We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“#1 in Taormina!! YES ....Really! ....Really!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“#1 in Taormina!! YES ....Really! ....Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and we had an absolutely wonderful experience! The staff is amazing and cannot do enough to make you comfortable and feel at home. Santi, Paolo, Eduardo, Loris, Martina, Serena, Lorena just to name a few. The million dollar views combined with tastefully decorated rooms and suites are a winning combination. Small personal touches like the warm and personalized welcome with an orientation of the property and surroundings make this hotel a true winner.

Location is perfect and idyllic a peaceful oasis, away from the crowds BUT not too far away, easily reachable by the hotel complimentary shuttle (operating on a regular basis throughout the day and evening). In fact the brief orientation we received at check in explains all the details. It takes mere minutes to be in the heart of Taormina.

We had dinner twice and each time the experience was outstanding. Breakfast each morning was a delight! I have never seen such a wide variety and selection for breakfast. I will dream about the delicious homemade pastries. The complimentary early evening appetizers was an added surprise.

I work for a large US hotel company and wish I could import this outstanding hospitality experience. We work so hard to achieve this and Villa Ducale seems to perform this effortlessly.

Rosaria and Andrea, you should be proud! It is no wonder why this is #1 in Taormina!

Room Tip: Any room seems to be great. All have a terrace with picture perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMC739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear TMC from Ottawa, Canada,
you have said everything , I can only thank you for your wonderful review and the praises especially because your comment is from a woman who has great responsability in the hotel industry.
I always say Villa Ducale is not a place for everyone, but if you pick us you are obliged to get all the information through the website and are allowed to criticism only if the hotel does not respect its promises.
It is not a matter of being N.1 or not but to provide the best travelling Taormina experience ever to our beloved guests, I am proud to say we were successful with you.
GRAZIE !
Andrea and Rosaria Quartucci, the owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    139
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
217
1,189
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Review: Villa Ducale, Taormina, Italy

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful Villa Ducale in Taormina, Italy for 5 nights.

If you value a high-calibre, personalized vacation experience with attention to detail, then this is the place to sit back, soak in the atmosphere and relax.

The hotel is a small, intimate, villa-style property (16 guest rooms and suites) with a warm, family ambiance. This is an experience in which the guests are made to feel 'part of the family'. We got to know the staff very quickly on a first name basis and we are grateful to each of them - Eduardo, Santi, Serena, Loris and Lorena - for making our stay so enjoyable.

It's clear that the General Manager (Rosaria Quartucci) has set a high standard of service as the staff could not do enough for us. Whether it was in the dining room, the convenient hotel shuttle bus or housekeeping staff, service excellence is clearly the goal of everyone at Villa Ducale.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated with magnificent views of the Mediterranean. The food quality was exceptional - well prepared, always fresh and beautifully presented.

The dining room boasts an absolutely stunning view of the coastline of Taormina and Catania - the best view in the entire region!

I look forward to a return stay at this wonderful hotel.

Stephen C.
Global Program Manager
Carlson Wagonlit Travel,
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Do not expect a large, busy resort hotel with multiple bars, restaurants etc.. This property is all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

First off, the positives
Staff- extremely friendly and willing to please
View - ok yes it's amazing but then again it's not hard to be disappointed given the location
Rooms- very clean , tidy very comfy bed and pillows


Ok the negatives

Location- the complex is located pretty much right at the top of Taormina, on a small road smack bang in the middle of a residential area. Don't expect any shops close by Oh and if you want to walk to town it will take at least 30 minutes maybe more in the hot sun and the walk is down the side of a mountain which is not very pleasant. We are both young fit 30's and it was not easy for us given the time of year . The hotel does offer a van (shuttle) to take you to town for free on set times but this stopped is from pretty much walking to town and back to the hotel when we wanted , eg: to drop off shopping or freshen up. Taxis are 15 euro each way.

Food- I arranged dinner on the first night and actually pre paid a candle lit dinner for to approx 35 euros which the hotel seemed to forget as did I but anyway , the restaurant is located on a small terrace which has approx 8 tables. We ordered local dishes and I must admit they were the worse we have had on our entire 2 month trip! The hotel did offer to make it up and offer us a free meal but we happily declined.

Breakfast - ok so my wife can't eat Gluten as she is a coeliac and this was explained to the hotel pre booking and on check in and when we sat down to have breakfast. They provided a small plate of biscuits which we were told were GF and as my wife started to eat them she became suspicious of one of the types of biscuits so I looked it up via the name imprinted on the biscuit and guess what .... Not gluten free! This contaminated the entire plate and subsequently made my wife I'll for 2 days. The hotel did apologies but even one crum can cause damage
As for the rest of the breakfast buffet I personally think it was quite a small selection.

Hotel complex- this is basically a house converted into a hotel with surrounding properties added and you can tell as it is very small, there are no grounds or pool just a jacuzzi across the road next to one of the rooms...the hotel feels small because it is, there is nothing to do there , for some this is ideal. so be aware before u book

I would recommend the sister hotel Villa Carlotta as it is larger , better location and better restaurant and it has a pool!!

Again great staff who did their best to keep us happy.

Tip - book the shuttle in advance as it only seats 8 including 2 in the front!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Jasonkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jasonkiran,
thank you for your review.
Villa Ducale has been N.1 hotel in Tripadvisor for the last 7 years in a row not only for Taormina but for the whole Sicily hotels.
You are then insulting about 1.000 reviewers that gave us the highest mark.
You and your partner had personal issues that now you are now unloading to our hotel.
None of the things you say are true, we can't believe frankly why such bad attitude.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner of Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spinazzola, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have been in Villa Ducale from 04 August to 12 August with my wife and my baby 1 years old.
The terrace has a heavenly view, you can see at same time sea side and Etna volcano side, in our case we have been reallu lucky because it was in eruption every evening.
We never saw in our life a spectacle like this. Rooms are cleaned and furnished with class and style. Breakfast is very complete and satisfy italians and foreigners exigences, you can choose more than hundred kind of tea.
They are equipped with gluten free and lactose free food as per my wife case.
They prepare the most delicious sicilian cannolo that i tested in my life, i recommend to try it.
They supply every day cleaned beach towels, and they have agreement with Lidos and with staff to have an excursions to see Etna's craters.
Hotel's staff is not common, they are very professional but same time sweet and friendly like a family, THANKS to Sante, Edoardo, Loredana, Daniela, Paolo and other people !!!! They spend all their attention just to satisfy customer need, they are completely at customer disposal and they are very special to create affectionate relation.
The onwer has a very innovative and different mentality unique of its kind, because this is the only place where you can feel home even though you are thousands kilometers far away from your country.

Room Tip: Room with balcon and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear lover83,
thank you very much for your wonderful comment and praises, we are very happy to know you did enjoy so much your stay at Villa Ducale.
Thank you for pointing out our gorgeous beakfast made by all local products and with a small coner for gluten-free needs (some people seem not have seen it !) .
During this month of August Mount Etna is proving a great show with its incredible eruption, Villa Ducale terrace is actually the best spot in town to watch it.
A big "arrivederci" from all our staff !
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this absolutely lovely old Italian villa that has been transformed into a luxury hotel. Amazing views over the coast and Etna from the terrace where a fabulous breakfast is served each morning. We also had dinner here on the first night looking out onto the lava oozing down Etna under a full moon. The dinner was great with lots of local specialities and good wine selection. We had the smallest room there as all the others were booked out which although didn't have views was immaculately clean, well furnished and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom
And shower. All staff were an absolute delight: friendly and helpful, always cheerful and happy to assist with information and tips. We were welcomed with bright smiles and complimentary wine on the terrace to take in the views. There is no pool but guests have access to a pool in their sister hotel (although we didn't try this) they also provide free shuttles to central Taormina and can recommend beaches with paid return shuttles/umbrellas etc. We would not hesitate to recommend this delightful hotel to anyone wanting to splurge on a stay in beautiful Taormina!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Devine hotel. Beautiful views from all rooms. Breakfast dinner super. Devine views seeing Mt Etna every night was so special and Taramina below. Service and staff first class Enjoy and take it all in. Special place. Hope to be back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere quiet. Beautiful views from every room. Breakfast dinners Devine service and food. Look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bomber078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 days in this hotel and from the second we arrived by car we were overwhelmed by the friendly staff. They offer you drinks, welcome you to the hotel, explain the things to do at and around Taormina. The offer tea and coctail time in the afternoon as well as complimentary shuttle services to the center. They work with 2 private beaches and again, offer shuttle services, towels and all that you may need. From the hotel terrace you also have a great view on the Etna as well as the entire bay. Rooms are spacious & clean, in typical Sicilian style. All in all, a great experience where you feel at home instantly. Will be back for sure!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
San Domenico Palace Hotel
#11 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing