We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved the Ashbee! There is nothing more breathtaking than their infinity pool overlooking the Taormina cliffs and beach. A sublime and decadent experience. The service was impeccable and the room comfortable and beautiful (one small complaint is that the luxurious shower allowed water to get everywhere...but they always cleaned it up). The location right near the entrance to the old town can't be beat. You're also steps away from the funicular down to the beach. This was a splurge for us and we are so happy we treated ourselves. Everything in Taormina is on the pricey side anyway, so why not treat yourself to this gem of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bitten2bits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for The Ashbee Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 414 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

A pleasant stay that could have been better, on arrival we were told of the St George Restaurant but were not told until we went to eat there that it was closed during our stay, we were told of Roof Top Terrace bar but again when we wanted to go there it was closed for refurbishment, maybe not such big issues as there are lots of restaurants and bars in Taormina but would have been better to be told beforehand.
The rooms (Superior) are small, nicely furnished but very small and not clearly shown on their website (maybe the reason why they are not shown).
I understand that it is out of their control that there was a water problem on the last day of our stay but none the less to wake up with no water at all in the bathroom was not pleasant and did not get fixed by the time we checked out at 11 am.
The pool is nice though small but difficult to stay long due to mosquitos (some mosquito coils strategically placed would have been good)
For the rest the Hotel is nice, nice location and good quality without doubt....maybe we were unlucky.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Ashbee is the perfect hotel for a relaxing break, in a beautiful setting. I swam every day in the infinity pool and felt as if I was in paradise. It was quiet and the staff were very welcoming without being intrusive, they made you feel as if you were the only guests in a private villa.

The only disappointment, like previous guests, were the lack of bathrobes in the classic room but they were supplied on request and also the lack of drawers or baskets in the units to keep our clothes in.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and dinner was excellent, although the restaurant was only open twice for dinner when we were there!

We will definitely return again this hotel was perfect for reviving our spirits.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esherbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ashbee, Taormina for 3 nights for a wedding and it was delightful:
1.Courteous and accomodating staff, namely Danilo
2.Beautifully decorated and welcomed with a cool refreshing drink after terrible flight and tiring journey
3.The room was stunning, perfectly decorated and clean with cute details
4.The garden/pool area where we had breakfast had the most breathtaking view and overall the ambience was relaxed
5.I will definitely be staying here again - perfect for a nice romantic long weekend away

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a weeks stay at the Ashbee at the end of September , lovely hotel with stunning views from the immaculate gardens and pool area. It has a great position being only a short walk to the Main Street ( corso umberto ), which runs the length of Taormina and is full of shops and restaurants. It is also less than 10 mins to the cable car which takes you down to the beaches below.
We stayed in a classic room which was of a good size with a lovely modern bathroom and a small balcony. Had a few niggles as there is no drawers to store clothes in and only 6 hangers, though more were given when we asked. Bathrobes were said to be in all the rooms on the website and from the BA website who we booked through but were not present, my wife asked and was told they are not standard in classic rooms but gave her one anyway. strangely you do get slippers as standard.Wifi in the room and also around the hotel was quite poor. I also think complimentary water in room would be nice. We also had problems with Mosquitos but this was probably due to the time of year.
The public ares are beautiful and we took breakfast on the lovely terrace each morning. The choice was good with great fresh orange juice and coffee. Had dinner once which was good though quite expensive but lacked atmosphere as we were the only people eating.
The staff are all a credit to the hotel and were friendly and helpful always.
Taormina has an abundance of great restaurants, particularly liked Osteria Nero D'Avola, La Tavernetta and Daiquiri Lounge for great cocktails overlooking the Duomo. Make sure you enjoy a Cannoli with your coffee they are a delight.
Will definitely return one day and The Ashbee will be my choice to stay and will recommend to anyone in an instant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beardsmore-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Ashbee has a great location adjacent Taormina centre. The understated facade hides a lovely, quiet, small hotel, perfect for a short getaway. You will enjoy:

High quality rooms, decor and external areas
Friendly staff
Quiet pool area with stunning coastal view
Great location for access to Taormina
On site parking

We were disappointed by:

No apparent restaurant on site - do not book dinner. Service was slow and orders were wrong. I think they might get the food from a nearby restaurant? There are a multitude of better options off site.
Lunch is basic and disappointing
Air conditioning not quite up to the job
Service at poolside is intermittent
Quite expensive

Overall, if you want a classy, quiet hotel, this fits the bill well. If you want lots of facilities from a larger resort, this will seem insufficient. It does the basics well, if not perfectly.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. Our "suite" overlooked the parking area. Disappointing after you have opte...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonandBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned from spending two wonderful days at the Ashbee Hotel with friends. Our suite was absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean. The staff particularly Irene and Danilo were so accommodating and helpful. Most of all, the setting and gardens are spectacular. We just wanted to sit forever by the infinity pool and admire the gorgeous sea views ! Yet, the delightful town of Taormina awaits you, and the location of the Ashbee is perfect for exploring the sights while being in a very quiet and private setting. The hotel is quite new and was once a private villa...hence its incredible grounds and stately buildings. We would most definitely recommend the Ashbee Hotel for anyone wanting a quiet and delightful respite while visiting the exquisite town of Taormina.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank MiniCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $562 - $1,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing