We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for the second time in one of their superior rooms. Without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff could not have been more helpful especially Lucia and all the other, the food could not have been better, the location is stunning, the room was wonderful. They also have good links with the local beaches and restaurants so whenever we asked the hotel to book something for us we always ended up with the 'best seat in the house'

Once again an amazing place.....................thanks again for everuthing and see you soon


Ivan Bartolo

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skunkworksmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    297
    50
    2
    3
See reviews for
105
519
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a 7 night stay at the Pensione Svizzera. Good room (reasonable size) and the breakfast was good, although not a lot of variety. Good Location, 2 minutes walk to the cable car (to the beach) and 5 minutes walk to the bar and restaurant area in the town. Parking available 2 minutes walk away at extra charge - but if you have a car you don't really have anywhere else to park.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor with a balcony and a geat view along the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A great place to base your stay in Taormina.
Opt for a room with a balcony and a view of the sea if you can it will be well worth it.
The stairs can be a challenge but they will assist in working off the wine and pasta !
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights here it offers great value for money.
If you like the beach be sure to take up the €8 pp trip to the lido Tropicana. The price includes transfer a sun bed and a parasol, great value and a lovely lido as well with very friendly people.
The location of the Svizzera is ideal just a short stroll to the Corso Umberto with all the restaurants,Gelateria's and people watching you could wish for.
Of course there are more exclusive places to stay in Taormina but for value,cleanliness and location the Svizzera is hard to beat.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: We were in room 11, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterM_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had 5 nights at the Svizzera. This was a very nice B&B, clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful and informative. It is situated just outside the old town wall, so an easy walk into all the bars and restaurants. We were on the 4th floor and had a little terrace with excellent views over the lovely bay. Be warned there is no lift and it is a lot of steps to the top - we didn't mind as it worked off that lovely Italian food , but might not suit everyone. This place was also excellent value for money compared to most of the very expensive accommodation in this town! The only thing I would change would be to add some fresh fruit at breakfast, a shame as there is so much available in Sicily - but tinned prunes and peaches are not a good addition to the buffet! However breakfast is served on a very pretty terrace with lovely flowers and terracotta pots.
It's a busy touristy town, but you can get away from the crowds and part of the evening activity was deciding which bar to have a prosecco in and where to have dinner - there are hundreds to choose from , some mediocre and many are excellent! We also loved our daily walk down and back to the bay at Isola Bella, pretty beach, and surprisingly quiet, with crystal clear waters.
Probably the best is the view from Taormina over Mount Etna - quite awe inspiring - especially when you can see the lava glowing at night - it was especially active when we were there!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had originally chosen Hotel Angela for our week in Taormia after being in Modica for the first week - but then in an effort to shave something off the cost of two weeks in Sicily we changed to Svizzera - when we saw the Angela on a bus trip we were so glad we changed as you would not want to walk down from there twice a day - it was way out of town! Svizzera is a 2 min suitcase drag up from the bus station (Euro 7.50 from airport rather that Euro 80 for cab - no brainer if your flight at a good time as ours was) and a ten min walk right into the main drag each evening with a slight hill but no steps. To reach the beaches (Islo Bella the best one we thought ) we found it best to walk down but get the cable car back up (we did walk all the way down and up one day after two drinks at lunchtime and in the heat of 3 in the afternoon- nearly killed me - we were the only ones we saw on the steps in the hour plus it took us !). Yes there are a stairs between entrance/reception and rooms but we were happy as this kept families with small children away (it was all couples there) which we find more relaxing when we are on holiday- the world is full of family hotels - save Taormina for when the kids have left home I say.

The breakfasts were fine and welcome to get cereal and yoghurt after a week of the traditional 'pastries' and granita (that was an experience) elsewhere but the dry scrambled egg and cooked pancetta in place of bacon was disappointing - my husband gave up on that after a couple of days. The view at breakfast (as our room) was worth it - and overall I think this was a perfect location and hotel for Taormia.

As always i would have welcomed tea making facilities in the room to have on waking and after a day in the heat and dust but there were none (tho available for Euro 3.50 a pot in the bar when that open - in the evening -too late) as is often the case - and the hair-dryer - as in many hotels around the world of all classes - was worse than useless.

I would def recommend this hotel for great location - near enough to the main drag but not right in the thick of it - well priced and a nice small size but professional and well run. Lovely to have the shaded well kept garden to sit and have a campari and orange in before we headed out for dinner and to get home again so quickly after dinner (including the excellent 'Nino's 50 yards away) was really convenient.

Room Tip: fab view from second floor in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lellybellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very nice hotel, excellent sea views and friendly staff! My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights during our honey moon in Sicily, and we both were extremely happy with this choice. Great location, very close to everything, around the corner from gondola that will take you right to the beach. We booked a room with the sea view - and it was absolutely fantastic.
The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. The breakfast was a little limited, but still pleasant, it was served on a nice terrace with nice views as well.
I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return there!

Room Tip: book a room with the sea view (we had #14) - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Spent a fantastic 4 days at Pensione Svizzera in October 2010.

Excellent location.

Will return if visiting Taormina again.

Great accomodation.

Close to cable car for beach club.

Giardini Naxos Beach and Mt Etna a short drive.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have fantastic sea / coast view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Property: Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing