We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful property in a beautiful city. Loved the location, breathtaking views of the coast and Mt.Etna from our balcony.Very clean room. staff was very friendly and helpful. They arranged all our tours. We had very early departure, 4 am to be exact, our boxed breakfast was waiting for us at the front desk. Loved it.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony facing the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    348
    156
    66
    42
See reviews for
135
456
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I loved this hotel!!! The location is perfect if you don't have a car which we didn't. 10 minutes to the town centre and the beautiful panoramic views that were breathtaking. The hotel staff were freindly and the rooms were spacious and clean. I would definately return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I Loved this hotel...gorgeous decor, super clean, and the most beautiful views, of Giardini Nexos. Perched high above the cliffs of Taormina and in walking distance to the main Piazza.. Staff friendly, tough I did have some problems, connecting to WiFi... But then I connected. I will return to this Romatic hotel soon! :)

Room Tip: book it! It wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The only thing that we might consider negative about the Hotel Diodoro was the heck of a time we had trying to find it by car. The streets in Taormina are virtually unnavigable – even with my GPS. But with the assistance of some helpful Sicilians, we finally got there. Once we actually located Hotel Diodoro, we loved it. The hotel is perched high above the Ionian Sea a short way down the side of the cliff. We had to walk down from the street through a beautiful garden to get to the hotel’s entrance. We were able to park our car on the hotel’s grounds near the street and had no trouble navigating Taormina on foot after that.

We had booked an ocean-view room and are certainly glad we did. The view from our third-floor room was fantastic and well-worth the extra few dollars. Our room faced the Ionian Sea; we had a balcony with two chairs and a great view toward the sea past the hotel’s patio and more beautiful gardens. Snow-capped Mt. Etna was easily visible to the right.

The only time we went to the restaurant in the hotel was for breakfast, and breakfast was great. Not to suggest that the hotel’s restaurant menu wasn’t anything less that excellent, but there are too many fabulous, well-known restaurants a short walk away in Taormina not to go out for dinner. After all, hotels, by their very nature, are not restaurants, nor should we expect them to be. They can’t hope to compete with the vast variety of menus beyond their front doors.

Hotel Diodoro was a great hotel – clean, spacious rooms, and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean-view are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our inbound flight to Gatwick was suddenly changed without warning whilst we were staying at the hotel. The staff at Hotel Villa Diodoro did everything possible to secure a transfer to Palermo Airport for us at a reasonable cost. We Thank all the staff at The Hotel Villa Diodoro for their friendly and professional manner, their help and support.

Room Tip: Do Not choose Citalia if you require help and support when a problem occurs. They leave you to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Sbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

As per the previous writer we had completed a tour of Sicily the week before. Unfortunately our experience was the opposite.Our tour also ending at Taormina and we stayed 2 nights at Hotel Villa Diodore, as part of the tour. I believe it is the luck of the draw with the success of a room with view being offered to guests as part of a package tour.Our bedroom was in a dark corner of the building with no outlook. From our bedroom balcony, we looked right into the bedroom of the unit next door of Villa Diodore

The room also had a bathroom whereby the shower leaked water throughout the bathroom.Reported to reception and we we provided additional towels for the floor, but no repair occurred during our stay.

In the restaurant both ourselves and the other tour guests at our table, found the service (both nights) at a low standard. The waiters showed a lack of interest in particular to various guests needs. One elderly gentleman requested a soya coffee and was brought boiling hot milk instead. My wife was brought the wrong meal and the waiter showed a lack of interest in his mistake.Another guest was not provided a entree.The focus appeared both nights only on the tour guide table. As one our our American travelers advised and we agree with her comment " The focus is to ensure that the tour Guide is looked after at all costs."

Buffet breakfast was average at best - compared to other hotels we have stayed at over the past 30 years.

With respect to the property overall cleanness, they where excellent.

I personally from my experience can not support a high rating on this hotel based on the poor bedroom provided to us and the standard of restaurant service.

Suggestion to other future traveler's obtain clear understanding of the bedroom being provided for the price being charged.

After staying a further week at another hotel at Taormina after this tour, the deficiencies of Hotel Villa Diodore where highlighted further to us.

Room Tip: Always check with hotel with room being offered at the price being paid. Secondly establish if the Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giovanni6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! The view was unbelievable of Mt Etna right from our room! We loved Taormina and this hotel was fantastic. Thie hotel has a 25 meter pool as well for those that want to swim laps. We were on a tour of Sicily and this was the last (of 3) that we stayed at. This made our trip to Sicily memorable.

Room Tip: It's hard to get a bad room at this hotel. I don't think you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollebcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#32 of 87 in Taormina
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#19 of 87 in Taormina
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#26 of 87 in Taormina
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Property: Hotel Villa Diodoro
Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing