We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”

Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu
Ranked #121 of 279 Restaurants in Taormina
Price range: $19 - $62
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Really good food and very very friendly staff :-)
Had the Parma pizza - finally a place which does not cut the corners on the topping. More like ruccola, parma ham and Parmesan cheeze with pizza beneath :-)
A place that has the "little extra"!

Thank DavidBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
506andrea, Proprietario at Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

thanks for the review, and 'our duty as well as pleasure to satisfy the desires of our customers. we are happy that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 324 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Eight tired adults and eight hungry kids looking for a place to eat in Mazzaro that had Pizzas and food worth its price. Coming out of the Funivia we drew some blanks until we saw the sign telling of Da Andrea 100m up. A couple of us went scouting and had a look at the food prices which were within our budgets whilst the cover charge was quite cheap compared to other restaurants. As we were quite numerous and the terrace was quite full, we were offered the inside, which meant that we were all together, no one was smoking around us, and the staff was readily available as they were quite close. The nasty surprise was the EUR3 per soft drink. Otherwise the food was well portioned and the pizzas were cooked traditionally on wood, thus better than the usual fare. I don't recall feeling very hot so I guess it was air-conditioned inside which did not feel claustrophobic at all. Definitely a good option for an evening dinner in Mazzaro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jonathan_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
506andrea, Proprietario at Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear customers, your table has been quite an adventure for us. We have done our best to satisfy the hunger of your children and to brighten your palate. It was a pleasure having you at our restaurant and it was very pleasant to talk with you. With regard to drinks from 3,00 €, are the prices of water and cans that usually found in every restaurant. As we are not a discount store, we can not do otherwise. It will be a pleasure to have you back with us soon. Andrea and Maria Grazia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This places wasn't bad per se, but it has a lot of competition with the other restaurants around it, which in my opinion are better.

The food was pretty good, but the location lacks atmosphere and the wait staff were friendly but a bit random (e.g. the bottle of rose came out warm).

It's fine, but as I said, you can get better value and ambience elsewhere around Taormina.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Snompi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
506andrea, Proprietario at Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014
Google Translation

gentile cliente la ringraziamo per aver recensito il nostro locale ma tengo a precisare che una bottiglia di rose' non può essere servita calda, forse non era ghiacciata ma scrivere calda e' una esagerazione. riguardo alla concorrenza, la gente e' libera di scegliere il luogo o il ristorante che più si confà alle proprie aspettative, alle proprie tasche o al proprio gusto estetico. dico solo che è' e sarà sempre per il nostro staff, un piacere accogliervi e servirvi al meglio. la salutiamo cordialmente. Andrea Pacini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed 9 nights in Mazzaro. Decided to try restaurant Da Andrea one evening for dinner and returned for another 2 meals. Enough said! Very good seafood and pizza and reasonably priced also nice atmosphere. You can dine outside if you like. The owner Andrea and the staff were very friendly and efficient. A nice touch on 2 occasions a comp limoncello to round off the meal. Brian M

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
506andrea, Proprietario at Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

dear Brian, was an honor to have you for dinner these days. I remember with affection. all the staff of my restaurant salutes! Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We took the Funivia and went to Mazzaro for lunch at Da Andrea following the recommendation of Noema Viaggy's representative Eugenia and the reviews in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
Sea food was excellent and the traditional Sicilian dish with sword fish too. Staff is nice and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Svetla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
506andrea, Proprietario at Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for the walk from Taormina to Mazzarò and for having chosen our restaurant. All the staff thank you.
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu also viewed

 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Ristorante Da Andrea - U Schiticchiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing