We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Victoria is situated in the middle of Corso Umberto, which is the main street through Taormina. Our room had a little balcony which overlooked the main street and my partner and I particularly liked the people-watching aspect of this room. The hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean and presentable. Spacious wardrobe, which also contained a safe. Bathroom has hairdryer, bidet and vast sink. The only downside was the size of the shower - quite small inside the cubicle. However, it was a power shower, which most certainly made up for the lack of space within.

Breakfast is continental and there is plenty of choice - boiled eggs, fresh fruit, bread, rolls, croissants, yoghurts, jams, honey, cold meats, cheese and fruit juice is served and plenty of coffee and tea.

The breakfast room is also spotlessly clean and nicely decorated and has a real homely feel to it.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

I would happily stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it. Good value for money too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter. However, earplugs should suffice if you are at the fron...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saltwatergypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 374 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel Victoria is situated right in the middle of Corso Umberto; the main street and hub of the beautiful town of Taormina. The room was great for the price, the staff were really friendly and although the breakfast was basic we only ate elsewhere when they stopped serving 5 minutes early. Like I said before: the room was great, it had a comfy bed, air-con, tv (with italian sky sports :), a safe, plenty of storage space and a fully equipped bathroom complete with hair dryer, toilet, huge sink and a small but very powerful shower. The best feature however was our little 2nd floor balcony overlooking Corso Umberto and it made staying at the hotel a really special experience. In the mornings we soaked up the sun and watched as the town came to life below us and, later on, when we came back from the beach or a day trip we played backgammon while the couples and families coolly sauntered into the shops, bars and restaurants in the evenings. People-watching in Taormina was a mesmeric form of entertainment in itself and there really is no better place to do it so make sure you request a balcony. The staff are always at reception 24 hours a day and they always know which room you're staying in; a nice personal touch but it also made us feel extra safe (not that Taormina felt shady in any way). If you can find the time, get talking to the staff as they're full of stories and by the looks of other reviews we weren't the only ones to be charmed. The only minor gripe we had was that the breakfast wasn't spectacular and it did close a little earlier than advertised on one occasion. That said, I always got a cappuccino within a minute and sometimes even before I sat down, the staff were really friendly and you were free to stuff your face with as much or as many croissants, cereal, cake, bread, nutella, jam, juice, boiled eggs, water or apricot tart as you liked. All in all we both loved it there and the price really was unbeatable for the location. It's only a couple of minutes to the cable car down to the beach and given the choice of being close to Corso Umberto and the 'top half' of the town or close to the beach in the 'bottom half' i'd choose the top half every time and there was no better location in that top half than Hotel Victoria's.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdb5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent little hotel right in the centre. Very helpful and friendly staff. Shops and restaurants on your doorstep but very quiet after shops close circa 10pm. Easy to walk and explore the area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob20042004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Victoria between 3rd May and 8th May.. Salvatore is very welcome and helpful he helped out with all we needed. The Hotel is situated on the Main Street and from our little balcony we could watch all whats goin on in the busy street . It was noisy but as soon as you shut the double glazed door you cannot hear nothing. It is very clean and tidy. Itwas very please to. us to stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing to the main are excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The 4 of us (mature women-3 sisters/a cousin)) stayed 5 nights in 2 rooms at Victoria Hotel and we all agreed it was the perfect location for us. Being on the "main street" Corso Umberto gave us immediate access to shopping, restaurants and we were right between the 2 main plazas: Porto Messina and Piazza IX Aprile...Our wonderful hosts, Salvatore Pardo and Davide were most helpful and treated us like old friends. All of the staff were friendly and helpful - very good breakfast choices each morning in the dining room also overlooking Corso Umberto. Decor was classical Sicilian, rooms /bathroom very clean and refreshed very day. Comfortable beds and extra pillows!! Service was superb and at such a great value, we will stay at Victoria Hotel on our next visit to Sicily for sure. Ask Salvatorea about his trip to Las Vegas. It's wonderful to stay in a place where you feel you've made friend with the owners. That's how we feel felt about Victoria Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by street noise (not cars, but people talking/singing!) you might want of the re...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dauphine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Victoria and absolutely loved it. Salvatore made us very welcome and helped out with anything we needed. The Hotel is situated on the Main Street and from our little balcony we could watch the goings on. It was noisy but as soon as you shut the double glazed windows you leave the pose behind. The breakfast room was nice and Josie looked after us well there. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't want any noise at all ask for a back room, but we didn't mind having the view w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazzaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I chose this place based on other Tripadvisor reviews and I wasn't disappointed. It is in a great location so you step out into the main shopping street. But after returning from a busy day and dinner, the strett and the room was surprisingly quiet.
The room was quite spacious and the cute Juliet balcony was great to stand on and watch people go by.
The staff were also very friendly and sweet- letting me practise my Italian with them :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amo-ltalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#13 of 87 in Taormina
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#22 of 87 in Taormina
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Corso Umberto 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $89 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing