We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location in Taormina”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family and friends had a long weekend in Taormina on a half board basis and we are very pleased that we stayed at Palozzo Santa Caterina. The staff was very friendly and helpful always with a very friendly hello and asking if everything was ok. We were traveling with a child and i would like to that it was very child friendly.The hotel was very clean and quiet . The rooms were spacious with all the amenities. The food was good and we especially enjoyed the seafood buffet on Friday evening. Also the location of the hotel couldn't be better everything was within reasonable walking distance. About 20 min to the shopping district,ten min to the cable cars and two min to the bus terminals. All in all I would like to Thank the staff for our pleasant stay and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mxerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for you all your praises, it's truly rewarding to read such positive feedbacks as yours.
I will pass on your kind words to the whole team as it will be a great encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've just returned from a summer break at Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina and without any doubt this was our best stay at Taormina so far. The hotel location is perfect and besides enjoying beautiful views it is very close to the city centre from Porta Messina side. The hotel and rooms were excellent with stunning sea views and a marvelous pool area enjoying the old palace architecture which retains the cultural features of the area close to the ancient Greek Theatre.

The food was great varying from Sicilian Buffet including folklore, exquisite seafood buffet and a la carte on other evenings served on the terrace by wonderful staff who were extremely friendly and attentive to our 'family' needs, besides being very professional. Indeed the hotel staff truly make the difference at Hotel Ariston and in particular Angelo the restaurant manager and Giuseppe (with the 'ciuffo') were really helpful. All the reception staff were supportive too such that on our arrival we were offered a full (amazing) welcome breakfast and on our last day an extended room service given that we had a late night flight departure.

We highly recommend Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina to anyone loving the Italian style dolce vita and looking for relaxation moments in a mystic Sicilian setup.

Massimo, Katya, Matteo e Michele ... ciuffetto!!!

Room Tip: Room with a sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank velmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Sir,
we are very glad to read that you and your family, had a truly excellent stay with us.
We are also happy that you enjoyed the location ,our rooms with stunning sea view as well as our pool area.
Our chef is thrilled that you appreciated our food à la carte and our weekly evening buffet.
From Angelo , Giuseppe and the whole staff a big thank you for all the praises . This their outmost reward.

Thanks for recommeding the hotel Ariston , we hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just came back from a 7 night holiday from the Ariston Hotel with my husband, my 4 year old son and my 1 year old daughter. On arrival at 10am the receptionist was kind enough to send us for breakfast as room was not ready which is obvious since we arrived so early. Room was nice but for the first two times the room wasnt cleaned proparly but asked the maid kindly and than the room was made up much better. All the hills up and down are tyring with children and unfortunatley no kids meals available from the hotel so it was a little bit uncomfortable eating with the kids. The buffet twice a week is ok but on one night the buffet opened at 9pm when it was supposed to open at 7.30pm and we were seated by 7.15pm. No one informed us or even apologised for this and I had to leave than as the children were too tired to eat by that time. In general we relaxed and had a good time but we felt that children are unwelcome both in the hotel and establishments around Taormina. Been there once but will never go back.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony to enjoy the view and in the main building above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amf273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Costumer,
we are very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.
We apologize for all the inconveniences and we hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel has spectacular views (try to get a room with sea view), friendly helpful staff, free safe, good air conditioning, free bottle of cava and fruit in the room on arrival (this may be just for Thompsons customers),excellent choices for breakfast (only b & b so can't comment on evening meals), a deep warm pool and ample sun loungers. It's handy for the bus station, cable car to sea front (it's not really a beach, too stony) and short uphill walk to the beautiful and busy Taormina, with it's restaurants, shops, Greek Theatre (great views of Etna), artists etc.
The only negatives were:- not much choice of food at pool bar (ham & cheese toastie seemed to be the only option). Sorry can't think of another negative.
Also be aware the hotel and Taormina are built on the side of a hill and everywhere you go there are steep hills and steps, this could be a problem for the less able or fit (you will strengthen your calf muscles though).
We had a great relaxing and interesting holiday and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel, Taormina and Sicily.
Finally if you get the chance you must visit Mt Etna, you can go to about 3,000 metres via cable car and 4wd bus a superb never to be forgotten day out.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view and preferably with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Mr Craig,
we thank your for you nice comment and for recommending our hotel Ariston .
The chef is really happy to read that you had an enjoyable breakfast experience.
We are also glad that you appreciated the location of the hotel,which easily connect to the major actractions and facilities of Taormina.
We also tank you for you suggestion to improve the snack choice at our pool bar, it will help us to improve the standard of our services.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our stay at the Ariston in Taormina was first class, rooms spotless, food excellent, fabulous pool,spacious restaurant patios, gardens etc. Fresh fruit and champagne in our room on arrival Requested sea view room with balcony when booking and was not disappointed as we could see the bay and all the cruiseships arriving and leaving. All staff were superb. Hotel ideally situated for bus terminus, cable car, and only 10mins walk to an abundance of fabulous restaurants.

Carole & Ray Whitehead (Room 116)

Room Tip: Higher floors have improved view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Mrs Carole,
thank you for your feedback.
We are very happy that the room was to your satisfaciton as well as the location of the hotel.
The Chef is very happy to hear that you have had a great food experience at our restaurant à la carte "Pirandello ".
I will pass on your kind words to the whole team who will be very happy to read all your kind words.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Never normally comment but felt this hotel deserved it. Great location to town centre, cable car and bus station. Great breakfast, lovely sea view room. Hotel linnked with club trpicano on letiianni beach so bus and sun bed 8euro and it's a nicer less rocky beach than isobellA. Buy the swim shoes on the beach for max comfort. Finally the staff carmelina, angelo, giuseppe and Maurize(spelt wrong I'm sure were just lovely and so helpful. Really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the 700 block which had a steep hill so may not be suitable for unfit or buggys but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamhn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Mrs Niahm,
thank you for recommending our hotel Ariston.
We are glad that you appreciated our central location as well as the breakfast offered.
I will pass your review to Carmelina, Angelo, Giuseppe and Maurizio who will be very happy to read your compliments. For them this is the outmost reward!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Incredible hotel, with good choice for breakfast and nice dinner. Superb pool and location, few metres from bus station and cable car to Mazzaro'. Very helpful staff and tidy. Looking forward to get back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebPRManagerPHI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Madame,
we are deligthed to read that you have enjoyed your Taormina break staying at hotel Ariston .
We are also pleased that you appreciated our pool, breakfast and dinner service , as well as our our location.

We hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#15 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bagnoli Croce | behind the ancient Greek Theatre, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $81 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariston 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina, Sicily
Ariston Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing