We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard To Beat”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hard To Beat”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Let me start by saying it was a tough decision between four and five stars. The staff at Villa Ducale are second to none! You feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The breakfast is always different and authentic Sicilian. The tapas are great but the best part is truly the view. One thing we realized after spending the day on the beach is how quiet Villa Ducale is, in my opinion something that is priceless when trying to relax. This is a solid 4-Star Hotel that I would recommend to anyone. I would also not recommend taking children as there are plenty of beach resorts for the "family" type of atmosphere. A special thanks to Ajith who continuously did everything possible to track down our luggage that did eventually arrive. Thanks again for making our seventeen year anniversary trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for an elevated room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Bandersen from Florida,
thank you for your praises which were highly appreciated.
You have been the only FOUR out FIVE after a long time, this means that perfection does not exist.
Ajit that you mentioned was very proud that you remembered his name, he wants to thank you very much for apprecaition of his work.
Kind regards,
Mrs. Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    150
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
248
1,387
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Villa Ducale is a very special hotel. From the moment you arrive at reception you know you will be well looked after. It has the most incredible location with full panoramic views of Taormina and Mt. Etna from its lovely terrace where a light but refreshing breeze always blows. But what really makes Villa Ducale special is its wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble, everything is done with great attention to detail, a smile and a professionalism which nowadays is hard to find. The atmosphere in Villa Ducale is one of complete relaxation and a sense of basking in the comfort of beautiful surroundings. Villa Ducale does not have a restaurant but dinner can be ordered in advance and is prepared by a cook especially for you. It is well worthwhile enjoying this treat at least once when you stay there. Breakfast on the terrace is to die for. Villa Ducale provides a shuttle service to reach the town and can organise tours at your request. I cannot fault this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Taormina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colettehamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Besides the stunning view of Giordanni-Naxos, the overall experience was very pleasant. Great breakfast (included) full of local produce, friendly and helpful staff and frequent free shuttle services to the Taormina town center. Any excursion you can think of, the staff can pretty much set it up for you which I found helpful. The only areas of improvement would be the quality of the bed (they put two single beds together as one king bed), and ways to repel the bees as they frequently interrupt our dinning while we eat at the terrace. All in all, for those who are new to Taormina, definitely spend a couple nights here at the very least.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howard519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Dylan was waiting for us in front of the hotel when we arrived ready to helpus with our luggage. He said he'll take care of everything and uashered us onto the main terrace for a welcome drink. After traveling for several hours from Palermo, we were exhausted and needed some TLC. Paolo then sat us down with a map anfd got us oriented to Taormina. The hotel has a free van service to town, so once you're there you don't need to use your car. (Which is great, bc the road to the hotel is very narrow, steep and winding.) It gets especially harrowing when a bus is passing in the opposite direction. We absolutely loved our room, which overlooked the water and had a very large terrace. And what was really amazing was the lavish breakfast spread every morming, which was delicious and prepared with care.
My husband and I travel a lot and we both were very impressed with the quality and attention to detail this hotel provided. The hotel is very well decorated with attractive & comfortable furnishings as if you were in someome's home. And the staff was friendly and always very willing to help you. We hope to return one day and this time bring our children with us. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExNewY0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here for a two night stay to end our wedding celebrations in the heart of taormina. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly chap who quickly whisked our suitcases off whilst escorting us down the steps into the reception. The hotel is a lot further up to castelmola than I anticipated. Anyway, we were welcomed by another very friendly chap who took us to sit down in the breakfast/lunch/dinner terrace. Now this is a small boutique hotel which has a lot of charm. The inside area had a rustic wooden table which hosts the cakes throughout the day & there is a fireplace with 2 club chairs-very cute. Well, the views on the terrace were nothing short of breathtaking-overlooking the bays & etna. Simply stunning! We were offered a complimentary welcome drink of choice & our host gave us info of the hotel etc. We were told that breakfast was served between 7.30-10.30 (there was if anything, too much choice)! There was also complimentary tea (selection of tea/coffee and a variety of cakes made by the chef at the carlotta ) served at 3pm (this was also fantastic). We were told that the did not have their own chef at the Ducale but the had their own Sicilian cook (whom they called mamma). We personally thought this to be even better. Also, if there something that you fancied that wasn't on the menu, give them a day and they would cook it for you. Only cost would be for special ingredients. You could also use the facilities of the carlotta( which is in town ) or just have dinner there. They also have a free shuttle service in and out of taormina & to different beaches/lido's ( which I don't think they have advertised well as if people were aware, they'd be more inclined to stay here if the location put them off). Knowing that they have the shuttle service (taxis are 15 euro into taormina), & how close this is to castelmola, I would say this is a very good location (especially due to the views). After a second welcome drink(we had our interesting host talking about the area etc for a while), we were shown to our room. This room was very very nice (not that large) but decorated in a rustic but luxury style. Now, the killer of this room was the balcony(again, not large) but it had to separate doors opening up onto the balcony which was above the dining area so we woke up to the same stunning views over etna & the bays. We must have had one of a few of the best views in the hotel. We then went back downstairs to find the bathing area and was taken back upstairs, across the road & down some other stairs (not far). We found a very intimate decked area (again with sea views). There were only 4 subbeds but as there was only ever us two there on the 2 days, this was not an issue. The jacuzzi pool was set on 38 degrees which was pretty horrendous when you're boiling hot & need to cool down. We reduced the heat but it only reduced by about half a degree in 3 hours! Thankfully, they had a shower which we could douse ourselves in to cool down. As I said, you are able to use the pool etc facililities of the carlotta. We had tea there which was wonderful. The hotel is very calming and not at all formal. You can just chill here. We had dinner here later in the evening which was very good but not the best I've had in Sicily. This is not meant as a slur as we've had some unbelievable meals (in often the most reasonable restaurants). Having said that, the food prices are pretty on par with a lot of the restaurants and the drinks are reasonable (5 euro for s large glass of prosecco). There is a very personal service here and staff are very attentive. I was very pleased with this hotel as a whole, no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husand and I just returned from an 8 night stay at the wonderful Villa Ducale in Taormina. We had a lovely room (#14) with a terrace that overlooked the sea, after a long day exploring it was perfect sitting there watching the world sail by. Paulo and the team are fantastic, no request is too difficult and everyone has a smile even the amazing guys that drive the shuttle to/from the hotel in the evening amidst that crazy traffic! The hotel's location at the top of the hill overlooking Taormina is perfect, it's a lovely walk down to the village and when you've had enough of the crowds the shuttle will whisk you back up the hill to your little piece of Sicilian tranquility. We loved everything about out stay, our room was perfect, the location was breathtaking and the entire team at the hotel made you feel like you'd come home for a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 14 and it was perfectly positioned in the hotel and on the hillside, the terrace has swe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is high above the town of Taormina so a bit a little detached from the tourist bustle in the main shopping and cafe parts of the town. This is good, and in return you get excellent friendly service, a brilliant location, fabulous views (we asked for a room facing the sea and with a balcony - it was amazing) and a breakfast room/restaurant that has the most beautiful vistas possible!

Breakfast is a buffet with good variety of dishes from muesli, through fresh fruits and cheeses, to cakes and croissant. Oh, and eggs and even asparagus wrapped in bacon. Excellent coffee served with a smile. The restaurant is very nice with good food well cooked and presented. Service is as always at the Villa Ducale first class. Room service is available but it was nicer to eat in the Villa Ducale restaurant or Al Saraceno restaurant nearby and have a nightcap in the hotel. Manuel automatically warmed the brandy glasses - always a good sign of a quality barkeeper.

If you have a car the location is of little relevance. If not the hotel offers a shuttle bus (not very frequent, and you need to book both directions as space is limited). If you want the beach two beach clubs offer a shuttle service that picks you up from the hotel and takes you back. The hotel will arrange and the price (€12 per person) includes a sunbed. An umbrella is a few € more. The beaches have most of the facilities needed including catering.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you and make you feel comfortable. Because it is small (only 11 rooms and 6 suites) the standard of service is high. Nice touches like a welcome drink on arrival, cold drinks and canapes at 1800 each evening, a well stocked bar (at very reasonable prices for an hotel). If you go to the beach you are provided with fresh beach towels in a hessian bag. You can book excursions but absolutely no hard sell. The bigger coaches can't get up to the hotel but the staff took us to the bus terminal - now that is good service - a taxi would add €15 each way to the trip price.

The rooms are well appointed and very well cleaned. The cleaning staff are the best. There is a mini bar at hotel prices, and a TV, but who needs that when sitting on the balcony sipping a brandy watching the sunset is available instead! Note that we stayed in the original hotel and cannot comment on the annex which is across the road. Check out the hotel website.

Going to town: Shuttle for free, or taxi at €15, or local bus at €1.80 single/€2.80 return. The bus stop is just outside of the hotel. Or you can walk up the Via Madonna della Rocca to the church of the same name (5 minutes) and trundle down the steps to town (10-15 minutes). The return is rather longer and a bit harder! Makes the taxi fare a real bargain! (alternatively phone the hotel and see if the shuttle has space).

Other things to do? As you are almost at Castelmola (the village on the cliff above) it is worth a visit. The (in)famous Bar Turrissi with its fertility theme is unusual, and the village has some good views. The best way up from Villa Ducale is using the local bus. The prices are the same as above. The bus ride is nice with good views as you climb the hill. The bus terminus has good views. Lots of bars and cafes and restaurants to choose from, and some nice deli type shops smelling of hams. If souvenirs are your thing then this village caters well for you!

Would we recommend this hotel? Certainly, we would love to come to Taormina again and would not hesitate to return to the Villa Ducale.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main building and some in the annex across the road. Check on line to see whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing