We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel primarily for the terrific view we had of Mt. Etna (Thank you to the front desk for an Etna-facing room) and for the kindness of the staff and their service. In particular, the dining room staff and the ever-helpful "Mimo" the bartender made the stay special.

The hotel is located adjacent to a very pretty public garden and the walk up to busier streets of Taormina is not at all difficult. We found some terrific little restaurants nearby as well as a wine bar, Al Grappolo d'Uva, up the street. Although some wouldn't care for the location of the hotel, the views, the service and being slightly off the beaten path of cruise ship patrons made it a memorable place from which to enjoy Taormina.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mt. Etna facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    342
    155
    66
    42
See reviews for
132
454
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were supposed to have 4 rooms with a sea-view. We were given rooms that would have had a garden view, but the trees obstructed that view. We complained to the staff, who were so sweet and accommodating. They changed all of our rooms so we could have a sea-view. Unfortunately, 3 rooms were on the opposite side of Mt. Etna, but it didn't matter because our view was beautiful. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. The area rugs throughout the hotel should have been changed years ago. They were badly worn and many had huge stains on them. The Internet service was free, but we couldn't get anything to work in the bedrooms. The breakfast was just okay. The man who oversaw the restaurant wasn't a nice person at all. It was perfectly located with regard to shopping, restaurants, churches, etc.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with an unobstructed view of the sea and Mt. Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. We didn't get a room overlooking Etna, but facing onto a lovely shaded garden. The shower was one with a curtain, so made a bit of a puddle. The scrambled egg was cold only five minutes after the beginning of the breakfast, but that is the only complaint. The hotel is near the main shopping street. There is a bit of a one-way system to transfer you to the hotel, but the location is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A really good hotel, a little tired, but made up for by great views from the lounge and bar of Mount Etna and the coast. The room had a balcony, with table and chairs overlooking trees and the sea. The room was a little old, but not a problem. We were with others, and some of them were located in rooms with many steps en route, they needed a car to drive them there, which the hotel provided. The hotel is just a short walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We arrived two days in advance of our tour and spent four nights at the hotel. The views of Mt. Etna and the Sea from our balcony and and room were great. The adjacent public gardens and short walk to the theater and shopping areas were excellent. Rosario made extra calls for me and solved a problem. He and the rest of the staff were friendly, helpful and most accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a balcony and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
492 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel itself has definitely seen better days. Whilst the view from the balcony across to Mount Etna is jaw droppingly stunning the same cannot be said about the rooms.

Our room was on the ground floor and on returning the first evening we realised the door handle/lock had been interfered with. On closer inspection a screw from the top of the lock plate had been removed and the wood to the left of the door plate was damaged - someone had clearly tried to prise off the plate to gain entry into the room. We reported this to reception who did not seem particularly concerned but said the hotel handyman would fix it. Next day when we returned from a day trip we were surprised to see nothing had been done to rectify the loose plate. We again made reception aware who again said the hotel handyman would fix it. By departure still nothing had been done. Did not make us feel particularly safe when in the room nor leaving valuables in the room. Also the smoke alarm was without battery which I am sure must be against fire regulations.

Breakfast was quite meagre - hotel seems to focus on tour groups. There are definitely better hotels in town.

Room Tip: Room with balcony but pay attention to door locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was lovely and the staff attentive. The hotel needs a little tlc in places where things are missing from wall fixings and in general it needs a cosmetic uplift.

I was disappointed that there was only one tv channel in English - and that was a Chinese channel

Overall was a lovely stay and would return again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jbartlett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#32 of 88 in Taormina
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#19 of 88 in Taormina
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#24 of 88 in Taormina
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Property: Hotel Villa Diodoro
Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing