We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the main street of Taormina”
Review of Corso Umberto

Corso Umberto
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,136.53*
and up
Shore Excursion from Messina to Mount Etna and Taormina
More Info
$77.76*
and up
Messina Shore Excursion: Full-Day Taormina and Castelmola Tour
More Info
$77.76*
and up
Etna and Taormina Tour from Messina
Ranked #4 of 102 things to do in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“the main street of Taormina”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A most charming street full of nice shops, art galleries, restaurants, cafés.
The buildings's architecture is fascinating, with lovely artwork in iron and old style lanterns.
Do not miss the Piazza IX Aprile, with its panoramic terrace on the Ionian Sea. It is breathtaking.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celestefaisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,362
    814
    213
    41
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely street in Taormina, Sicily”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I loved to walk up and down this street. There are fine restaurants, shops, street performers, artists, and tourists to be found at all times here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zeus I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
495 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“beautiful if the cruise ships not in”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were in Taormina for two days and walked up and down Corso Umberto several times. It's a beautiful street with lots of shopping and some restaurants. Unfortunately for us, both days saw the arrival of cruise ships and the streets were packed. Spent more time making sure we didn't run into someone than looking around. From a couple of areas there are some beautiful views of the sea and coastline. We found ourselves walking the back streets mostly just to avoid the crowds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect stroll”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Strolling up and down Corso Umberto is an experience... some great shops to look at even if one is not interested in shopping per se, and some great coffee shops and ice cream places.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlotcassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Charming, Authentic, Our favorite cruise port”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Taormina was one of the ports on our Mediterranean cruise. Once we survived the taxi ride up from the harbor, we sent several hours strolling down the Corso Umberto. There are two squares that provide incredible views of the harbor, and the countryside around the town if you look down over the railing, and views of the mountains if you look up, (Duomo Square and 9 Aprile Square). Corso Umberto is the main street of the old town. Buildings, including churches, hotels, shops and residences line the street on both sides. Vehicle traffic is not allowed on the street, so there is plenty of room to walk. Architecture varies with age, style and building materials, and provides an authentic charm. The shops range from fashion names to local artists and craftsman, and souvenirs. We found a shop with painted tiles that were irresistible. Small streets or alleys branch off the street - each one with its own picturesque style. Many of the alleys are steep steps leading to streets or houses above or below the Corso Umberto. These are often stone steps decorated with fountains and gardens. We enjoyed exploring them. There is a beautiful mural, ( or fresco) in an arch in the middle of town that should not be missed. You can get a Taxi at the beginning of town or half-way through the town to get you to the harbor for about 10 Euros each person each way if you share the taxi. The road is curvy and I think the taxi drivers delight in scaring the tourists byt driving as fast as possible while talking on their cell phones.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank b1sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corso Umberto also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Corso Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing