We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Vistas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while on a tour of Sicily. After the tour, we relocated to San Domenico Palace. We wished we would have stayed at Villa Diodoro. I am all for splurging once in a while, but the value and views and spaciousness of room at Diodoro was a pure pleasure. We found the room to be clean, service very friendly, beautiful pool, great breakfast, central location in Taormina, but most of all, we enjoyed the beautiful views from our terrace. We watched the sunsets and Mt Etna erupt every night. Pure Bliss !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaItalyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 987 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in October and left with very mixed feelings, but on balance if we were to visit Taormina again we wouldn't stay here again, although the hotel is OK, it would need vast improvement.

Pros
Immaculately clean in the room
Room relatively good size
Views are spectacular
Some of the internal spaces are attractive
Staff helpful

Cons
Terrible staining on a lot of the carpets in the communal areas
No tea/coffee making facilities, when we asked if we could get one we were pointed to the bar downstairs which was a trestle table with alcoholic drinks and no one was ever there.
The room and bathroom was incredibly basic, we would expect that standard of a youth hostel. This includes the bed, which was undoubtedly the worst we had ever slept in, hard to the point of waking up with an aching neck every morning, not helped by the thinnest pillows possible and just a sheet as a cover.
The noise from other rooms and the corridor was a real issue, we could hear everything from the people around us and whenever people either left their rooms in the morning or returned late at night. This combined with the horrible bed made sleeping near impossible.

It's hard to see how this hotel ever scored 4*s, we've visited 32 countries and even in rural developing countries the standard had been higher. We would rate it a generous 2* (and if you are staying bring your ear plugs!)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GoldenFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What can we say, we have been travelling now in Europe and North America for two months, and would rank this hotel as one of our most enjoyable stays. And yes, we were delegates at the 350 person August conference referred to in other posts. So where to start? Best points; spacious rooms, great location in Taormina, balcony overlooking private garden, excellent breakfast (don't listen to complaints, we had tinned AND fresh Sicilian fruit on offer), friendly staff who speak good english and a magnificent pool. The only slight problem we had was loss of a garment by the laundry, but this was not the hotel's fault and they did compensate us for the loss. Otherwise, housekeeping was excellent; the staff hovered in the mornings to sort our room. Finally, our room was very quiet but this might not be so for those rooms overlooking the terrace.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank TimeBandit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hotel Diodoro offers a blend of sensations. On the one hand it provides large spaces, good size rooms with nice views, a great pool area. But on the other, it transmits to the traveller a sense of tiredness and carelessness. The staff are nice but could make that extra little effort. One amusing incident which occurred to me was over the ironing of a dress. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and as I unpacked my suitcase I realized that a dress, which I needed for a dinner appointment, required ironing. But, by their rules, you need to deliver any laundry in the morning. So I patiently waited until Sunday morning, but on Sunday there is no laundry service. So I patiently waited until Monday morning. Yes, I finally got it right! It was Monday, it was morning and I was going to get my dress ironed in time. I had to smile when they advised me that I would need to pay extra for the urgency. Would it not be more convenient to just provide guests with a iron and board? Yes, I know, there are regulations in Italy which Anglo-saxon travellers are unaccustomed to. However, what I have learnt is that Italy is a country of contradiction and, should you abide by the rules, you would never get anywhere. So isn’t it better to just do what all the other thousands of hotels in Italy are doing? Provide and iron and ironing board! Still, I was happy to be in Sicily, I enjoyed Taormina and think that the Hotel Diodoro is good value for the money you pay....but with plenty of room for improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alessandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Diodoro for 5 days at the end of September. We loved it. Yes, it is old but very elegantly furnished and immaculately clean. Our room was not huge but bathroom was spacious and updated. We had a small private terrace overlooking the sea and Mt. Etna. Definitely worth the reasonable cost for the upgrade for the terraced, sea view room if you can get one. Reception was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the bar area and on some of the nights before dinner they had a piano player which was enjoyable and relaxing. The pool is large and pool area is lovely. Be aware that there are many steps to get to the pool and I didn't notice a lift. I do agree that the man giving out the towels did not seem to be especially accommodating. Breakfast was elaborate by European standards and the service in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Easy walk to the center of town and adjacent to the English gardens which were beautiful. If you are looking for a hip, happening place, this isn't it but for old word charm and refinement with excellent service, it's perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a terraced, sea view room for small upgrade charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giovanna10028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was a great location to get into the main city of Taormina and also to get down to the beach. We had a room with a terrace and a view of Mt. Etna and the bay, it was gorgeous! The hotel staff was great, any questions we had they were extremely helpful and friendly. The room & bathroom were updated and clean. Pool had a great view as well.
They also offered a shuttle service to their sister hotels private beach which was nice. The beach was clean and there was plenty of chairs when it was crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EPolo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks in August having paid for a side/front sea view room with balcony. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was in the front of the hotel with wonderful views. As we were shown our room, the porter realised that a light wasn't working & that was quickly fixed. The room was clean and the bathroom good by Italian standards. We didn't have a bathmat & so thought that was normal, but on Wednesday one turned up & we had one everyday from then on. Breakfasts were disappointing. There is no hot food other than scrambled egg & bacon, & there is no toaster. I was looking forward to fresh fruit but only tinned peaches & pears were available. We noticed that some of the tables (the ones with the best views) seemed to be reserved & we asked if we could do this. It transpires that you can if you are on half board for 2 weeks, and although we then tried to do this, it was a bit hit & miss. The biggest disappointment of all is that not once were we offered the chance to have breakfast outside, & given the location, this is a huge shame. We found out that the hotel was holding a conference for 5 days for 350 delegates, although we hadn't been forewarned about this, neither did the hotel staff mention it. I totally agree with the feelings expressed by David C and would just add that on the Saturday night, following a flurry of activity, we were aware that the delegates were dining on a roof terrace, beautifully lit with floodlights and laid up as if for a wedding. Why is this facility not offered to the guests??. We did spend a lot of time at the pool which is lovely, and at which Pietro the barman was a star. Lovely lunches and coffee, nothing too much trouble for him. The facilities for the pool were underground & we felt could have been cleaner as we had to ask for soap & towels more than once. We did take the bus to the beach which is 4 Euros each, but decided we preferred the pool. The hotel is right next to gardens which are open to the public & which are beautifully kept. We walked through each day to get to the town which has the most stunning views and is full of atmosphere. Overall, we enjoyed our stay & loved Taormina, but having paid a lot of money for our 2 weeks, came away feeling that the hotel could have been better.

Room Tip: Go for the 4th floor. We were on the second & immediately above the outside terrace so could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#17 of 87 in Taormina
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#7 of 87 in Taormina
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#66 of 87 in Taormina
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#30 of 87 in Taormina
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $96 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing