We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, great facilities & good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atahotel Capotaormina
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A great and spectacular location, literally carved out of the mountainside. Etna erupted during our stay and our view from the hotel allowed us to see the spectacular show from the balcony of the bar. But don't worry, there's no danger to you when Etna wakes up and says "hello"!

The hotel has a lovely beach and a beautiful pool area. Staff are very friendly, breakfast is excellent and the rooms are very large and clean.The regular hotel shuttle buses to Taormina centre are also fantastic and there's a nice gym.

Only a few downsides; the hotel is slightly dated in terms of decor and the elevators to the pool can be slow to get access to when busy. Eating in the restaurants is expensive and you also have to pay for a wireless service that's not particularly good.

However, on balance, a fantastic holiday in a great hotel. Would I stay here again? Yes please!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank BBubba_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautifull Location with a View of Mount Etna,Isola Bella to the left and Giardini Naxos to the right. Take the elevator to the cave below, private beach to the left or pool to the right. Excellent restaurant by the Sea, the grilled fish was to die for. Don't limit yourself using the elevators, you can walk right on the side of the hill back to the hotel from the pool area and take some beautiful pictures of the hillside on the way up, don't let go of the children hands.

Room Tip: Sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sino637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The fashionable in the 80's yet beautifully maintained entrance that welcomes you with a sophisticated allure. Take the lift to the beach and you descend 6 floors through rock arriving in caves where you walk to a private beach with white pebbles that kiss the pristine ocean water. From the terrace dining room, bar lounging, in the pool with bar service there are uninterrupted views forever. Rooms are comfortable but really you wont spend much time there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mira l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel and the driver was excellent, pointing out sights, giving us history lessons and telling us where to eat. The reception staff were friendly and gave us a brochure of trips that we could take during our stay when we checked in. The trips could be booked through reception and collection/drop off was from the hotel entrance.

Our garden view room actually looked out over the sea. The beach is a definite wow factor and the salt water pool was incredibly relaxing as no effort was required to stay afloat! I would recommend water shoes for the rocky beach. There is a wooden walkway between the sun loungers but it doesn't reach all the way to the water.

Breakfast - great. Lots to choose from and looking at Etna every morning from the terrace was wonderful.

Lunch in the hotel was a bit on the pricey side. We filled up at breakfast and kept room for dinner. There is a shop in the hotel lobby with sunscreen and various necessities, which was great as the hotel isn't beside any shops.

Getting up to Taormina was no problem as we were able to book seats on the bus everyday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I hate the use of the word Amazing but this hotel was out of this world. All built underground into the mountain. You take an elevator down several floors and it opens up into The Batman Cave....you go one direction to an infinite pool and you go the other way and you open up to a beautiful grotto of ocean swimming. Awesome

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely time in this hotel, which has all the ingredients for a dreamful honeymoon: romanticism, quiet atmosphere, beautiful landscape. The position of the hotel recalls a cruise liner: you see the seaside all around you. We found very comfortable the possibility to enjoy the beach in the morning (perfect for scuba-diving), the swimming pool and the rocks in the afternoon (ideal for sunbathing). We appreciated the staff very much: we found very kind and professional waiters, always going the extra-mile. Kitchen -mainly fish and Sicilian patisserie- is really worth tasting here. The rooms are very clean with an unforgettable sight - even if they are not so modern, but this is quite acceptable if you consider all the other benefits. You definitely can't miss this opportunity when you go to Sicily.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 150StefanoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location of the hotel is really good, very close to Taormina, which is a cute village. The hotel is built on a steep hill, so the view is great with Mt Etna across. The beach was very good, crystal clear water. The staff of the hotel was friendly and respectful. However, when we requested some additional toiletry for our room, the reception told us they could not send anyone to our room. So, we went to the reception to get the things. In such an expensive hotel, I would not expect such an issue with the room service. Also, the drinks and food in the hotel was expensive, but this was expected. The decoration of the rooms was outdated. We did not spend much time in the room, but still the room price increased our expectations. It all adds up to the first impression of the hotel.

Overall, it was a nice hotel, but the price/quality ratio is low. With these prices, you can go to other countries for beach vacation and stay in higher quality hotels with excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NNMNNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#30 of 87 in Taormina
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#24 of 87 in Taormina
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.8 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#26 of 87 in Taormina
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $238 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing