We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it looks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as it looks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed in April this year with my adult daughter. Villa Ducale certainly lives up to it's reputation. From Eduardo's genuine warm welcome to the attentive service of the staff, fantastic location and quality, unpretentious food- Villa Ducale ticks all the boxes. The free, regular shuttle service from the hotel to town centre, about 10-15 minutes means taxis are unnecessary. We particularly liked the chic boutique style of this family run hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,765
    147
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
239
1,327
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
decor318
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The rooms, the view, the breakfast, the teatime, everything is so thoughtfully done. And oh so beautiful. But the incomparable factor is the staff. Attentive, personable, wonderfully helpful-even to the point of giving us a hand drawn map to the hotel at our next destination.
My only caveat is that the hotel is a cab ride to the center of town. The hotel obliges with a free transport service but it may not be as frequent as one would like.
But a very small caveat compared to everything the hotel offers.

Room Tip: View View View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanYouForgiveHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Hotel Villa Ducale's service is exceptional. Combine this with some of the most breathtaking views of the Sicilian coast and Mt. Etna, and you've got an unforgettable holiday. I was most impressed with the quality of service - Villa Ducale's lovely, welcoming and knowledgeable staff are there to help every step of the way. The extra touches - excellent breakfast sourced from local producers, afternoon tea, and aperitivo - all with a stunning view - are generous and delicious. The hotel owner, Rosaria, offered us a lovely tomato/onion and orange/lemon salad after breakfast, just because. We had a very tasty dinner at the hotel, made even better by the friendly service. Our two-day visit marked the end of a week-long 50th birthday celebration - and it really couldn't have been better. I would return to Villa Ducale in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask to be sure you have a full sea/coastal/Mt. Etna view. The "Double Classic" room 30 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit to Hotel Villa Ducale again. That is our second time. We are writing some reasons why we chose to stay at the hotel again.

- The elegant rooms offer a breathtaking view of sea and Mt. Etna with gentle smoking.
- The breakfast has a large variety of fresh selection.
- enjoy eating freshly made treats in the afternoon
- offering delicious antipasto in the evening
- eating and drinking in the lovely terrace with a breathtaking view of sea and Mt. Etna
- a great spot to explore to the two beautiful historical villages of Taormina and Castelmola

Andrea and Rosaria are wonderful hosts. It is a warm relaxing atmosphere. We are looking forward to returning again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and the amazing views of Mt. Etna and the sea from our room. As noted many times, the staff is very helpful and the breakfast is excellent, with a range of sweet and savory choices as well as hot and cold dishes. There is literally something for everyone.

Our room was nice but smallish and the large terrace was amazing, but I would have appreciated a proper chest of drawers rather than using my suitcase for storage for four days. Unfortunately I also needed to be in touch with my office but the free WiFi often didn't work, so I racked up some roaming charges.

As others have noted, you can walk to town down many flights of stairs. Otherwise it's 15 Euro by taxi and probably not a walk you want to make uphill. The hotel has a free shuttle service and there is a local bus, but both operate on a pretty limited schedule.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Tinarina,
thank you for taking the time to write a positive review after your recent stay at Villa Ducale.
Regarding the few negative points, I feel sorry to hear that you found the room smallish and the wifi not working at some time.
Our hotel is a small boutique hotel situated in a charming chic antique villa with few rooms so it does not suit to everyone's taste. I am sorry that all you remember after your experience is just the wifi. But to be precise let me tell you that the wifi did not work for ONLY A FEW HOURS after a very strong night storm. We are not a business hotel but have all the facilities of a luxury house including free lap-tops, internation tv channels such as BBC and CNN, wi-fi, etc. which are very useful during your stay but I believe should not be the reason number one to stay with us.Our guests enjoy primarily the romance of Villa Ducale.... and I am sorry you did not catch with this feeling .... and apologize for this.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We chose Villa Ducale based on Tripadvisors excellent reviews. We were not disappointed!
Excellent service, the staff were friendly and aim to please - nothing was too much trouble for them. You only had to ask. Our room was clean and bathroom spacious enough with the usual bathrobe, slippers and toiletries supplied. We had a small terrace where we sat to look at the most fantastic view of Mt Etna and the sea. Our room was below the breakfast/restaurant terrace and we could hear the scraping noise of chairs being moved but this did not bother us at all. At night it was very quiet after about 22.30.
The Villa has a free shuttle bus which started at 10.45 taking you down to the centre of Taormina. However, if you want to go earlier there is a local bus service that stops practically outside the villa plus for the walkers there are steps down to the centre. The Villa staff give you all the info you need on your arrival plus a welcome cocktail.
There was plenty to choose from for breakfast and staff also highlight the fact that they don't employ a chef as such but a lady who cooks family meals.
We stayed for one week and were sad to leave - even though it rained for a few days!
We would recommend Villa Ducale for a stay in Taormina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace and view of Mt Etna and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I chose Villa Ducale for a special birthday as it looked so lovely, and had the most incredible experience. We spent 3 days there and were treated with immense warmth and friendliness throughout. Stunning views overlooking both the sea and Mt Etna, a comfortable and luxurious room with balcony and delicious food were already a treat. The breakfast buffet of every possible delicacy, both sweet and savoury, eaten in front of the view was quite delicious, as were the 3 dinners we had - my husband and 8 year old daughter, so contented they had no interest in trying the restaurants in town! We even had a lunch there as we were so happy in the jacuzzi we lingered til late and were offered whatever we wished to eat. My daughter was spoilt by everyone especially the delightful Serena in the restaurant and even given a gift of a little puppet.

The highlight was my birthday when everyone who was part of Villa Ducale offered kisses and best wishes. Paolo organised a fantastic boat trip which ended with being dropped off at a lovely, secluded restaurant on the beach, where I was greeted with a birthday drink. Dinner ended with a gorgeous cake and just when I thought I couldn't be more spoilt, returned to our room to find a gift of flowers and prosecco, from the Villa 'family'.

I use the word 'family' because that's what everyone who works there was like; a close knit team taking huge pride and pleasure in our comfort and happiness. A big thank you to Paolo, Eduardo, Martina, Mama Santini, Serena and everyone whose name I didn't get to ask. We had a truly wonderful experience which I can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TertiaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing