We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

There's a reason why this hotel is rated #1 in Taormina. Actually, there are several reasons. First and foremost, the staff. Every single person seems to be dedicated to ensuring that you have the best possible stay in Taormina. Paolo and Santi and all the employees of the hotel are wonderful. Second, the location. High above the town, looking down on terraces and up at the peak of Mt. Etna from the dining room. Third, the thoughtful conveniences like a free shuttle into town and the availability of dinner-to-order from the genuine Sicilian cook in the kitchen. Plus great breakfasts. Fourth, the connection with the #2 hotel in town, the excellent Villa Carlotta, where Rosaria is the gracious hostess. You can enjoy dining or swimming there, just a short walk from some of the most spectacular sights in town.

One caution. There are only sixteen rooms at the Villa Ducale, and many people come back there every year. So book well in advance. It will be one of the most romantic experiences of your life.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are on the small size, but chances are you won't spend much time there. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfmcd60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

They forgot our birthday cake but still an amazing place with kind service. They do their best but sometimes lacks professionalism. Rooms are perfect. Clean.
I would definitely come back. Breakfast is just perfect. Well located at the top of taormina.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noeldeburlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests from Brussels,
thank you so much for your very nice comment about your recent stay at Villa Ducale.
I am sorry that although you found our hotel to be an amazing place with kind service you mentioned that we forgot your birthday cake. After speaking to our staff they said you never ordered any birthday cake but simply asked in a very very busy evening if we could provide you instantly a candle; the candle did not arrive as at the moment we didn' t have any. Normally birthdays and anniversaries are our "core business" so if you had requested a cake you would have had ready on your table, for sure .I think it isn't true that we have lack of professionalism, however like any human being we are not perfect, so if you were disappointed in some way I apologize for that.
We are very happy to hear that you will come back, this time your cake will be right on the table, anniversary or not !
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci,the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the time we arrived which was quite late in the eveing, the hotel had laid on a wonderful meal for us consisting of cold meats and salads with several Sicilian Speciality dishes. The view was absolutely amazing Our rooms were just wonderful and our whole experience at the Villa Ducale could not have been more special. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adelaide23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Adelaide 23,
it was so nice to read your lovely review and thank you for staying with us from so far away such as Australia ! Thank you for your praises, as you noticed our staff is all focused on guests' satisfaction and life experience.
We would love to have you back one day in the future !!!!!
Kind regards from Rosaria Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I Stayed here quite sometime ago but completely forgot to add my review! The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble! A real gem in an amazing place. I stayed on my own whilst on business in the area. The breakfast area had a relaxed atmosphere but was every so tasty! I can see why they win so many awards!

Amazing views of Mount Etna!

Keep it up - i will be returning! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ducale for 12 nights in August 2012 for our Honeymoon. Initially we booked a Junior Suite, but were delighted to be upgraded to a Deluxe Suite with a view overlooking the Strait of Messina. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the very friendly and very helpful Antonio who guided us out to the hotel’s terrace. Even though it was dark, we could still make out the magnificent Mount Etna rising before us. We were given a complimentary glass of Prosecco each and we ordered a delicious meal from the menu (Lasagne for me, Tortellini for him). Finally, after a busy wedding week - we were in total relaxation mode! More excitement ensued when we saw our suite, decorated in traditional Sicilian style, with the aforementioned terrace overlooking the Strait of Messina, a complimentary bottle of Prosecco on ice, and a hot tub outside. The next morning we were even more stunned by the view from the main hotel terrace, we couldn't stop gazing out at the sublime smoking Etna over breakfast, I think we had to keep pinching ourselves to realize where we were. There aren’t enough superlatives to describe breakfast – so many mouth-watering choices...and make sure you try afternoon tea from 4-6pm at least once. Although Villa Ducale is a good bit from the beach this is not a problem whatsoever, the shuttle service is second to none. Make sure you book it though, we forgot a few times and had to get taxis - not cheap at 15 Euros a go. There's also a local bus service, but as we were on holiday time we kept missing it. Alternatively you can walk down the many steps from Via Madonna della Rocca to town. We did this a number of times, but only in the morning or evening so we didn’t collapse from heat exhaustion! Hotel shuttles go to town and to two of the beach clubs; they'll also bring you to Villa Carlotta if you want a dip in the pool. You can also get the Funivia from town to Mazzaro beach, and then walk a little bit over to the public beach at the aptly named Isola Bella. During our stay we did a couple of tours, one to the Aeolian Islands (we were lucky to see an eruption on Stromboli!), and one to Etna. We did the Etna-Alcantara off-road tour with Legendary Sicily. It was amazing - and Eddie our tour guide was fantastic, so knowledgeable and really sound (as we say in Ireland). The staff at Villa Ducale will help you with your itineraries and booking tours, they're a mine of information so make sure you chat to them about what you'd like to do. Right, what else? Oh, Castelmola - the beautiful, if somewhat precariously-perched village above Taormina. Walk up there if you can, it only takes about 20-30 minutes from Villa Ducale, and is so worth it for the panoramic views at the top. We ate at Villa Ducale on a few of the nights, and thought the food was delicious; we also ate at many of the lovely restaurants in Taormina (that's for other reviews!). Also, a little tip – there’s a lovely restaurant a couple of minutes walk from Villa Ducale, it’s called Al Saraceno, and it’s on Via Madonna della Rocca. We ate there on a couple of nights when we didn’t feel like heading into town, but we wanted a change from the hotel. It’s definitely worth a visit for both the food and the wonderful open air terrace overlooking – you guessed it – our favourite volcano! I want the last thing I say to be about the staff. I’ve found that in a lot of hotels staff can be either too aloof or too close for comfort. The Villa Ducale staff seem to have found the winning formula, and have got the balance just right. They are friendly, courteous, and helpful - all without being overly intrusive. We hope to be back for a future anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Serensues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the best boutique hotels I have stayed in. Booked hotel due to positive reviews, which were all true. Transfer from the airport to the hotel and back was booked directly as we didn't rent a car knowing that the hotel offers a shuttle service to the centre and back. We were made welcome from our first step in the hotel. Upon check in we sat down at a table enjoying great views of Taormina from the terrace; my wife and i were offered prosecco whilst my 3 yr old drank some juice as a welcome drink. The receptionist gave us all the information needed as she sat with us making us feel very comfortable and 'home'. All our luggage's were taken to our room upon arrival whilst we enjoyed our drink overlooking the view. The room that was allocated to us was great, not big but ideal, with 2 beds, en suite bathroom, a balcony and a terrace - views were amazing day and night. We decided to dine at the hotel on 2 or 3 occasions. Although they do not offer a wide range of dishes, what was offered was always fresh and well prepared, cooked in traditional ways - offering anything from salad, pasta, grills, seafood and fish. Breakfast was great, afternoon tea normal and the per dinner drinks and appetizers very well presented. All the staff were very polite and spoke English very well. Our daughter was made to feel like a small princess as she was greeted with everyone by her first name. Taormina is a great place to visit. We were there in October and the weather was nice and sunny. Although for us it was a short break we really enjoyed it and will be back....to the same hotel for sure.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Bradley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel Viall Ducale feels like you are staying at the villa of your good friends -the staff are all warm and welcoming, you are made to feel right at home with a welcoming glass of wine and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Sitting in the eating area there is the most spectacular view of Mount Etna and the town and ocean below. The food is delicious and they go out of their way to meet special dietary restrictions and requests. We didn't mind the walk up and down to town...it is about 600 steps, but it's easily done and feels good after all the eating you do in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
56.8 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 68 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
San Domenico Palace Hotel
#14 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#