We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveler rating
573
340
62
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
573
340
62
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus cable car corso umberto visiting taormina overlooking the sea view funivia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 983 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2017

A great location with a view of the coastline and walking distance to everything which is key in Taormina as you do not want to drive or park around town! Mauro had great restaurant and travel tips, and served a nice breakfast to start off the day on the patio. Lucy, his dog was also a favorite, greeting us each morning at breakfast with her ball. Ciao until next time!

Room tip: There are only stairs to reach the higher floors, but the view is worth it.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LittlePineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

My room was clean and had big windows opening towards the street. It was cool and comfortable. The receptionist and his assistant were great in getting us into reserved parking spaces on the street. It was a tight fit, but with their help we got spaces right next to the hotel

Room tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter as are higher floors.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel La Pensione Svizzera. It is well located on a somewhat quiet street but quite close to all of the main attractions, including the main shopping street, the gondola to the beach, and the ancient Greco Teatro. We had a sea-view room and enjoyed the beauty of the bay and the city below us, plus the lights of mainland Italy at night across the sound. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the grounds were such an oasis in the midst of a busy tourist town. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, with charming spots to look out over the water. There is English tea in the late afternoon, as well as happy hour. The inner courtyard is lush and calm, with an enclosed area if it's cool outside. And best of all, there is a friendly hotel cat! We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: The Sea View room was wonderful. However, there is no elevator. We were on the 5th floor above ground level.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We stayed for four nights in September/October 2017. We read the reviews about the hotel, and booked a superior double room with a balcony/terrace. We were a little concerned by some of the reviews on here, but frankly we needn't have bothered. The room was absolutely fine. It was small, but we expected that. The key point is that the staff were excellent to deal with. We appreciated the complementary bottle of wine left for us on arrival. The location is perfect, and location could be a problem for other hotels if they were outside the main old town area. This hotel is about five minutes walk from the town gate. It could not be more convenient. Breakfast was good, though we did have to ask to get things topped up. Early evening drinks were a very nice experience. I cannot really imagine a better hotel in terms of value for money. Given that we basically just slept at the hotel it could not have been any better for us. So, I can honestly recommend the hotel. We had room 7 and would request that room if/when we returned. Please do not be put off by some of the negative comments. I feel they are unfair. This is a very reasonably priced hotel, with staff who do all they can to assist you. The rooms are good value, with excellent views if you book at the back of the hotel. We plan to return to Taormina and will stay here.

Room tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveS394
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

The good: the view is very nice and the location is perfect for getting to the beach via cable car and the town is a short walk.

The bad: No lift, we had to carry our heavy suitcases up three flights of stairs.
The room was tiny, we’re fairly slight people and we found it a squeeze. The shower especially, not even room to turn around without touching the door or walls.
The walls are paper thin, we were woken countless times by next door’s TV and snoring. We had to turn the AC on to drown out the noise!
Breakfast is basic.
Parking is €15 Euro per day and very very tight to get in.
For the money we paid I expected a lot more and was quite disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank BestBelieveItsDench
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews