We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,282)
Filter reviews
2,282 results
Traveler rating
2,070
168
26
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,070
168
26
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount etna cocktail hour free shuttle service our honeymoon hotel shuttle sister hotel welcome drink glass of prosecco moment you arrive breathtaking views perched high breakfast and dinner cakes the entire staff junior suite private terrace small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 2,282 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Another wonderful stay at this luxurious little hotel! We had rooms in both the main hotel and the annex. Both had lovely views - Taormina and Etna. The rooms are well appointed and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was divine, and there was a choice dinner menu also. The level of service here is perfect.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrummieGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear Friends,

We are thrilled that you had such a amazing time.
Our Design Suite are our best rooms all have recently been totally refurbished by a popular interior designer from “Sudio Area” all have astonishing views of the straits of Messina, mainland Italy and the sea

If the winter feels too long come back soon and Etna will be waiting for you.


All the best
Manila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon in Italy and Villa Ducale was one of the standout accommodations we had while there. I just loved how the property was perched on top of Taromina, offering excellent views of the city and of Mt. Etna.

Each morning we were greeted with that view as part of Ducale's breakfast ritual—which offered a variety of fresh and tasty foods to get our day started right. We also enjoyed afternoon "tea time" and late night cocktails on the beautiful terrace.

The staff was just phenomenal. We were especially impressed with Manila, who was so warm and helpful throughout our stay. They helped with dinner reservations, orientation to Taromina, and just generally made us feel at home.

The shuttle was also quite helpful in getting up and down from the main town center.

A fantastic place to stay while in Taromina! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We kicked off our honeymoon in Taormina and could not have been welcomed by a nicer, more knowledgable team of staff. From the second we arrived to the second we left, the Villa Ducale managers, waitstaff, and shuttle/room attendants helped us navigate our time and experience in and around Taormina. They are the warmest hotel staff we've encountered in a long time. They really take this romantic and intimate hotel to the next level.

The views from the hotel are exceptional and while the hotel location is a bit removed and up a winding road with many hairpin turns, we enjoyed being out of the busy town but knowing it was just short ride or walk away. To burn off the pasta and gelato, we opted for the nearby stairs, which are a good workout but not too treacherous if you take your time. Some parts are a bit dark at night however, We also took the shuttle once which was right on time and very convenient.

Our room was across the road, in the more recently expanded part of the hotel, which we did not mind at all. Although not the classic view, our view was looking north of the bay which was also stunning.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with a good spread of Sicilian options as well as more global options.

Definitely recommended!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 639nicolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We've been here for a full week and we were highly impressed by the level of hospitality, beside the location itself(very clean,amazing city view,shuttle service,parking...).The employees are absolutely amazing (Ilie,Giuseppe,Paulo-the manager-,Martina,Luciana,Marguerita and so on).Friendly happy people, great customer orientation and quality services.
For sure we will repeat the visit soon.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bogdan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing holiday at Villa Ducale from start to finish. We were greeted with prosecco and beer on arrival. Margherita then spent time taking us through detailed information regarding Taormina and planning our holiday. That was before we were then taken to our spacious gorgeous design suite with fabulous views over Taormina and Mount Etna. And the first proper holiday bed my daughter as a plus one has slept on.

We used the shuttle bus every day which was prompt and just a few minutes drive into the heart of Taormina (we did use the steps to go down one day too which was great for views). I loved the fact the hotel was out of the bustle of the town but we could get in so easily.

We used the swimming pool most days to refresh and cool down - it was a perfect temperature and often we were on our own. Breakfast and dinner were both delicious and the team at Ducale would also recommend and reserve dinner for us most evenings.

Nothing is too much trouble for the brilliant team at Ducale whether that was requesting a change of pillow, more water, arranging drivers for trips or recovering my daughters teddy when he’d mistakenly gone for a trip to the external laundry every request was dealt with efficiently and with a smile.

I can’t recommend this small but beautifully formed hotel and it’s team highly enough. Thank you for an exquisite stay and for making our first trip to Sicily so memorable!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ElysiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews