We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Great Location”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel with lovely grounds just a few yards from the main part of Taormina. The view from the roof top terrace at breakfast is just stunning. The staff were also great, very friendly and helpful at all times. The breakfasts are really superb with a wide choice and freshly squeezed orange jiuce every morning - beautifully prepared, presented and served. The hotel is on the edge of town, just off the main road, so very easy to find, if you are driving. Another bonus.

Just a couple of words of caution - this was one of the most expensive hotels that we've ever stayed in. We were informed of a Euros 25 per night fee for car parking upon arrival - not a very nice welcome and made to sign a document saying we accepted this unexpected fee. Not very classy.

The room we had was in a separate building at the back of the hotel up two very steep flights of steps. These would cause some difficulty to people with walking difficulties or mobility issues. An expensive room for no view and no balcony. And we had an English couple with two children just across the corridor letting them use the hotel room as a thumping adventure playground. This did not enhance our experience. And does not fit with the hotel's desire to offer the upmarket experience.

A really beautiful hotel, very well run with lovely staff in a super location. Just check what kind of room you will get for your money to avoid disappointment. Don't be put off by this review - perhaps too upmarket for us?

Room Tip: Please check what room you are offered - is it in the main building, does it have a view or a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreelancerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 420 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely and beautiful. Our room is one of the suites in the main house with a large deck overlooking the grounds with pool and the sea. We are here at off season so the value is extremely good and we prepaid and received a 30% discount. The vibe of the hotel is fantastic. Newly renovated, it the perfect place for us to unwind and relax from a very busy lifestyle. My husband and I are loving the mornings to sleep in since breakfast goes until 11am. The rooftop where it is served is just gorgeous and we are so close to the village that it is just the perfect first time holiday to Sicily.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AnisaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great infinity pool , elegant , great architecture , splendide landscape , well maintained
Nice service
Great rooms and balconies
Stay here , enjoy evenings drinks but for an Italian experience eat some where else
Not a family friendly hotel , for couples only

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hautemelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Loved it here so relaxing. The room was spacious and clean, no sea view but our own small patio. The view from the roof were we had breakfast were breathtaking. The staff were helpfull and friendly. With the lovely pool I could have stayed in the hotel all the time. My only thought would be that if the hotel was full the pool would be very small and not a place for children.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The pool and bar/restaurant facilities were faultless! The views from the breakfast room are just breathtaking and very peaceful! There's a tranquil and overall very relaxing feel to the whole hotel, a lovely pool and terrace area with again just stunning views. If I had to be picky the pool is a little on the small side, but the hotel doesn't seem to hold many so it all feels quite intimate. A very romantic hideaway right in the centre of quite a popular touristic packed town, a fantastic location means you're able to walk everywhere.

The downsides were the price of the mini bar and snacks, 6 euros for a packet of crisps! As I mentioned the pool is a lot smaller than I imagined, so more than 5 people it seems cosy but the views more than make up for it! Rooms are quite compact but as ours had a terrace with seating which we made use of lots it tends to feel bigger. Rooms on the end next to the road (where we were) can be noisy but I thought the sound proofing was good.......but then I did sleep with earplugs in as the morning traffic can be a bit much. On the how thoroughly luxurious and would most definitely return!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a terrace, makes the room feel bigger having the outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Because this hotel is small, it offers its guests that little bit extra. The rooms/suites are located in the main building and two separate wings. The room we occupied had a small garden patio which was very secluded and quiet. Although it is only a few minutes away from the bustling town of Taormina it felt like you were well outside the town. The breakfast is served on the roof terrace. The choices are exceptional. The chef would bring a freshly baked cake out in the morning to offer the guests a piece from his special creation of the day. This was a very nice touch for all concerned. The views from the infinity pool are exceptional. The George restaurant is situated on the terrace which provides excellent evening meals. All of the staff are very pleasant and helpful and nothing seems to much trouble for them. They are attentive but not intrusive which is very refreshing for this type of boutique hotel. If I was to criticize this hotel it would be on the lack of attention in some aspects of the house keeping. Our shower light was not working and reported but it never received any attention. Also we had to ask for toiletries on a number of occasions as they appeared to be rationed not what I would expect from a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muchtyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely Hotel with old world style, fantastic rooms, very friendly staff. Breakfast served on the roof with views over the bay. Sun terrace & infinity pool with a pool bar, relaxing. Just a short walk to main town with plenty of bars & restaurants

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#39 of 87 in Taormina
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.4 mi away
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $591 - $1,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing