We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Easy walk into Taormina and to the Greco-Roman Amphitheatre, which is well worth a visit on its own. Plenty of shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars and all sorts of alleyways to explore. All built up the sides of the steep hills with tiny roads and a one way system that is challenging, making the finding of the Hotel a bit difficult initially. it seems that signs in Sicily start out fine but then vanish, never to be seen again! Take the Hop-on,hop-off bus initially to orient yourselves as the start point is less than 200 metres from the Hotel plus it is a spectacular trip.
Staying in Taormina is to be recommended as the large number of cruise passengers and bus trippers mean that mid-day the place is heaving and parking non-existent. Morning is the best time to see the Amphitheatre too, without huge crowds. Time then to return to the Hotel pool which is on the edge of a cliff affording terrific views of the coastline - had good snacks and drinks too.
Diadoro is an older hotel but has fantastic views of both Mt Etna and also the coastline .It serves excellent breakfasts. Dinners are not cheap but there are many restaurants of every type within a short walk. The rooms are large and well equipped - all are clean of course.
Wi-Fi is charged for here, which I find incredible in this day and age especially with many free internet cafes around. In future, one of our criteria will be whether the property has free internet access or not.

Room Tip: Mount Etna view rooms are best.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Diodoro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 942 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for 14 nights in room 410 booked through a tour operator. We upgraded to a superior room with sea view balcony. Our room had a beautiful view over the gardens to the sea but was not on the Mt Etna side of the hotel. Although at first a little disappointed not to have that view, we were still pleased with our balcony as we got the early morning sun and by afternoon the balcony was a welcome retreat from the heat as the sun moved over to the other side of the hotel. There are plenty of opportunities to enjoy the view from the pool terrace, bar and restaurant. Bedroom was a good size with bath, shower and bidet, spotlessly clean and towels changed daily, though sometimes short of bathmat. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a must for a longer stay.
We stayed on a half board basis, breakfast was buffet style and offered plenty of choice as described in other reviews. Although staying for 14 nights, we found plenty of variety and choice during in our stay from the dinner menu both table d'hote(included) and a la carte. Meals were excellent and always served hot. The service in the restaurant was of an extremely high standard and staff always friendly and welcoming. Special mention and thanks to Angela and Tony, who work so hard to ensure guests have a good dining experience. (Grazie Angela e Tony)
Also being very patient with our Italian!
Could not fault the staff throughout the hotel, reception were also very helpful, they will arrange excursions, packed breakfasts etc.
Would certainly recommend this hotel, though in view of the location and number of steps down to the pool, some guests with mobility issues may find it difficult. However this is the case with most of the hotels in this location and in fact the resort of Taormina is hilly with plenty of steps although it has a gondola lift down to the coast.
A charming hotel in Taormina, which was an excellent base for a first holiday in Sicily.

Room Tip: Mention if you want a sea view of Mt Etna as there are two sides to the hotel with sea views. Suite...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a fantasitc holiday at the Villa Diodoro. Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful saff. Stayed on B&B basis. Breakfast was great, all the choices you could want and super friendly service from Angela who never seemed to have a day off! Lovely pool area with fabulous views of the bay and Etna.
Taormina is a lovely little town that comes alive at night. Lots of restaurants and bars and a greek amphitheatre, all a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. It's an expensive place to stay but well worth it! Nearly booked hotel in Giardini Naxos. So glad we didn't, it's very scruffy compared with Taormina!
Nothing much to critisice about the hotel. Maybe tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be nice.On check out day we had an evening flight but no courtesy room was available for freshening up, only the pool facilities which were down lots of steps and no hair drying facility! Never encountered this problem before even on a cheap package holiday to Greece!!

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea view preferably on a high floor. Corner suite even better!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank babeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

EVERYBODY had a nice view except two couples on our tour. No excuse. After threatening bad reviews on trip advisor, we did get a view room. 4 flights of stairs to walk, but who's complaining. Only right to have a view for the high price!!!!!! Nice breakfast, beautiful views and pool. Expensive wifi, when the smaller places have free wifi.

Room Tip: Don't accept a crappy room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a very large Jr. suite in early Oct.
Breakfast was 5 star with lots of choices including fresh fruit, cold cuts, breads, cereals, yogurt and cakes.The only thing missing is a restaurant terrace to eat outside and enjoy the lovely views
Dinner was 3 star and non memorable.
The room was very large corner suite with 2 balconies facing south and west with unforgettable views of Mt. Etna. Separate shower and tub. safe and mini bar. Very effective AC. Could not get the English TV stations to work.
Internet was 10 Euro/day.
If you get a room that does not have the best view, no need to worry as the view from the pool terrace is amazing. The pool was very nice and clean. Anybody with a mobility problem will not be able to get to the pool as it involves many steps to get to.The hotel gardens were lovely.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from reception, dining room and cleaning.
The hotel is located next to the lovely public gardens and 8 min walk to Corso Umberto the pedestrian shopping street. Lots of lovely outdoor terraced restaurants are within 5-10min walk. The Greek Amphitheater (a must) is 10min walk.
This was the end of our Sicily tour and the highlight of the trip. It is 50-60min drive to Catania airport.

Room Tip: Worth paying more for a Mt. Etna facing room. Skip dinner at the hotel and stroll towards Corso Umbe...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZingerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is ideally located, in a quiet position, beside the beautiful public gardens but close to the main shopping street. Our south- west facing room was on one of the top floors with spectacular views of the Naxos Bay and Etna, especially at sunset. Standards were first class as regards cleanliness, food and other amenities; the swimming pool and surrounding garden were especially beautiful. Public areas were tasteifully furnished and the staff were all very friendly.We were particularly well looked after in the restaurant by Giuseppe and Angela. We felt that our stay was very good value for money and we would certainly consider going back again.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room facing Etna and the Naxos Bay with numbers 325-328 or 425-428
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thobur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is one of the loveliest we have stayed in, September 2012. The views of Etna and the whole bay were fabulous. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view of the garden and the sea from the balcony. The food was good too with a good choice and the waiters, especially Toni and Angela were good fun and very attentive. Buffet breakfast had everything you could wish for and when we had a long trip starting at 6.30 we were given a boxed breakfast, enough to feed an army. Would go back at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300 range are good and the half garden and half sea views offer good value for money an...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#23 of 87 in Taormina
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#27 of 87 in Taormina
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taormina
Hotel Villa Taormina
#16 of 87 in Taormina
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $147 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing