We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in Taormiona”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Villa Ducale was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The rooms were well appointed and lovely to look at and the views from the room’s little terrace of Mt Etna and beyond were perfect.
Breakfast was a sumptuous feast served on the main level in a setting of great beauty. The staff were warm welcoming and very helpful. The shuttle to town was perfect. I'd return in a minute.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,051)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Ducale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Welcomed by the friendly and very professional staff! Marvelous location high above Taormina with Etna in the background! Luxurious and tastefully decorated rooms, spotlessly clean!
Scrumptious breakfast and top service!

Room Tip: We had a room with a private terrace with beautiful views!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose Villa Ducale after reading all the wonderful reviews it had on Trip Advisor. What we didn't expect was even more than that! The welcome we received on arrival was something we had never experienced before on our travels. It was simply wonderful. Also, they couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions of where to go and how to get there. The shuttle bus to town and back was a life saver! We walked down each time but walked back up only the once! Our excuse was we were there for a relaxing time!!! They arranged our day trip to Mount Etna for us so we had nothing to worry about. The different types of food were amazing. We loved the idea of offering sweet treats in the afternoon and then savoury treats before dinner. All home made of course! The view from our room was simply stunning and we spent many hours on our terrace just admiring it. We miss it very much. Thank you Villa Ducale! We will be back on Sicily in the not too distant future as we have found the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking both the bay and Mount Etna. As far as I am aware most of the rooms have...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WhiteLionAmbleside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

When you are greeted on arrival with the phrase " welcome to our home" you know it is going to be special - and the Villa Ducale does not disappoint.
We booked a suite which looked out to sea with great views of the town and Mount Etna as well.
The facilities in the room were great and the hotel was just a perfect base.
Although the hotel doesn't advertise its restaurant they will cater for their residents for dinner - and if you plan in advance, they go shopping to the fish-market for something special.
The whole team there are friendly, helpful and very efficient - I really cant find much fault.
One of the best 4 night stays I can remember!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Graham W,
just a short note to thank you again for staying in "my home", happy to know you enjoyed it so much.
I and all Villa Ducale staff are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, owner of Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We just arrived back from spending 7 nights at Villa Ducale. It was far beyond our expectations. The service was great, the staff was more pleasant and helpful than we have experienced. Beautiful people always smiling. The food, well, I can't say enough about it other than it was perfectly prepared and the ambiance in the dining room with the panoramic view was amazing. The Villa Ducale was exceptionally clean, and in a perfect location. It has tremendous views and each room has a terrace that you could sit out on in private and enjoy the panoramic view with Mount Etna in the background. One could leave there feeling like royalty. Thanks to all of the staff, especially Paolo, Alissia and Antonio. What an introduction to Sicily and we would never miss the chance to visit this Villa again. Tom & Eileen from Canada

Room Tip: The higher the better, although the views are available at all levels.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank estrombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our stay at the Villa Ducale was a wonderful experience. The location high on the hill offers the most fantastic view of Taormina and Etna. For the fleet at foot and athletic minded there are the stairs leading to the city centre, but if one rather takes it easy the hotel offers a shuttle service for comfortable transportation. Our room was very comfortable and nicely appointed with its own small terrace and there is off-street parking available for a reasonable fee. However what we enjoyed most of all was the cordial welcome, the personal introduction to the hotel and the city by the management and the generous offerings of snaks and drinks - one feels really appreciated. The breakfast was very special with original local dishes offered together with more traditional offerings for the timid. All in all a truly wonderful experience and the ONLY regret we have is that we stayed only for one night! We certainly will recommend this wonderful hotel to our relatives and friends.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Klaus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

So often when you visit a place or an hotel for the second time, having enjoyed the first so much, it is a disappointment. However, this was not the case when we visited Villa Ducale for the second time in October. There is nothing to add to our previous review except to say that perhaps perfection had been improved upon.

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday and we would love to visit for a third time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $195 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing