We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isola Bella

Isola Bella
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.86*
and up
Giardini Naxos, Taormina and Castelmola Half-Day Tour from Catania
Ranked #5 of 97 things to do in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taormina is a region that is rich in natural beauty and scenic beaches, especially Isola Bella that means "the beautiful island."
Lugano (Switzerland)
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice little island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

It's a tiny island which has been recently turned into a tourist attraction (until two years ago it was private, and the house of the former owner still stands). You can walk around the gardens and sit under the trees while enjoying a stunning view on the sea or contemplate the quirky Gaudi style-meets-50's architecture of the building. Most paths though, unfortunately, are closed and cannot be visited (you can't get to the top nor to the other side of the island). Entrance fee was about 4 euros per person.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FantasminoFormaggino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,830
    964
    411
    142
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We did not visit as we had done on previous visits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

It is lovely. Yes I did like, nothing not to like, just go and enjoy everything this beautiful place has to offer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BellaTaormina60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oh the jellyfish....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a very relaxed day at Isola Bella!! The massage people can be a bit annoying and I eventually succumbed - great massage though and pretty cheap (20 euros for 30 mins). We crossed the causeway when the tide was out and spent 3 hours on the island. Unfortunately, they are doing work on the island so we couldn't see everything but it was still amazing!!

The bad part of the day? Having to cross back over the causeway as the tide was coming in, the water wasn't very deep but the jellyfish were everywhere!!! I never knew that I was petrified of jellyfish until that day!!! I was shaking so much, it took me about 10 attempts to get across luckily my husband was there to help.....without him I would have had to sit on the island until the tide went out!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We walked down to the beach from the town and alongto this island. It's a nature reserve and worht a look around. Great views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeresaPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Irlanda
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

simply breathtaking. the turquoise sea is gorgeous. Amazing landscape to appreciate, to take a fresh air, to enjoy the landscape,to take some pictures, or just to relax.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaDalRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola Bella also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing