We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent place for a digestif or a glass of wine”
Review of Arco Rosso

Arco Rosso
Ranked #30 of 266 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really excellent place for a digestif or a glass of wine”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After having dinner solo, I wandered down the alley to this little gem of a bar. The place seats maybe 10 ppl inside and 10 outside on the steps, and I took it as a good sign that most of the tables were full. I ordered a carafe of wine and just decided to sit and look around. The owners (I believe a family runs it) were very sweet and came up and talked to me, but in a non-intrusive kind of way. Most people started leaving around 9-9:30, but I sat and chatted with the owners behind the bar in a combination of broken Italian and English, and they offered me some gourmet chocolate they had received from someone as a gift.
Overall, very friendly atmosphere, warm and welcoming. Also, very cheap but good local wines. I'd definitely go again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivagauche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    101
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a bar !!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great place to sit and people watch while sipping a glass of wine and enjoing the superb bruschetta!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing ....”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The wine & bruschetta here are simply amazing. Do yourself a favour and skip a big dinner to come here. Sit back & order 4 or 5 different bruschetta’s, it’s simply the best. We ate here 4 time on our trip. Just so good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank buzzlightyear1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Simple & Excellent”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Been there by chance, couldn't find a place where to seat outside, so I went in anyway and sat inside. Ordered two different great Bruschetta (they have many many different kinds of them: bruschetta is a special kind of toasted bread with delicious toppings, from the simple one with onion and tomatoes till the most sophisticated, for demanding people) with a glass of wine (great selection of typical Sicilian - but not only - wines too).
While waiting for bruschette, a table outside got free and the owner invited me to sit, even if there were other people waiting (after me); so, even if crowded, he recalled who came first and who after :-)
Great moments there in the evening time, watching people there and back in a tidy narrow street... One of places where I'd really go back with great pleasure

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple, charming & good value”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice spot for lunch, no fuss. Family run. Would recommend it for a light lunch or drinks and with light snacks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tramoredeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arco Rosso also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Arco Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing