We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Fabulous location, exceptional staff, outstanding views, historic building, beautiful design and decor. We had the Painter's Suite which was perfection. Little quirks with the A/C and shower but everything else was flawless. Breakfast on the Terrace was sublime. Grazie to all: Irene, Natasha, Serena, Philippo del giorno and Philippo de la sera, Mauritzio, Valerio, Danilo. All made us feel welcome and special. We fell in love with Taormina, mostly because of The Ashbee.

Room Tip: Each one is different. Suites have the views!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for The Ashbee Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 414 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

We really liked staying here.

The hotel is very close to the center of Taormina with its sights, shops and restaurants..

We had a comfortable, convenient room. We could hear road noise when sitting on the terrace. The shower was peculiar and difficult to operate.

The breakfast was the best we had in Sicily, and was served on a terrace with a lovely view.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOPEFULLY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a wonderful stay. The hotel has everything going for it except the rooms. The chairs were uncomfortae and the shower was a little too open and water got into the main part of the bathroom. Otherwise this hotel was great. The view was the best. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Actually, some of the very best. The main part of the town is right up the hill so food and shopping are 3 minutes away. Check out the pasticceria D'Amore for the best pastries, friendly staff, and right pricing. The staff at the Ashbee directed me there.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deloresthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This beautiful recently refurbished Boutique hotel could not have been better. The rooms were large, beautiful and clean. The lobby was perfect as was the staff and the views from the lovely grounds to the beach below as well as the Straights of Messina and Calabria were breathtaking.
It was convenient to the center which was a five minute walk. The building was very secure. Breakfast was fresh juice everyday along with all sorts of cheeses abd pastries as well as off the menu items too. We all loved it. The staff were just so attentive. We had to leave at 4:30AM and there was the manger ready to help us with our bags and wanting to make coffe for us. We left remembering the wonderful smell of Jasmine that permeated the grounds which were covered with bloomimg flowers and lemon trees.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you're looking for the very best in a personalized boutique experience, check out the Ashbee.
It is a well established brand in Taormina, and there's a reason why: great location, top notch English speaking staff, clean rooms, impeccable landscaping, secure entry and exit, gorgeous views of the beach below, and an immaculate infinity pool.
I can't say enough positive things about the room we were staying: the artist room has creative original paintings and sculptures in a two floor, loft-like suite with the living space on the first floor and sleeping space on the second. A gorgeous dining area, well appointed living area, and tastefully arranged sleeping area with plenty of hanging space round out this great room.
Of note, my wife wants me to mention their hair blow dryer is amazing too.
Their breakfast is a down right shame, probably due to the lack of a bonafide kitchen-you can get an omelette, but
A small selection of jams, fruits, juices, and bread make for disappointing starts to the day (cappuccino's are great). But don't despair, you're so close to the heart of the city, you can walk in 5 minutes to nice breakfast choices (like Bam Bar for granite and brioche).
Note parking your car is €20 a day (absurd in my opinion given the room rates, especially since parking in downtown NYC is about $40!)
All in all, I wished I had stayed here my entire stay in Italy! Keep it up Ashbee!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shivaswrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ashbee and found ourselves saying over and over again how impressed we were. Which is why we've decided to write our first Trip Advisor review - we feel the Ashbee is deserving and want others to know about it.

We have traveled extensively throughout Europe and Italy in particular. The service at this hotel was outstanding. The staff, from the managers to the wait staff to the bellman, were warm, welcoming and willing to go above-and beyond to make every aspect of the stay enjoyable. Thank you to Irene and Valerio especially!

The room we stayed in was spectacular. It was the Suite Della Pittore and it was absolutely beautiful and luxurious. We've stayed at other "luxury" hotels in Italian resort areas before and this one was truly a 5-star by North American standards. The bathroom was gorgeous. Also, the bed was a true king sized bed, not two twins pushed together. And, for females who understand the importance of this, the hair dryer was salon-quality, something I've not seen before in Europe.

The breakfast each day was fantastic with freshly squeezed orange juice, baked goods and fresh eggs made to order. And the eggs were the best we've had in all of our European travels.

Other important items to note: the hotel is a few minutes walk to the main street in Toarmina; delicious restaurants are in walking distance; the property is covered in beautiful citrus trees - orange, grapefruit, lemons - and flowers including fragrant honeysuckle lining the driveway as you walk up to the gate; and the views of the sea beyond the beautiful pool area are stunning.

If you are thinking of staying here, as two highly particular travelers who care deeply about luxury, service and cleanliness, we can say we highly recommend the Ashbee Hotel - enjoy!



Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cttrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very nice hotel overall with excellent service.
Breakfast was excellent with very attentive staff.
The room and bathroom was very luxury and very nice.
Just a short walking distance to the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank INA12310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $558 - $1,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing