is amazing. Something for everyone on it.
Very quiet at night, air conditioning excellent. Can't fault it in any way.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room, the ones with just a balcony look like the balcony is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinderella059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

After traveling for over 5 weeks, we were a little tired when we arrived. By the time we left, we were completely refreshed. The Hotel Villa Schuler is a lovely retreat. Perched on the side of a cliff, with the sea air ventilating the room, it was easy to slip into restful sleeps. The breakfasts, which are included, are varied enough to please even extended stays. Rooms, views and service were great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camille0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

From the moment that the six of us walked in to this beautiful boutique hotel that overlooks the ocean and Mount Etna beyond, we were enchanted. The young man, who greeted us, took charge of our luggage and our car, to the turtle-packed walled terraced gardens and the rooms that had gorgeous views, we could not have chosen a better place to spend 4 days. The day started with a sumptuous breakfast served by Francesca and Nicole on a pleasing terrace and the long time owners - Gerald and Christina helped plan our day - they went out of their way to make personal calls to friends they have known for decades so that we were greeted like old friends at restaurants, wineries and vineyards and such. The 16 staff members pandered to our whims, provided last minute laundry and an early breakfast to accommodate our hectic schedule. As a post script, our daughter left some posters that she had bought and the staff mailed them to us graciously and promptly. It was five star Sicilian hospitality in pristine surroundings that we will never forget!!

Room Tip: please ask for the superior rooms with double view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dramchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

From the car waiting at the airport, help chasing all 3 bags lost between Rome and Catania Airports, thru to room and breakfast services, all were spot on.

The view from our cnr. Superior Double Seaview room was spectacular. One balcony with full sweeping views to bay and sea and another framing Mt Etna. Room was good size, spotless, with simple furnishing. Included breakfast on terrace was substancial.
Our son had Garden view room with his own balcony, well appointed bathroom and spacious room.

A couple of flights of stairs and you are in the heart of Taormina pedestrian shopping, cafes and restaurant mall.

If you dont need the ultra fancy furnishings, in house restaurant and pool you cant go past Villa Schuler. Best hotel for the money!

Gorgeous, authentic, well maintained and appointed traditional villa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bindiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing