We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited Taormina for 4 nights and chose this hotel based on previous reviews, and we were not disappointed! They have amazing service from start to finish, and it is obvious they pride themselves in that. There were welcome cocktails when we arrived, and they sat right down with us to explain on the map where we were and how the shuttles worked. There are free shuttles that run all day to take you down into the main old city. The food was amazing, and we ate at the hotel restaurant everynight except one (and only to try another amazing restaurant in town that specialized in truffles). I ordered the tagliatelle, at least three times. The service in the restaurant was outstanding, they would do anything for you, and they made amazing mojitos. They also will bring dinner into your room if you would prefer to eat on your balcony, which we did a couple of times at no charge! We had a junior suite, which had two balconies, with amazing views of the water and Mount Etna! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and you will not be disappointed. What a gem!

Room Tip: The junior suite was beautiful, get a view - that's the reason why you're so far up the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2thmechandlightguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    150
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
248
1,387
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Villa Ducale really does deserve all of the praise and great ratings!

Other than seconding all the great reviews by my fellow guests here are some points I found:

1. I stayed in the Garden room (#15). While there was no view the room was great. It was cool, comfortable, with a big closet, nice bathroom, and not as expensive. We spent most of our time on the common porch or in the hot tub. You are not going to miss anything if you can't afford the suites. There are a few steep steps down to get into our room. Santi and Alessi were very helpful and really made you feel welcome.

2. Have at least one dinner there. Santina is an excellent cook. And Elie is a personable and efficient server. Then you can watch the beautiful view come alive with twinkling lights during dinner.

3. After the winding road up to the hotel, we were grateful to leave the car with the valet (10 euros a day) and arrange to take advantage of the shuttles. Down in the morning, we would come back around 3, then go back down for dinner. It was a hassle free, designated driver, no parking, way to enjoy the town and commute back to the hotel. Although I don't remember their names the drivers were all courteous, prompt and skilled at navigating that road!

All in all I really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are a great deal. Less expensive, but still gives you access to the view, the hot tub a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Bowfinn,
I would like to particularly thank you for the wonderful and trustful review you posted on TA regarding your recent stay with us.
Yes we have one dbl room that has no sea view (it is clearly stated when booking it) that we call courtyard view room; it is cheaper than most rooms but has exactly the same facilities and functionalities of all Villa Ducale rooms.Then its guests can fully take advantage of all hotel common spaces where the wonderful view is plentiful !
I want to thank you for pointing this out as sometimes people are doubtful about reserving it or not.
I am also glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our excellent drivers, their names are Dylan and Sagare, they are two lovely sweet guys, they feel proud that you praised them!

Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner of Villa Ducale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is located up a very windy road at the very top of Taormina. The views are spectacular. Our room was very spacious with breathtaking views. The drawback to the hotel was being located up so high, we had to reach the town by a staircase of steps that were easy to go down, but a bear to go up. We certainly burned a lot of calories that way! But seriously, the location was a bit inconvenient. They had a free shuttle, but there were not enough times that it made it that convenient. The staff was very helpful, but at times seemed a bit distant. The breakfast that was complimentary was very substantial. There were a lot of little things that made your stay very comfortable that they provided. We thought it was a very pretty hotel, but we preferred Hotel Imperiale, which was a much better value in our opinion. Their breakfast was better, their TV reception gave us many more English channels to watch at night when we wanted to wind down, their pillows were softer, the staff friendlier, and the location was more convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
This review is faked and we have asked Tripadvisor to please check it and cancel it. It praises another hotel in Taormina but they did not write a review about that hotel.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Many people asked us why we didn't stay at Grand Hotel Timeo instead of here - obviously they hadn't read TripAdvisor! And we are glad we had! Despite the location being up the hill instead of right in the city centre, we actually preferred this, as exiting Timeo you would be immersed in the tourist throng.
Firstly, the room at Villa Ducale was great - we had a Deluxe Suite situated on the other side of the road from the breakfast room and reception; nice and quiet, and huge room - huge bath, couch, terrace and lovely bed.
Secondly the staff were second to none. The manager Paolo is great, and speaks perfect english. The breakfast staff are the same people who service your room - they are so lovely and caring.
Thirdly - the food - we actually ate dinner here quite a lot, as we had already been travelling for a month by then and were sick of having to go out to dinner. The meals were simple but good quality - lots of pasta, salads and grilled meats. Breakfast was wonderful and my gluten free requirements were more than taken care of - biscuits, bread and cakes were provided for me.
Lastly - car parking. it was 10Euro a day I think, but given the drivers in Sicily we are glad we had it parked off the street!
Overall I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on other side of the road are more private and quieter, except for ones right near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent a week here in 2011 and could not wait to return. How do you improve on perfection? Well, Rosaria and her wonderful team had made some decorative changes to our room, all delightful, and we had a memorable stay again. The weather in the third week of May was superb and the magnificent views of the beautiful bay and Mount Etna are incomparable. Everything at this wonderful hotel is excellent, from the start to the finish of every day's stay.

We hired a car from Catania airport, and this gave us the freedom to travel to some of the beautiful sights of Sicily, including the ancient city of Syracuse and the incredible Greek temples at Agrigento, as well as being able to drive down to the town of Taormina whenever we wanted. However, for people who don't want to rent a car, the hotel provides convenient and frequent free shuttle service to and from Taormina, just a few minutes away by minibus. This is a very useful service especially in the evening as it allows you to have a few glasses of wine with dinner, if you wish, as you don't have to drive afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaskan_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear A.R.,
it was so so nice to have you and your wife back to Villa Ducale after two years and it was wonderful to hear that you found our hotel even better than before. We have many reapeted guests , this is a big pride for me , we try to work hard for all of you and we love you all !
Please come back soon,
with my best regards
Rosaria Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We returned to the Villa Ducale after a great experience a few years ago. It was just as wonderful as we remembered. It is beautiful, the food and service is great, and we hope we can return again. The staff was fabulous, so pleasant and attentive. A special thanks to Santi, Alessi, Santne and Elie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear friends from Massachusets,
what a lovely surprise to meet you again after so many years.
We appreciated your praises and we thank you for coming back..
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosy Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A huge thank you to the staff of Villa Ducale during our recent trip, what an amazing place. The hospitatily was second to none and Rossaria even bought us tickets to the theatre which was the most beautiful setting, nothing was too much trouble. We had a suite in the annex next to jacuzzi and bathing area, the attention to detail was superb. Late afternoons were spent sipping Prosecco on the terrace overlooking Etna with complimentary snacks/desserts. Breakfast buffet is wonderful, never before have I wanted to linger for so long. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the annex which had superb views and a privte terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing