We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for and fantastic service”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just arrived back from one week break at the fantastic Villa Ducale. Our expectations were very high but I can honestly say they were certainly surpassed. It has everthing including views to die for, fantastic breakfast and if you like cakes you are in for a real treat. However, what really makes this hotel so special is the service. All the staff were very friendly and always willing to help. They were passionate about their region and very knowledgeable. I don't generally single out any one single person especially as all the staff were great. However, special mention has to go to Serena who works in the restaurant and is particularly passionate about the wines of the region. I run my own wine school back in the UK and I can honestly say that she inspired me so much that in the future I want to run a number of Sicily themed tastings at my school. In terms of the facilities, our room (room number 22) was very comfortable with a good size bathroom. We also had a good size balcony that included 2 loungers, a table and two chairs, and of of course a fab view of Etna and of the bay. We are already planning a return trip, possibly in the Autumn. Thanks once again to all the staff at the Villa Ducale for such a memorable time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tedloveswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Restaurant manager at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Tedloveswine,
I want to thank you immensely for the extraordinary comment you posted in Tripadvisor about your overall experience at our Taormina boutique hotel. We appreciate you loved our hotel so much, your room and its large panoramic balcony overlooking the Mount Etna and the sea, its out-of-the-world view and our food. People working at Villa Ducale like me are happy and as proud sicilians we love our land and are keen to make it known to the people.
However I would like to particularly thank you for mentioning my person who had the great pleasure to serve you and had wonderful funny talks with you about our great Sicilian wines.
Next time in autumn we can organize a trip to Mount Etna wineries , I can escort you there to discover our magical vineyards !!!
Kind regards,
Serena A., Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely deserves to be the top hotel in this gorgeous destination. From the moment you arrive the focus is on you. The Villa is gorgeous and comfortable. So pleased with our decision to stay here, especially after walking Corso de Umberto with all the cruise ship mobs. We simply strolled back up the hill to our quiet retreat. The views are sublime. The breakfast a feast. Staff very very welcoming and helpful. Did not want to leave.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank boxerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The staff make you feel like you are the most important person staying in the hotel. Everyone on the staff is friendly, welcoming and is helpful. The hotel is beautifully decorated and meticulously clean - our room had a private balcony overlooking the sea and good sized bathroom. Flowers and wine were waiting for us when we checked which my wife loved. The breakfast was superb, with a terrific selection of fruit, vegetables, eggs, cheese, pastry and yogurt. Early evening they serve appetizers on the terrace to enjoy the beautiful views. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbaumbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

the hotel is high in the hills above Taormina. This means great views of Mount Etna and away from the crowded town. ( Take the free shuttle, in reality there is no parking for non residents).
The staff were amazingly helpful even keeping the kitchen open after our plane from London was delayed.
Breakfast was wonderful, especially the pastries which are rather too wonderful, and to further bust the diet there is a similar selection for the free afternoon tea ( don't miss). But you could justify it if you have walked back from Taormina, it is a long steep walk....
Our room was a little small but we had refused a (paid) upgrade to a sea view as unnecessary for two nights but if I had been staying longer it would have been worth it.
Lots of luxurious toiletries in the bathroom.
Warning because it is built into a hillside there are a lot of steps!

Room Tip: you get what you pay for, worth splurging on a bigger room for a longer stay but our bathroom was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Economistmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Ducale is perfect in everything. The landscape is amazing, the Etna is there to you during your breakfast! The service is outstanding, the staff make you feel very welcome. If you are looking for relax, charm and beautiful view, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cris_Barcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We chose it by reading the Trip Advisor reviews. It was better than we could have hoped. The major attraction is the people. Genuinely friendly and interested in your stay. Their recommendations for food and day trips were always spot on. Breakfast is amazing with a great mixture of European food and Sicilian specialties. Afternoon tea is delectable. Cocktail hour appetizers are incredible. We usually chose to have a bottle of Prosecco on the terrace admiring both the Mediterranean and Mt. Aetna. The walk to town is easy, although uphill is good exercise. For dinner use their impeccable free shuttle service, if you do not eat at the Villa (we did for three of our six nights). A great place for our trip to Sicily as were not interested in cities. Castel Mola is a cute Medieval Village a short walk up the hill. Taormina has enough site-seeing for a day. We did three 2 to 3 hr (each way) day trips: Valley of the Temples (4th cent BC Greek), Villa Castel Romani (4th cent AD Roman Mosaics), and Alcantara Gorge, esp. Francavilla (Norman). We never did make it to the Beach.

Room Tip: Our room (14) was perfect with a small private veranda with a view of the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We chose Villa Ducale as our base for a week on the strength of two words in a guide book - "little gem".

And most of our expectations were met. Arriving at 9.30 pm in the dark and rain we were warmly welcomed by Paolo the manager and quickly served with a meal.Morning revealed that the hotel has wonderful setting - with a view all the way from the sea to Mount Etna - from its perch high on the hillside. On the other hand there is only one way out. You can either walk to Taormina - which is a pleasant 30 minute stroll - or take the hotel's free shuttle bus - which runs rather infrequently until the evening when it goes every hour. Our room (no. 33) was a bit cramped and sometimes was pervaded by a rather unpleasant smell.

The dining room is superbly located with every table having a good view of the beautiful surroundings and is a delight to be in - especially as all of the staff are extremely pleasant and everything is done with a smile. breakfast is truly excellent with something to suit every sort of appetite. From my perspective the scrambled egg was first class and although the bacon looked if it was steamed it tasted fine.

When you return in the middle of the afternoon you are then faced with a dangerously delicious complimentary selection of cakes. Also included in the price is selection of brushetta served before dinner. Dinner itself was a wee bit diappointing with a rather truncated menu which another guest put out down to "kitchen problems"! However you will not starve as Taormina is full of good restaurants.

Before we left we brought our concern at the above-mentioned shortcomings - plus the fact that the promised jacuzzi/spa was not available - to the attention of Paolo. His response was exemplary - he apologise profusely for the fact that in some respects the hotel had not lived up to expectations and gave us a generous discount on the bill.

I would certainly go back to Villa Ducale but not before Catania Airport gets its act to-gether. It is probably the worst airport which I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Save yourself 40 Euro and use the airport taxi service provided by the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $172 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing