We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Villa Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Nettuno
Ranked #65 of 115 Taormina B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very well located close to the main door of the old town (Messina Porta), on the eastern side of the cliff, the Villa does not look at Etna but dominates the seashore (lido Spizone up tp Letojanni). A bus stop is just in front of the Villa and the cable-car station for the Lido Mazzaro beach is also just in front. We had a car and used the parking which is down the road at 10mn walk from the Villa, using with the stairways of the cliffs (attention to the heavy traffic when crossing the main climbing road!). The must of this house is its location and moreover its lovely garden, a sort of jungle suspended over the sea with miscellaneous trees and flowers, and occupied by several cats having their eyes on the numerous birds settled in the place...at the upper level. If the rooms had the same charm, it would be perfect. Having breakfast every sunny morning on the terrace of this garden was a supreme pleasure. If the breakfast itself had the same flavour, it would be perfect. The Toarmina is such a touristic site that the crowd is high as well as prices therefore here is my advice: try to walk out of the beaten tracks. For instance to visit the Grecco theater, just use the hidden path which starts from the Villa and twist to the other side of the western side of the cliff.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the garden side with a view on the nice garden and the Taormina nothern seash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 328Yves14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
46
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We went for a couple of nights, had difficulty finding the Hotel in the dark, managed to leave the car outside the hotel until the next morning. Super position, convenient for sightseeing and shops, really convenient getting to the beach, as the weather was gorgeous. Parked the car in a safe car park near the hotel. Lovely staff. Beautiful garden for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

So I have done the fancy thing in Taormina. And my previous review says don't bother with Taormina...stay in Isola Bella. Well... I stay true to that...however if you are going to do the romantic, "I want the view", and the village experience than get yourself here. It's a walk back in time when all things that made Sicily charming to those who paved the tourist way....have remained the same.
Besides a friendly, beautiful, family who run, and have owned this villa for more than 200 years..the villa itself is gorgeous, with timeless character. The view is to die for, and what you won't get in your basic room, ( and please note, amenity wise, this villa is basic) like a fridge, aircon, and a bath maybe...you will forget about when you enjoy a glass of wine on one of the many shared terraces, and the stunning garden. You will be smirking when you show your friends where you stayed and what you payed. I still am, and think I was so lucky to have stayed here.

It's a very inexpensive way to get the full pleasure of Taormina, the views, the coastline...the bustle of the city life, and the charm of a true Italian villa.

Antonio and his family could turn his into a 5 star hotel if they wanted to, but they won't and there is no need, because really, this is all you need to feel like a local and experience the Taormina everyone loves and have some money to pay for that deck chair on that pebbly beach.

Room Tip: Even if you don't get a room with a view, you can hang out on the main balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved this hotel, such a beautiful house with lots of character and the location could not be better. Stunning panoramic views from our room. You could see the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. The breakfast was served in the most wonderful garden. We could not ask for more.

Room Tip: Our room had an amazing view but I think all the rooms have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajesporelmundo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Friendly family run hotel with panoramic sea-views from balcony at affordable prices inlcuding air-con. Lovely old-world feel of Sicily in times past in the large living room. Good quality wooden furniture in the rooms. Convenient for bus station, cable car to the beach and Taormina town centre. Wonderful garden for breakfast in the shade although that didn't include fruit, it was modestly priced at under 5euros. Enjoy the Nettuno garden fountain complete with sleeping kitten - ideal for short stay of up to a week.

Room Tip: small double room excellent value and access to big terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cor546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have stayed ay Villa Nettuno for 7 days and it was great.The room is basic furnished, but since we stayed in it only to sleep we didn't mind. The view was awesome we could see the sunrise from the balcony and a panoramic view of the beach and sea. Also the bathroom is modern and clean.
The villa has a beautiful garden were you can relax or serve breakfast which is full of flowers and different plants and even a little pound with fishes. Also from here you can see the beach and the sea. The living room is vintage style and absolutely lovely.
Regarding the location is just around the corner from the main street of Taormina where all the shops and restaurants are, 2 minutes from the cable car that goes to the beach and 5 minutes from the bus station.
The owners are really nice and helpful. When we arrived they explained everything in detail: the main places to visit, the events that were taking place at the moment and they give us a map of the city. Also since I am a vegetarian they changed my breakfast with fresh fruits.
Yes there area few steps to the main entrance of the villa and we stayed at the 3rd floor (other steps) but since you will find these everywhere in the city, beach, everywhere...I don't think it is a problem (at least for the young).
The room was cleaned every day.
Overall if I were to come back to Taormina I would choose this place again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianamanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Two advantages of this hotel: The breakfast/sitting patio area is very charming, as well as the patio off our room. The hotel is located around the corner from the main shopping and historic mall. Thus walking to the attractions is short and on level terrain, whereas many other hotels are way down the hill or up the hill from the town center. We were lucky to be given the one parking space reserved for hotel clients.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#37 of 87 in Taormina
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#11 of 87 in Taormina
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Astoria
Villa Astoria
#2 of 115 in Taormina
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Cuseni B&B
Casa Cuseni B&B
#14 of 115 in Taormina
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nettuno

Property: Villa Nettuno
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 33, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Nettuno 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nettuno Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing