We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Hotel in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Hotel in Good Location”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights after spending 4 nights in Palermo. The hotel is small & with limited facilities but it is described as a "Pensione" so this is to be expected. The rooms and all areas are extremely clean, the staff are very helpful and attempt to help whenever asked. Nothing seems too much trouble for them. The breakfast was very good and can be taken sitting in t5he garden are which is very pleasant and shaded by palm trees and other foliage. We had a room with a sea view which was very nice to look out on. We had a tiny balcony which just and no more took two chairs and a very small table. However we were unable to use it because there were two nests of house-martins immediately above it and the chairs were covered in bird droppings ! The delight of seeing these amazing birds at such close quarters more than made up for the inconvenience and I am so pleased that the hotel leave these nests alone.
The room itself was adequate, no more than that. It was quite small and we did not like the sliding door with a glass panel that lead to the bathroom. The door was very noisy when opened and closed and I cannot understand why there was a need for a glass panel. The shower worked well but was on the small side. Toiletries were replenished on a daily basis & the room and bathroom were kept very clean. We were on the first floor and although we are reasonably fit we would not have liked to have been on the higher floors because, as mentioned in many reviews, there isn't a lift. This creates a noise problem as guest pull their cases from step to step and create a lot of noise. There is a lot of noise from adjacent rooms particularly when toilets are flushed and as there are no slow closure mechanisms on the room doors there is a lot of door slamming from inconsiderate guest.
The location of the hotel is very good with the main bus station being about 50 metres down the hill and the centre of Taormina a 5 to 10 minute walk away. One reviewer described it as being "literally across the road" but it is in fact a bit of a drag up quite a steep hill and could be a problem for anyone with mobility difficulties.
The prices in the hotel for drinks are very good and considerably cheaper than most places in the town.
Briefly moving on to the resort of Taormina.....it is very beautiful but expensive to the point of being a rip off in some cases. There are numerous places to eat and have a drink but be a bit careful as some can be double the price of others for what appears to be very similar food. Just to give one example, the popular drink Limoncello ranged in price from €2 to €11.5 for a small glass and the expensive one was in a fairly ordinary looking bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    293
    49
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
509
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kormend, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were in the Hotel for 4 nights, on our honeymoon. It is about 4 minutes far from Taormina bus station, about 3 minutes far from the cable car, and about 5 minutes far from the city centre. The seeview from the fourth floor-balcony is amazing. I love the equipment of the rooms and the bar, and the coffee (also cappuccino and espresso) is very delicious. I can suggest the shuttle bus to Lido Tropicana. (We weren't at the other recommended beach, so I don't know, what is it like.) The beach is very beautiful, and the shuttle bus is exact, with friendly drivers. The employees of the Hotel are very friendly and helpful, too.
One little thing was, which I didn't like: it was a paper on the wall, that I can use my towels more times, if I don't put it on the floor. We never put it there, because we would like to have used it, but they changed all of them for clear, every day. I think, this is not too environment friendly. But I can't say any other negative thing from the hotel.

Room Tip: The seeview from the fourth floor-balcony is amazing, but the air conditioner (which is in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burrocacao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Views were to die for. Good location- close to shopping, Greek Theater and gondola to beach. Excellent breakfast. Staff extremely helpful. Only negative was no elevator, but climbing steps allowed for more gelatto.

Room Tip: Choose second floor - less steps, views still great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a beautiful Hotel. Rooms are a good size lovely outdoor courtyard and outdoor room. Great breakfast room, you can breakfast inside or out. Plenty to choose from for brekkie. Would come back here again. Close to everything

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the courtyard because the lights are on all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay here for three nights, Our room balcony opened up to the sea and took our breathe away. The room itself was immaculate. The shower small but not unusual for this area. Internet worked just fine in the room. Breakfast which was included, was more than sufficient. We literally walked across the street to the centre of Taormina. Several restaurants were within walking distance along with the cable car up to the bottom of Taormina where there are a multitude of shops and restaurants.

That brings me to the staff. They are fabulous, they care, they assist.

I hope I can return someday and stay for days and days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worksmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights between our stay in Cefalu and heading to Catania and we were pleased we had chosen Taormina and very happy with La Pensione Svizzera.
The hotel were very helpful in answering questions before arrival. We took the train from Cefalu via Messina and then took a taxi from the station at Giardini-Naxos (Taxi around 15 euros) We could have taken the bus up which stops very near the hotel but after a fairly lengthy train journey we were looking forward to settling in to our room.
The hotel is lovely with a pleasant garden, good views and a great location on the edge of the old town. We enjoyed afternoon tea on arrival. Free wifi was useful. Breakfast was good although we ate later and some choices had run out.
As other reviewers have noted the stairs will keep you fit! We walked down to the beach one day which was a nice change from the crowds in Taormina and then took the cable car back up to the hotel.
Overall a good choice and we would happily return and recommend La Pensione.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Pensione Svizzera at the end of may - begining of june 2013. The Hotel is very well placed close to the city center and it has very beautiful views (we took a room at the second floor with seaside view - on the north-east side). The breakfast is very good and served in this beautiful garden with palms and a lot of other plants and trees (birds are singing in the morning). The staff was very pleasant and helpful in every demand we had.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side give a great view over the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#7 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Property: Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing