We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Deserves its ranking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deserves its ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

You must be doing something right to have both the number 1 & 2 ranked hotels in Taormina (Ducale & Carlotta)! And indeed, the owner Rosario and here team do a fantastic job. Ducale has the better view, being high up on the hill. The view from both our room and the covered terrace, where breakfast and dinner are served was simply amazing -- with Etna to the right, through to the Castle high above town on the left, with the coast and sea in the middle, the view is uninterrupted! We had the junior suite in the roof space with its own private entrance - it is huge, beautifully decorated with a completely private terrace boasting the best views in the hotel -- it is worth the extra cost! Everyone gushes about the service - it is as good as the view! Everyone has their staff favorites and ours was Serena serving at dinner. We loved the food, we loved the Prosecco Rose but most of all we loved Serena, she made us feel so welcome! We spent most days at the beach. The free shuttle would pick us up in the morning & take us to La Caravella beach club which was like an extension of the hotel, starting a tab based on our room number, not surprising really when you often meet the owner & her family there enjoying the beach! It all made for a most memorable holiday, the type you never want to end!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    141
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
224
1,220
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

For the second year running we have just had a truly wonderful holiday at the Hotel Villa Ducale. The location and the magnificent views are exceptional but what really makes a stay there so memorable and outstanding is the genuine warmth and friendliness of the owner Rosario and every single member of her dedicated team. A truly family atmosphere.There is not enough space to mention everyone by name but special thanks must be given to Paulo, Alicia, Santi and Serena who are so willing to go that extra mile to provide a genuinely 5+ star service. Nothing is too much trouble.

The attention to detail and quality is excellent, from the breakfasts to the complementary afternoon pastries and evening canapés, all locally made, right through to the decor of the rooms. When a hotel takes special care over such things as the fine quality of bathroom products and beach bags and towels you know instinctively that nothing has been left to chance.

We took friends with us for this second visit. They were equally impressed and confirmed that we had not exaggerated the quality of the experience in any way whatsoever when inviting them to join us this time.

Phillip and Marion

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was recommended by friends who stayed earlier in the year. We wanted a relaxing break not charging about trying to see all the sights of Sicily. The hotel was superb, an elegant, spacious room with a view towards mainland Italy and a hotel terrace to look over the bay and town. They claim not to be a restaurant, merely having a kitchen. Don't believe it - the food was great as were local wine recommendations. What really makes the place are the wonderful staff (all of them) and we especially thank Alicia, Paulo, Santi, and Serena for looking after us and spoiling us so well. Add in the extras - breakfast, afternoon tea, aperitivi, shuttle bus to town, all made it a great experience. Thanks also to Alison at travelcounsellors.com who organised and booked everything for us. We would visit Villa Ducale again. T & H McD

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A phenominal hotel high on the hills overlooking Taormina.You can't find a better panoramic view in Taormina. The staff was phenominal, especially Paulo and Alicia. The free breakfast was fantastic - you did not have to eat again until dinner at night. The shuttle service to the own was very beneficial and they would arrane for additional shuttles as necessary. We lost our luggage. Paulo arranged for a driver to pick up the luggage in Catania - 1 hour away for a reasonable charge. Great for couples, not very kid friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Everything the previous reviewers say is true. We were welcomed after a hairy3 hour drive on Sicilian motorways, quite frazzelled. We had got lost in Taormina in a no car piazza down a three in one hill in a hire car with a gear box that couldn't distinguish between 1st and 3rd. Back on track and climbing the windy, steep road up to the hotel we were flagged down and directed to the car park (which we would have missed left to our own devices). Our saviour told us to leave the car - he would park it for us and take our bags to our rooms. He then showed us to reception and introduced us to his colleagues who ushered us to a patio with the most divine sea view ever and brought us complimentary pastries and pro secco. Thanks our stars we had arrived and our stress levels had already shrunk to zero. Our stay was fab with truly wonderful customer service. The only reason this is a four star not five star review is because of the rooms. Our sons' room was a double not a twin and very small. Ours was lovely with a view to die for but was damp and even had a patch of black mildew on the bathroom ceiling. These little glitches were tiny however when compared to how much we enjoyed everything else and I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel and its wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jank488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm not sure what I can add to all the wonderful reviews for this very special hotel! We stayed at Villa Ducale with our two young children, and were made to feel utterly welcome and at home. The rooms and general decor are charming and stylish. We only had a couple of days in Taormina but were able to make the most of it thanks to great restaurant and beach recommendations from the staff at Villa Ducale, thank you! If you could find a better view for breakfast I would like to know where it is. I hope that we are able to return very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPerry008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here this past July. We loved everything about this hotel. The staff at villa Ducale were by far the most helpful, welcoming staff we have ever experienced before. They really do make you feel like you are at home! As soon as we arrived, they treated us with food and drinks. Our room wasn't ready because we were early so they upgraded us to the best room in the hotel, a private suite!! The food was so great we decided to stay in and eat dinner on the terrace instead of going down into town. The view is probably the best in town! What we loved the most about this hotel was how up to date it was, while still keeping the Sicilian, Mediterranean feel. We were extremely happy with everything. While we stayed here we got engaged, which was already an amazing time, but they made us feel so much more amazing. We plan on making another trip to Taoromina soon and when we do, we will definitely be staying at our home, villa Ducale!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing