We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position.”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Victoria and absolutely loved it. Salvatore made us very welcome and helped out with anything we needed. The Hotel is situated on the Main Street and from our little balcony we could watch the goings on. It was noisy but as soon as you shut the double glazed windows you leave the pose behind. The breakfast room was nice and Josie looked after us well there. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't want any noise at all ask for a back room, but we didn't mind having the view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazzaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 387 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I chose this place based on other Tripadvisor reviews and I wasn't disappointed. It is in a great location so you step out into the main shopping street. But after returning from a busy day and dinner, the strett and the room was surprisingly quiet.
The room was quite spacious and the cute Juliet balcony was great to stand on and watch people go by.
The staff were also very friendly and sweet- letting me practise my Italian with them :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amo-ltalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friend and I had two single rooms ( flat screen TV, full bathroom with shower and bidet ) which were charmingly decorated in an historic style with windows which looked out to the main pedestrian street of Corso Umberto. Only a 5 minute walk to the Greek Theatre and in the heart of Taormina. The staff were absolutely excellent and as we were driving from another area of Sicily they telephoned us a few times to make sure we were not lost ( as this is very easy to be when approaching Taormina) The hotel has historic significance as the oldest hotel in Taormina and has hosted many famous writers and artistis over the years since the 1800s ( including one Oscar Wilde ! ) The rooms and hallways have wonderful marble and stone work which are works of art in themselves.The breakfast included unlimited coffee, cappuccino and was buffet style. Wonderful place to stay in Taomina ! PS if you are arriving by car , parking is almost non existent and an absolute nightmare. We parked our car at the bottom in the cable car parking lot over night and then took the cable car up and down to Taormina with our luggage...best plan ! )

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Everything you need in a hotel - helpful staff, great location, clean, spacious, wi-fi, tv, fridge. The hotel has it's own character as well - with the beautifull furniture, foyers with books and TVs, a pleasant terrace. i do not understand why it has 2 stars. They should be 3.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desi_Coupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location on Corso Umberto is perfect...right in the center of the main drag. A bit tough to walk uphill from the bus station to the hotel. However the day we arrived, it was warm, sunny and the walk gave us a chance to check out a number of shops and restaurants, so with one rolling bag, it was fine. The interior decor is painted in traditional Sicilian colors. We had a room right by the breakfast room, which was very convenient. They had a lovely assortment of pastries, cheeses, juice, coffee and tea.
It also had a balcony overlooking the main street, and we were not bothered by any street noises. A plus--. It is just a few steps from the SAT office which books tours to the Aeolian Islands. Although there are many places that serve gelati along Corso Umberto, one located just beyond the main taxi station, on the same side of the street, serves a unique flavor--riccota gelati. Absolutely delicious! In addition, the Hotel Victoria staff was both courteous and very helpful. Cheers!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaf0am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights in Taormina and ended up staying five.

Great two star hotel - in Australia it would be the equivalent to a three star hotel. Big clean room with a comfortable bed, balcony, big and clean bathroom. Only drawback was the wifi connection (patchy at best) but with so many cafes offering free wifi around you, it's not too much of an issue.

The location is five star. Right in the heart of the main town. Close to absolutely everything. Excellent and friendly service.

Will definitely stay here again for the comfort, location and value should we return to beautiful Taormina!

Room Tip: We had room at the back of the property and although we didn't have a view of much, it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic_Goodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in Victoria Hotel for 4 nights. We do not regret it. Should we make another holiday in Taormina, surely we will be booking this Hotel. The Staff was really, welcoming, nice and helpful to all our queries. Our room had a window overlooking Corso Umberto. The room and bathroom very clean, we would say spotless. A/C in good working order. Lift available.

Carmen & Joseph Naudi
Malta

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOSEPH N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#15 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#26 of 87 in Taormina
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Corso Umberto 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $90 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing