We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Street rooms loud, basic service lacking”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Street rooms loud, basic service lacking”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel is well-located right on the main corso of beautiful Taormina. Room 28 faced the Corse and a shallow balcony--nice during waking hours, but too loud at night. Windows had to be closed tight to muffle the sound and this was too hot in May. Other than than the room was comfortable with cute decor and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet served in a bright cute room was very modest with sub-standard rolls and pastries. With all the delicious pastries and breads in Sicily why can't Victoria serve decent ones? Cheese was similar to Kraft singles and they even had a knock-off of Nutella. We stayed here two nights, the second of which was our last night in Sicily and we needed to print boarding passes for the flight home. The hotel wouldn't do this! In the many countries and hotels I've stayed in, I've never had this problem before. Printing boarding passes seems to be a basic service hotels need to provide, yet this one doesn't. Beware!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    118
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
191
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nice hotel in the heart of Taormina. Great value is the private parking (you absolutely need it . when traveling by car! If the hotel does not provide you shold have to trouble a lot). The hotel is in the main streat of Taormina, close to all the attractions. Rooms are clean and silent, people very lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo_ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilbury, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Loved the hotel and the location. Very quaint rooms, some with balcony, and all required amenities. The staff were very friendly, entertaining, and helpful providing information and going out of their way to assist with left luggage etc. The decor is very unique and well appointed. The lobby is very small but the breakfast room and large sitting areas on stair landings were handy for relaxing while surfing the net. Being right on the Corso in the centre of town, the hotel provides easy access to all that Taormina offers with every conceivable need within a short walk. The bus station is readily reached by foot in 20 minutes with connections anywhere on the island. By train the town is harder to reach. Although Giardini station is close, it is 1000 or so feet down on the coast. Buses with somewhat variable schedules or cabs can take you to or from it and town.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony on the Corso is great for people watching but a room in back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here during our recent trip to Sicily. The hotel is very centrally located in upper Taormina--right on the main street. The rooms are large and have lots of convenience you might not expect in a less expensive hotel--balcony, telephone, TV, modern bathroom--but no pool or fitness center for those that need these things. A lovely breakfast was included (the best cappuccino!). This whole area of Taormina is a pedestrian zone; so you must park in one of the parking lots or structures. While the hotel gives you a discount card (40%), it still runs you another 10 euros/day. The staff was very helpful and spoke some English. Good suggestions and always pleasant. Very good value in this pricey city. I would definitely stay there again. DW

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were only in Taormina for 1 night and having the hotel right on the main street made it really convenient. The staff was really helpful and even allowed us to hang out at the hotel on the second night until 10:30 since we were boarding an 11:30 train. The room was nice and spacious. With the main street below, it was a bit noisy at night.

The only complaint is the terrible WIFI connection. You couldn't be in your room and get reception. You had to go sit out in the hallway.

Overall, a nice place with pleasant staff in a beautiful city. For the price (lower than most everything in town), it was a great deal and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckkarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My girlfirend and I, together with another couple, travelled to Sicily for a short holiday. After a bit of research we decided to stay in Taormina and in the Victoria Hotel. I can state categorically that both of those were very good decisions.

The town is literally one of the most beautiful, rustic and authentically Italian towns you can imagine. Of course there are the usual tourist shops etc but a walk around the town presents a myriad of things to do and see. The views of the coast alone are spectacular.

The Victoria Hotel really helped to make or stay enjoyable. It is family run hotel but professionaly turned out. I would consider myself to have high (not expensive) standards and tastes. The hotel was immaculately clean and our room was clearly recently refurbished. The hotel presents itself as 2 stars but I would say that is mainly due to the fact that you're not getting the frilly ameneties of a 5 star e.g. spa, pool, michelin star restaurant etc. and certainly nothing to do with the standard that this hotel offers.

All in all the hotel is budget accommadation but of a very high calibre within that category. The guys who run it couldn't do enough for us, from restaurant recommendations, to booking taxis, to helping to organise excursions. We were even able to use the computer to check in online and print boarding passes.

Breakfast is included and it is typically continental - cereal, juice, breads, cheese, cold meats, eggs etc. The espresso in the morning is very good indeed. We went around Easter time and they had mini chocolate eggs on the breakfast tabel in the morning - small touches that I think mean a lot.

There is limited car parking but we emailed the hotel well in advance and they were happy to reserve a space for us.

If I was to return to Taormina (which I would love to do) I would definitely stay in Victoria Hotel.

Room Tip: We asked specifically for a double room as some are twin - the hotel was happy to cater for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maza1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Right in the middle of the main walking promenade, Corso Umberto, is this charming small hotel. After comparing pros and cons of this and other Taormina hotels, my daughter and I chose Victoria initially because in this expensive town, the price was right. We will choose it again our next visit because of the experience. Staff always smiling and helpful, they really understand the value of service, and how it can improve a guest's outlook on everything (e.g., our cell did not work in Italy, and they cheerfully allowed us use the office PC to search TripAdvisor for restaurants). Room was good size, very clean and modern. No view of the sea, but you do see Corso Umberto which is a beautiful pedestrian-friendly street custom-made for tourists. The promenade alternates among beautiful churches and other historical buildings, shops and restaurants with an occasional piazza offering breathtaking views of the sea and Giordani-Naxos. Taormina is one of the most beautiful towns I have ever visited, and there is plenty to do for such a small town: Isola Bella, Corso Umberto, Greek Teatro, plenty of great restaurants and other memorable sites. Add that it is centrally located, offering many day excursions to places like Mt. Etna, we will definitely visit again and will stay at Hotel Victoria.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#22 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#49 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Corso Umberto 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing