We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home for 2 weeks”
Review of Hostel Taormina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Freshwater nsw
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home for 2 weeks”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I loved this hostel and would definitely go back!

Here's why it's fab:
- the staff
- the location
- comfy bed & proper pillow
- fantastic view
- great terrace overlooking the ocean
- great for meeting people

Here's why I didn't give 5 stars:
- only a small common room with kitchen
- you have to walk through the dorms to get to the terrace. I found it quite odd staying in the all girls dorm & then guys can walk through on to the terrace. I think they should swap the rooms over, so that the all girls dorm is in the corner on the other side & then guys wouldn't have to walk through the girls room
- the toilet/shower is not fabulous, but fine for a short stay

Room Tip: Book in early if you want the girls only dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    93
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
38
206
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff working at this hostel are especially friendly and will go out of their way to serve their guests. I wanted to go to Mt Etna and they organized everything for me! They also helped with bus and train timetables. The hostel itself is clean and the view from the terrace is superb. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BME2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hostel is very nice!
I spent 3 amazing nights there.
Is small but very well located and well run by Francesco.
I met other travelers and even though travelling alone I had company for all days.
The balcony has a beautiful view of the city and is very nice to spend the night drinking some beer or wine and having a dinner with the other travelers.
Francesco is very nice and kind, wants you to have a very pleasant stay.
The rooms are over the balcony and the sea breeze comes through all day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungaro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The host is very nice, fun to talk to. And is always willing to help and give good advice.
Rooms are nice and clean.
The hotel is one street from the center of the city, convenient to carry around on foot and reach the hotel within minutes.
Really recommended

Elad

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eladfaran e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My best friend and I were travelling through whole Italy.

At our 5th stop we arrived at 10:30 pm at the trainstation Taormina. A taxidriver brought us to the "Hostel Taormina". Actually the working time ends at 10 pm officially, but Francesco said we could come in and it wouldn't be a problem. This guy is the most handsome host I've ever met. He is friendly, funny and you can come to him or phone him, whenever you want. He gives you also nice advices where you can go for little money.

The Hostel has a wonderful location and a fantastic view over the beautiful city Taormina.
You get a lot of discounts in some restaurants and other places if you stay, that you are staying in this Hostel.

It's very clean (Francesco cleans the Hostel twice a day) and a nice place to meet other guests, travellers, etc..

All in all it was the best Hostel I've been to, and believe me, I've been to many Hostels. And for this price you won't find anything like this Hostel in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickymicky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trossingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

"Hostel Taormina" is the place to be! It is a little hard to find (description is improvable) but it is worth it. The sea view is unbelievable! This could not be any better.

There are a lot of restaurants where you get a discount when you tell them that you are guest in Hostel Taormina.

Hostel Taormina is a very small hostel, but there is everything you need. There is a kitchen with all the supplies (and a TV), two bathrooms and a lot of space on the terrace. Well, maybe sooner or later they'll buy some nice and solid furniture for outside...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uschischicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hostel Taromina for two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff (both named Francesco) were helpful and friendly. The terrace that looks over the town and the sea is a great place to meet other travelers, and the location is perfect.
The hostel is a short hike up the hills of the town, close to all the restaurants and shops of the centre and a short walk to the Greek theatre and the cable car to get you to the beautiful bays below - We walked down the steps and took the car up, which I reccommend - it's quite a hike in the heat.
We stayed in the mixed dorm which had 4 bunk beds, and was full. The beds aren't too comfortable but the sheets and room was very clean and doors led out to the terrace. There is a small kitchen you can lounge in and cook in.
The wifi works well in the kitchen and out back of the hostel near the entrance but not in the rooms or the terrace. This didn't bother us as it almost forces you to be social on the terrace.

You can rent snorkel gear from a dive shop on the left side of the bay Isola Bella and swim to the blue cave, which I highly reccommend. We didn't use fins as it was cheaper and the swim was tiring but doable. The fish were abundant and the water crystal clear.

Overally I loved my time at hostel Taormina and miss it already!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
518 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#19 of 87 in Taormina
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Taormina

Property: Hostel Taormina
Address: Circonvallazione, 13, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful city, the Pearl of the Mediterranean Sea, that is rich in culture and natural beauty, awaits you with its beaches, mountains, monuments and history. We are here to welcome you and to help you discover our city and its district. Taormina is wonderful in summer and, because of its mild weather, it is wonderful in winter too. Furthermore, behind the town there is Mt. Etna that, in winter, has a mantle of snow, perfect for those who love to ski or to slide slowly down its slope. Taormina is the starting point for excursions to the whole of Sicily, where you can admire the Sicilian Baroque buildings and the classical and architectural beauty of places like Noto, Modica, Ragusa, Syracuse, Agrigento, Palermo, Acireale, and Catania, where there is “nightlife” all the year round. Our hostel has cosy shared bedrooms. The use of sheets, pillowcases and blankets is included in the price. Hostel Taormina has large, bright, cosy bedrooms, that are furnished with personal wardrobes with padlocks and have large shared bathrooms, where cleanness and comfort are always guaranteed. The hostel offers discounts with bars, restaurants, pubs, beaches, rentals (of cars, scooters or bicycles) laundries,for excursions and a shared area for relaxing, chatting, playing or reading and a solarium with a large terrace and a breathtaking view of the Greek Theatre, the sea and Mt. Etna. We are always at your service and ready to help, giving you suggestions for your holiday here.We are here to plan your holidays in the best way possible and, above all, to meet you. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Taormina Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing