We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable new boutique hotel.”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Ashbee Hotel is a comfortable, new boutique hotel of considerable charm, character and promise. We stayed in a family suite for a week with an upstairs bedroom and bathroom for our son and downstairs room and main bathroom for us. Our room was near the road and was thus a little noisy but not intrusively so. The decor is lovely - no expense spared in sympathetic renovation of an historic building. The main hotel and facilities all look beautiful, the pool is great with an excellent bar man with a line in innovative cocktails. Service from the main reception was excellent, with reliable bookings, trips and recommendations.

What could be better... A restaurant would be great. They offer bar snacks and breakfast on the terrace but with such a great setting, evening food could be a real winner. Talking of breakfast, as people have said before, where's the fresh fruit juice? Nice Italian cakes though!

As mentioned, the rooms look beautiful though getting in and out of our enormous bath (like a huge soup bowl) would challenge the infirm!

We were surprised there were no hotel bath robes - all the towels were monickered so it wouldn't be a stretch to provide a few extras. Curious bathroom supplies too - bath foam but no shower gel. We had our own otherwise I'd have asked.

Overall, the hotel is work in progress but much better than many Italian 4*s and with a little development should easily gain a further star!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissNomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We spent seven glorious days here with our grown up children and couldn't praise it more highly. Perfect location, beautiful rooms, delightful, helpful staff and a wonderful view. This hotel is a gem. Thank you to all the staff for giving us an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blaiklocklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

we book this hotel following tripadvisor reviews. the hotel is beautiful decoreted, the room nice and the staff is very attentive. there´s a fantastic garden with a superb view of the sea and with a very small pool (maybe too small) but we had a very relaxing time. the very negative is the breakfast.............. average hotel breakfast with no fresh orange juice in sicily? and what about all the extra charge for the hot meal? too expensive all the extras!!! everything too expensive including bar and room service.......... we had to go out for aperitive and we paied 1/3 of the price at one of the best bar place in town! please think about....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Even after reading the glowing reviews on tripadvisor we were impressed by this hotel, everything from the reservation to the checkout was a model for many other 5 star places we stayed at. The staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient. The place was charming impressive and yet made you feel right at home from the moment you walked in the reception. The Montgomery suite was a marvel. The location on the edge of town center was exceptional and the garden and pool provided great views of the sea and beaches

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Panoramic, very comfortable, very attentive staff, great location. Should be 5*.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. Beautiful, new and stylish hotel. It misses a little restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Refsnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had a fabulous and restful 6 day break at this hotel. The staff were professional and very friendly and helpful, especially on reception. The rooms are very comfortable and restful and the location is stunning. Breakfast was very good ,with a good choice, however I wouldn't recommend ordering from the al a carte as it takes an exceptionaly long time and is not always as ordered. Also the restaurant is clearly understaffed in the morning and the one staff member "who is lovely" struggles to serve all guests in a timely fashion. However this said it is a small blip in an otherwise perfect holiday and we will definately be back! I Can't wait.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#30 of 87 in Taormina
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $441 - $1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing