We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR SECOND VISIT - SIMPLY THE BEST PLACE WE KNOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“OUR SECOND VISIT - SIMPLY THE BEST PLACE WE KNOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent a week here in 2011 and could not wait to return. How do you improve on perfection? Well, Rosaria and her wonderful team had made some decorative changes to our room, all delightful, and we had a memorable stay again. The weather in the third week of May was superb and the magnificent views of the beautiful bay and Mount Etna are incomparable. Everything at this wonderful hotel is excellent, from the start to the finish of every day's stay.

We hired a car from Catania airport, and this gave us the freedom to travel to some of the beautiful sights of Sicily, including the ancient city of Syracuse and the incredible Greek temples at Agrigento, as well as being able to drive down to the town of Taormina whenever we wanted. However, for people who don't want to rent a car, the hotel provides convenient and frequent free shuttle service to and from Taormina, just a few minutes away by minibus. This is a very useful service especially in the evening as it allows you to have a few glasses of wine with dinner, if you wish, as you don't have to drive afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaskan_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear A.R.,
it was so so nice to have you and your wife back to Villa Ducale after two years and it was wonderful to hear that you found our hotel even better than before. We have many reapeted guests , this is a big pride for me , we try to work hard for all of you and we love you all !
Please come back soon,
with my best regards
Rosaria Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    139
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
217
1,191
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We returned to the Villa Ducale after a great experience a few years ago. It was just as wonderful as we remembered. It is beautiful, the food and service is great, and we hope we can return again. The staff was fabulous, so pleasant and attentive. A special thanks to Santi, Alessi, Santne and Elie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear friends from Massachusets,
what a lovely surprise to meet you again after so many years.
We appreciated your praises and we thank you for coming back..
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosy Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A huge thank you to the staff of Villa Ducale during our recent trip, what an amazing place. The hospitatily was second to none and Rossaria even bought us tickets to the theatre which was the most beautiful setting, nothing was too much trouble. We had a suite in the annex next to jacuzzi and bathing area, the attention to detail was superb. Late afternoons were spent sipping Prosecco on the terrace overlooking Etna with complimentary snacks/desserts. Breakfast buffet is wonderful, never before have I wanted to linger for so long. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the annex which had superb views and a privte terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked our stay at Villa Ducale because of the great reviews on tripadvisor , and everything they say is true ,it is a really amazing hotel. ( or our home for 8 days as we were asked to make it) Yes the breakfast is as super as everybody says as is the afternoon tea. The staff are just wonderful everyone of them ,what a very clever owner to employ such fantastic people ,they make such a difference .We can't wait to return to out Sicilian home !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is all about the service, attention to detail and the views. The rooms and bathrooms are not fantastic and there's no pool. However the staff are phenomenal; nothing is too much effort, they are extremely friendly and enjoyable to speak to. Loved the snacks from 4pm onwards which was an excellent touch. We would have happily sat on the terrace all day admiring the views. Other hotels could learn a great deal from Rosario and her team

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SevLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We're just leaving Villa Ducale for the second time and we're already booking for next year! I can't think of a better place to stay! It's a very welcoming place, it feels like you're part of the family. It doesn't feel like a hotel, it's relaxed and you could just spend the whole day there if you chose to. Everything from the breakfast to "tea time" to the apreritivo at 6pm makes you want to just sit by the terrace and enjoy the breathtaking view. I couldn't recommend Villa Ducale enough, we fell in love with it...
Sébastien and Michael

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastien-Giusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Villa Ducale for another stay and we are always surprised by the many changes they have made to improve the service, the ambiance and the food. The staff and the owner Rosaria take care of every detail. They make your trip a very special memory. The views are the best in all of Italy. The breakfasts are out of this world and the evening cocktails and dinner from the veranda are very romantic. We will return again to this secret hideaway in Taormina!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
San Domenico Palace Hotel
#11 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing