We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experienced, friendly and helpful guide”
Review of Continente Sicilia

Continente Sicilia
Ranked #9 of 35 Tours in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Custom Made Nature Trips to Etna, Alcantara, Nebrodi, Madonie, Eolian Islands ... and more sicilian Gems!Guided Nature Expeditions ... and spectacular night excursions to view one of nature’s most extraordinary phenomena ... The Volcanic Eruption!Gastronomic Tours to get a taste of sicilian wine and delicacies.Local Artisan Crafts.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Experienced, friendly and helpful guide”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked a tour via Continente Sicilia as we were staying at the B&B Davide also owns in Taormina and he had mentioned in an email that they also did tours!

We booked a full day Etna Summit Craters excursion with which was fantastic. Davide was a fantastic guide, super passionate about Sicily and especially Etna. We thought it was excellant value and included a lovely packed lunch, freshly made sandwiches and fruit which we picked up on route! It was really amazing to see Etna close up and we are really glad we went with Davide as he gave us lots of information about the Volcano, eruptions and natural environment.

Davide will tailor the tour to whatever you want to do, which I didn't realise when booking, I happened to mention on the way up that I would have loved to do more walking on Etna so instead of taking the big truck back down from the craters Davide took us on a walk for a couple of hours showing us some amazing view points over the Valle De Bove. We also visited a lava cave and on the way back stopped off for a quick look at the Alcantara Gorge (which wasn't supposed to be part of our trip, we had mentioned we would quite like to go visit it the following day and asked Davide about public transport), and he made a fairly big detour on the way back so we could see it!

Visiting Etna was definitely one of the highlights of our trip and we were really glad we went with Davide and Continente Sicilia as we learned so much! I would definitely book with Continente Sicilia again and would highly recommend them to family and friends!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Scot-keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Etna Experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A visit to Mount Etna is a must for everyone visiting Sicily and to be certain of a memorable experience you cannot do better than booking Davide of Continente Sicilia. We booked a full day excursion and were picked up from our hotel all as arranged via the internet. Prior to departing Davide discussed the options available taking into consideration our wishes and the prevailing weather conditions. The day was a huge success and exceeded all our expectations. Davide is a committed environmentalist and his knowledge of Etna and the surrounding area is extremely comprehensive. Everything about the trip was fully researched and of the highest quality from the vehicle,the safety equipment and even the picnic lunch. Davide is very knowledgeable and passionate about Sicily and by the end of the day we not only knew so much more about Etna and volcanic activity but also Sicily and its culture. The joy of engaging Davide is that you can model the day to suit your own preferences this is particularly useful if there are children in the group. So if you are planning a trip to Etna do not hesitate to contact Davide as I doubt that you will find a better guide and that you will be assured of a very memorable and rewarding experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful day trip to Etna”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had the best time; Davide is a true outdoor and nature enthusiast who is incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Sicily and Mount Etna. Friendly, helpful, punctual and very easy company. He gave us some great tips for the rest of our stay as well. Really good value for money and the best way to see Sicily - through the eyes of someone who knows and loves the place. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gulnaar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“By far the BEST experience!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I had planned our vacation to Sicily for this past July. When we read all the positive feedback on Continente Sicilia we did no hesitate to contact Davide in order to book a full-day excursion to the top of Mt. Etna. Davide was prompt in his replies and provided us with various options for excursions not only to Mt. Etna but the surrounding areas. We could not be happier with our experience as Davide made our trip one of the best ever! He is passionate about Sicily and it shows in all he does. His knowledge of Mt. Etna was unmatched and he made our tour personable and exciting! We enjoyed breathtaking views of Mt. Etna and the caters of past, explored a lava tub and lava flow which was quite remarkable and ended the day with a wonderful wine tasting and hike at the Alcantara Gorge. We even met a friendly snake on our journey!

Davide made us feel in capable hands from his first email. We not only coordinated our Mt. Etna excursion, but we also planned another day trip to the surrounding areas of Messina and Savoca which was delightful as well - especially the monestary in Savoca!

If you are planning a trip to Sicily and read this review - do yourself a favor and contact Davide...you won't regret it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MessinaHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic one full day trip on Etna”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Thanks to the Tripadvisor suggestions, we have contacted Davide for one day excursion on the Etna volcano. Fantastic experience: interesting, enjoyable and intriguing. We are so glad of not having fallen into the trap of the touristic coach fully organized excursion. What we liked most is the ability of Davide to adapt the program to the wishes and preference of the participants. What to add? With more Davide around, Italy would be a far better place for tourists...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank FFelixxs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continente Sicilia also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Continente Sicilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing