We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brilliant location six star service and attitude!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant location six star service and attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed two nights should have stayed a week! A stunningly positive hotel experience taking accomodation to a new level. Superb staff treat us like family, welcome drink on the terrace and detailed professional information given on the hotel, area and Sicily in general. Traveled Italy for a month by car and the Hotel Villa Ducale tied for first place with the Excelsior in Florence! Exquisitly decorated, excellent breakfast and dinner, amazing rooms with views to die for!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite but they all looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gary642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    139
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
217
1,189
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great stay and a wonderful dinner at Villa Duclae. The views are unobstructed and will last forever. The room was quaint, cozy and well decorated for the region. Our dinner was excellant and again the view at night is worth the price of the dinner. We will return ASAP. Thanks to the staff especially Rosaria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Villa Ducale was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The rooms were well appointed and lovely to look at and the views from the room’s little terrace of Mt Etna and beyond were perfect.
Breakfast was a sumptuous feast served on the main level in a setting of great beauty. The staff were warm welcoming and very helpful. The shuttle to town was perfect. I'd return in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Welcomed by the friendly and very professional staff! Marvelous location high above Taormina with Etna in the background! Luxurious and tastefully decorated rooms, spotlessly clean!
Scrumptious breakfast and top service!

Room Tip: We had a room with a private terrace with beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose Villa Ducale after reading all the wonderful reviews it had on Trip Advisor. What we didn't expect was even more than that! The welcome we received on arrival was something we had never experienced before on our travels. It was simply wonderful. Also, they couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions of where to go and how to get there. The shuttle bus to town and back was a life saver! We walked down each time but walked back up only the once! Our excuse was we were there for a relaxing time!!! They arranged our day trip to Mount Etna for us so we had nothing to worry about. The different types of food were amazing. We loved the idea of offering sweet treats in the afternoon and then savoury treats before dinner. All home made of course! The view from our room was simply stunning and we spent many hours on our terrace just admiring it. We miss it very much. Thank you Villa Ducale! We will be back on Sicily in the not too distant future as we have found the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking both the bay and Mount Etna. As far as I am aware most of the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loubylou1646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When you are greeted on arrival with the phrase " welcome to our home" you know it is going to be special - and the Villa Ducale does not disappoint.
We booked a suite which looked out to sea with great views of the town and Mount Etna as well.
The facilities in the room were great and the hotel was just a perfect base.
Although the hotel doesn't advertise its restaurant they will cater for their residents for dinner - and if you plan in advance, they go shopping to the fish-market for something special.
The whole team there are friendly, helpful and very efficient - I really cant find much fault.
One of the best 4 night stays I can remember!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Graham W,
just a short note to thank you again for staying in "my home", happy to know you enjoyed it so much.
I and all Villa Ducale staff are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, owner of Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We just arrived back from spending 7 nights at Villa Ducale. It was far beyond our expectations. The service was great, the staff was more pleasant and helpful than we have experienced. Beautiful people always smiling. The food, well, I can't say enough about it other than it was perfectly prepared and the ambiance in the dining room with the panoramic view was amazing. The Villa Ducale was exceptionally clean, and in a perfect location. It has tremendous views and each room has a terrace that you could sit out on in private and enjoy the panoramic view with Mount Etna in the background. One could leave there feeling like royalty. Thanks to all of the staff, especially Paolo, Alissia and Antonio. What an introduction to Sicily and we would never miss the chance to visit this Villa again. Tom & Eileen from Canada

Room Tip: The higher the better, although the views are available at all levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank estrombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
San Domenico Palace Hotel
#11 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing