We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Ducale
Nearby Hotels
$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$532
$361
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Paradiso(Taormina)
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$469
$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
$248
$212
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Taodomus(Taormina)
$232
$220
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$318
$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$479
$438
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$928
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$844
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,135 results
Traveler rating
1,940
154
23
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,940
154
23
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount etnacocktail hourshuttle servicefree shuttleour honeymoonhotel shuttlesister hotelthe hotel offerswelcome drinkglass of proseccomoment you arrivebreathtaking viewsperched highcakesthe entire staffbeach towelsjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 2,135 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and the amazing views of Mt. Etna and the sea from our room. As noted many times, the staff is very helpful and the breakfast is excellent, with a range of sweet and savory choices as well as hot and cold dishes. There is literally something for everyone.

Our room was nice but smallish and the large terrace was amazing, but I would have appreciated a proper chest of drawers rather than using my suitcase for storage for four days. Unfortunately I also needed to be in touch with my office but the free WiFi often didn't work, so I racked up some roaming charges.

As others have noted, you can walk to town down many flights of stairs. Otherwise it's 15 Euro by taxi and probably not a walk you want to make uphill. The hotel has a free shuttle service and there is a local bus, but both operate on a pretty limited schedule.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Tinarina,
thank you for taking the time to write a positive review after your recent stay at Villa Ducale.
Regarding the few negative points, I feel sorry to hear that you found the room smallish and the wifi not working at some time.
Our hotel is a small boutique hotel situated in a charming chic antique villa with few rooms so it does not suit to everyone's taste. I am sorry that all you remember after your experience is just the wifi. But to be precise let me tell you that the wifi did not work for ONLY A FEW HOURS after a very strong night storm. We are not a business hotel but have all the facilities of a luxury house including free lap-tops, internation tv channels such as BBC and CNN, wi-fi, etc. which are very useful during your stay but I believe should not be the reason number one to stay with us.Our guests enjoy primarily the romance of Villa Ducale.... and I am sorry you did not catch with this feeling .... and apologize for this.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We chose Villa Ducale based on Tripadvisors excellent reviews. We were not disappointed!
Excellent service, the staff were friendly and aim to please - nothing was too much trouble for them. You only had to ask. Our room was clean and bathroom spacious enough with the usual bathrobe, slippers and toiletries supplied. We had a small terrace where we sat to look at the most fantastic view of Mt Etna and the sea. Our room was below the breakfast/restaurant terrace and we could hear the scraping noise of chairs being moved but this did not bother us at all. At night it was very quiet after about 22.30.
The Villa has a free shuttle bus which started at 10.45 taking you down to the centre of Taormina. However, if you want to go earlier there is a local bus service that stops practically outside the villa plus for the walkers there are steps down to the centre. The Villa staff give you all the info you need on your arrival plus a welcome cocktail.
There was plenty to choose from for breakfast and staff also highlight the fact that they don't employ a chef as such but a lady who cooks family meals.
We stayed for one week and were sad to leave - even though it rained for a few days!
We would recommend Villa Ducale for a stay in Taormina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace and view of Mt Etna and sea
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I chose Villa Ducale for a special birthday as it looked so lovely, and had the most incredible experience. We spent 3 days there and were treated with immense warmth and friendliness throughout. Stunning views overlooking both the sea and Mt Etna, a comfortable and luxurious room with balcony and delicious food were already a treat. The breakfast buffet of every possible delicacy, both sweet and savoury, eaten in front of the view was quite delicious, as were the 3 dinners we had - my husband and 8 year old daughter, so contented they had no interest in trying the restaurants in town! We even had a lunch there as we were so happy in the jacuzzi we lingered til late and were offered whatever we wished to eat. My daughter was spoilt by everyone especially the delightful Serena in the restaurant and even given a gift of a little puppet.

The highlight was my birthday when everyone who was part of Villa Ducale offered kisses and best wishes. Paolo organised a fantastic boat trip which ended with being dropped off at a lovely, secluded restaurant on the beach, where I was greeted with a birthday drink. Dinner ended with a gorgeous cake and just when I thought I couldn't be more spoilt, returned to our room to find a gift of flowers and prosecco, from the Villa 'family'.

I use the word 'family' because that's what everyone who works there was like; a close knit team taking huge pride and pleasure in our comfort and happiness. A big thank you to Paolo, Eduardo, Martina, Mama Santini, Serena and everyone whose name I didn't get to ask. We had a truly wonderful experience which I can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THSG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April '14, in a junior suite to accommodate the three of us in one room.
To re-iterate the positives:
The welcome and service were first class: luggage transferred directly from car to room, check-in on the breakfast terrace with a magnificent view (& tasty nibbles).
Room itself spacious, semi-private terrace with a view, interesting period furniture, satellite TV (Sky Italia, incl. English language news channels). Bathroom large with clever shower above the Jacuzzi (which we tried & failed to switch on), posh Dr Vranjes toiletries.
Beds however a bit less exciting: heavy, unwieldy pillows (not feather or down). Mattress just a little past its prime - just not as comfortable as expected at this price point. No down duvets.
Breakfast was perfect the first day (a Thursday) in terms of variety and quality, not quite as good the following days. Dinner was good, though not exciting - but this was as expected, given that it is billed as Sicilian home cooking. Interesting wines.
Location: at the upper end of Taormina, looking south towards Giardini Naxos & the Etna. A fair walk down to the Corso in terms of distance & elevation, but they provide a scheduled minibus as a free shuttle service, very handy for small children or less fit / older visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Werder1 from London,
I would like to thank you for your very positive review in which you point out many of our characteristics.
Sorry you didn't find our beds very comfortable; our hotel changes its beds every 5 years and actually they are all quite new. Our beds are the tipical Italian beds and pillows that you would find in most Italian luxury hotel made of the highest quality. In years we never received such complain but we understand that one opinion can be very personal and we accept it.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, owner of Hotel Villa Ducale , Taormina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Villa Ducale truly makes all the reviews justice. Located high above Taormina, it manages to make use of its location and provides a breathtaking view of both Mt Etna and the sea. Breakfast is by far the best ee have had in Italy.The service and personnel is very friendly and service-minded. Rooms are quite large and nicely furnished. Beds are not the highest standard and could be better quality. It's location means you need either you walk down (538 steps...), which is fun and beautiful. Not as nice going up late at night... Hotel offers bus shuttle at fixed times, which is great but could be more flexible particularly if you are travelling with kids. Taxi from city to hotel is 15 euros. Note that you can be placed in rooms in the annex, which is across the (busy) street from the main building and does not have as nice views of Etna (but still nice and sea views).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews