We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel (unless you can't walk in stairs)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed at La Pensione Svizzera for my sister's wedding. First of all, Sicily is quite expensive, Taormina even more so. Having said that, I was very pleased with this hotel. The rooms were small but cozy. The staff were all good (although some spoke so so English). The breakfast was really good imo. The hotel is located some 50 meters away from the bus terminal, just next to the lift that will take you to the beach. The main street is just up the street a few 100 meters. Great view from the hotel along the cliff side of Taormina.

My grandmother, who has a seriously injured hip, was not that pleased as there are several stairs going in to the hotel and then more going to the rooms (and no elevator). So if you can't take stairs, don't stay there. Otherwise, this is your pick imo.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big_ebbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 833 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed for a week in July 2010. The best thing about the place is the location, ideally situated close to the cable car which takes you down to the wonderful Isola Bella beach. The location is also good at night as it's close to all the restaurants and bars of Taormina which are mainly all at the top of the cliff side.
Rooms very clean and decent size. We were in room 7 which opened out onto a terrace and had some good views down to the beach, and on a clear day to mainland Italy.
The buffet breakfast was pretty good although you can't really go wrong with a continental.
A couple a minor issues: there wasn't an iron you could borrow but instead they provided an ironing service which you paid for. I suppose this could be a positive issue for some people. The other was the dodgy hair dryers attached to the wall in the bathrooms - not the best for the girlfriend trying to get ready quickly but hey your on holiday so what's the rush!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon_Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

It's a pleasure to write a ***** review that will (hopefully) send other travelers to La Pensione Svizzera. #1 - the family running the hotel was ALWAYS friendly and helpful. #2 - the garden was a delight for taking a break, having a drink or reading a book. #3 - the breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigerPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Helpful friendly desk staff. Breakfast good with a friendly hostess. Great view from the small balcony. Could hear the toilet flush in the room next to ours though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnStAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had a lovely stay in La Pensione Svizzera. It is a small hotel but very personal and cosy. Breakfast was also personal and very fresh and possible to get several kinds of coffe and you could enjoy your breakfast in their wintergarden or inside. Clean rooms with nice bathroom. We stayed in a room with seaview and it was very nice, if they had a balcony or terrace it would be better, but the seaview was marvellous.
It was situated near the cablecar and in a quiet spot of Taormina.
They have a nice and serviceminded personal so we liked this hotel very much and hope to come back to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneUme_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great little hotel located on the main road in to this historical town. Nice size room but shower is very small, nice balcony with spectacular views over the coast. Helpful staff who could not do enough in passing on local information and local attractions. Breakfast is served in "The Winter Garden" and this is a treat. Well worth a visit for exploring or just to chill and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shriek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

La Pensione Svizzera has already got many positive comments about the good and friendly service - and I can assure that they do not exaggarate: the people there really do know how to make your holidays nice and unforgettable. Nowhere in Italy have we met such a firedly, smiling and helpful staff as in La Pensione Svizzera.

We spent a week in Taormina and made an excursion to Syracusa and to Etna. The staff of the hotel booked the trips for us. The also organized our two days on the beach: there were trasport from the hotel to the beach club and we got beach towels from the hotel; the "ombrelloni" and "lettini" were included in the very reasonble prices.

By the way, we recommed Paradise beach club. It was a little more expensive than Lido Tropicana but it was worth it: great, friendly service, pool (good for those who do not want or can't swim in heavy wases) and surprisingly good restaurant on the beach.

In Taromina it would be nice to have a swimming pool in your hotel but this great service nearly compensated the lack of the pool: it was easy enough to reach the beach club and to come back to hotel with the shuttle service.

At the hotel the room was clean and shower was much better than usually in Italy. If we could suggest one improvement though, it would be a small refrigerator in the room. We would really have enjoyed cool drinks and cold mineral water in the room and refrigerator would be a great asset.

The balcony is really small but there were still room for two chairs.

We Finns have got used to very abundant brakfasts in our Finnish hotels. The breakfast was not like that, not as huge as a "Finnish breakfast" but it was good and in fact much better than usually, say, in Rome.

La Pensione Svizzera is definitively good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SariHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $128 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing