We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed October 23, 2007

The hotel is in an amazing location, on a hillside with a view down to the sea below.

We stayed in a superior room for the first night but actually found the standard room which we had for the rest of our stay more comfortable, although it didn't have a balcony. The superior rooms in a separate wing had marble floors meaning the little boy wailing at 6 in the morning at the other end of the corridor woke everyone up.

It's compulsory half board at the hotel but we only ever had breakfast there, preferring to explore the restaurants in town in the evening. The breakfast was great, a huge selection.

The pool area was nice, the views were lovely. There is a bar serving lunch and afternoon tea and drinks in the evening. It was usually pretty quiet when we were there, we found it better to walk into town and sit at the bars there watching the world go by.

All in all we had a wonderful week at the hotel and in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank London452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2007

My wife and booked a one week holiday there sept 1-7, 2007. It was a late booking and a relative cheapo - we paid c70% of the brochure price. We were unhappy after we had booked because of the mixed reviews we subsequently read on tripadvisor. These mixed reviews are accurate.
The hotel is awkwardly sited and the main entrance is through the very down-at-heel Taormina bus station . Ariston claims to be a 4 star hotel but the entrance is -10 stars. Up a slippery slope, along a stuffy corridor, up a lift, through the terrace restaurant, and into the lobby - dark ages stuff - designed to put one off on arrival.
The interior design and fabric of the hotel is poor c1970 decor and a smell of school disinfectant in the lifts. We arrived late at night - which just added to the gloom.
The room was standard, through the door, bathroom in 1970
blue tiles on the right, wardrobe with add-on, ill-fitting, interior drawers on the left, air-conditioning inlet vent on the roof of this relatively narrow corridor (3-4m) long leading to the body of the room. The vent was just outside the bathroom door. The room
had a vaulted ceiling - the air conditioning unit was above the
bathroom ceiling with an outlet grill high in the vault. The walls were painted white.
The blue man-made fabric carpet was done - pile dead and
irreversibly stained (white & cream) in places. Wife
refused to walk on it without slippers. Bathroom cleaned everyday but never the clogged (with dust) interior bathroom air-vent or the floor or the wardrobe ( under the drawers was
fvery dirty). Small balcony, shuttered, dazzling sea-view, too narrow for chairs or table.
Considered moving hotel and later regretted not doing so - making the best of it and all that!
Breakfast was good - buffet - good selection. Breakfast room poor and inhabited by female dragon intent on clearing tables - wrong approach to holiday makers.
Lunch on terrace was good - freshly cooked - waiters eager to please, but with that inevitable Italian charm had to be told every time to bring salt, pepper and oil to the table - irrespective of the waiter, irrespective of the day, irrespective of the time - some mothers do have them and all that.
Tiger mosquitos present, repellent and my plug in tablet device in room in-effective, room ceiling too high and hard to see insects on high ceiling. Bitten on 3rd night.. Air conditioning ineffective - no temperature control ( c1970 ) , fan control only - more noise but no reduction in temperature Hotel had no mosquito sprays. Did not realise they were in the room - bitten again on 4th night and subsequently outside ( 35 bights in all ) - on anti-histomine - holiday spoiled. On observation 20% of
visitors to hotel similarly bitten.
Wife developed tummy bug on 3rd day - puzzling as I ate everything she did with impunity. Needed immodium - tummy upset terrible - lastest 3+ weeks . Positioning of air-conditioning inlet vent in room highly sub-optimal in these circumstances. Wife in bed on 3rd and 4th days - also bitten now. Both now waiting to go home.
Pool area good for mature swimmers -no good for beginners -no shallow end - slippy angled edging dangerous for unwary and difficult to exit pool. Danger of scraping back on exiting pool
by backlift method. Pool area well maintained and very clean staff honest - good facility.
Staff on lobby -mainly dour males - glowering rather than smiling - very off-putting - a real mistake by the hotel.
Hotel prices modest - 3 star rather than 4 star - food in hotel
generally good - though we ate out every night (being B & B) .

Other things:
Room retention: last day cost €40 extra - tummy bug made this essential - I viewed this as insult to injury..
Taormina is a pretty hill-town tourist trap - where you can pay € 8 for an Erdinger Wheat Beer which costs €2.75 in the supermarket at home.
Guard your goods - the waiters in cafes are dishonest and
left -behind - goods "disappear" in seconds. We witnessed
a brash and rather tiresome American group troop away from the cafe where we were recovering only to see them return -looking for the designer gift (Prisi) they had mislaid.minutes earlier. The waiter had picked it up and taken it inside - i have the picture in my mind yet - but he and the fetching blonde owner of the cafe
flatly denied ever seeing it to the Americans who stalked off
claiming it "couldn't happen in America " - well no one could believe that !! Anyway i explained to my wife who agreed - we had been reading magazines throughout so we were not fully concentrated on the incident - and I sent her after the Americans while I waited on their return and paid the bill. However,
she could not find them - probably taxied off.
Crystal(e) Holidays Dublin - Forget -4 hour delay out and 4-hour delay back!
Taormina - forget
Ariston -forget.

Mosquito bites flared up 8 days later to double their
original size -another week on anti-histomine - forget
Sicily.

The hotel and the town reminded me of Spain 35 years ago.





.

6  Thank screen_name_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Having already stayed at the Ariston on previous occasions we were intrigued by the negative comments posted on your site . Having just returned from a two-week stay there in September we are pleased to say that once again the Ariston did not disappoint . The bus terminus is convenient but cannot be seen from the hotel . The Corso Umberto , the Greek Theatre and the beautiful public gardens are all within easy reach . The hotel's gardens and terraces are beautifully maintained and enjoy stupendous views of the coastline . The pool IS deep but so what -at least it provides for the enthusiastic swimmer and is not littered with lilos and toys AND there is a supply of clean towels whenever you want them . If all the beds happen to be taken there are plenty arranged around the terraces in either sunny or shady spots - just take your pick .
Travelling regularly around Italy on holidays we find the Sicilians more reserved than the Italians on the mainland but we always find the staff at the Ariston, from the manager down, to be extremely friendly and helpful . Have you ever tried to speak a bit of Italian , even a greeting or a please or thankyou is appreciated . The food is fine - breakfast equal to any place in Italy - and dinner provides something for everyone . We do actually prefer waiter service and this is available "a la carte " on the terrace (weather permitting ) and is equal in quality to any restaurant in town . The Gala Dinner -weekly on the terrace - is a magical occasion with a wonderful candle-lit buffet and live music . The staff are busy all day preparing it .

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank MarleneFarrimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Ariston for 2 weeks in September 07.
Our room was large, spotlessly clean (the cleaners were excellent), with very comfy beds. The bathroom was very big with a powerful shower. (I think we were lucky with the size of the bathroom though). Everything in the room worked well and the mini bar was well stocked and not at all over priced.
The carpet, upholstery and and curtains were a bit dated and worn, and this was true of the corridors, but it was all clean.

We paid extra for a room with a balcony and sea view and although the balcony was very small, we could just about both sit out and the view was fantastic - I would definitely say it was worth the extra money.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly with us and the hotel's public areas were good - the bar area was very nice, with lovely views and the prices were really reasonable, especially in comparison to some of the bars in the centre of Taormina. I agree that some of the staff were a bit surly at times, and we did have to wait a bit to be served a couple of times, but not often.

We ate dinner in the hotel a few times and were pleased with the choice of food - although we much preferred eating in town. The gala dinner on a Tuesday night was very good - lots of fresh fish and shellfish and they set it up outside, which looked lovely.

The main plus for this hotel is the location - it's a 10/15 minute stroll into the centre of Taormina, which is a wonderful place. It's also next to the bus station where you can do lots of trips from, so very convenient. It's a 5 minute walk to the cable car for the beach too.

All in all I would say it's a decent hotel, worthy of a good 3* rating (not quite 4* standard). The excellent location and views outweigh the negatives and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leedslass78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

We had two weeks here from 6th September.

We would give this hotel a mark of 3.5. It is not as bad as some of the earlier reviews. Granted, it is not a 4 star hotel as it claims, but it is a good 3 star.

The good points:-

- The room we had was a reasonable size, it was very clean and our bathroom was very large.
- We paid extra for the sea view and balcony and the views were superb
- The public areas such as the bar, reception, gardens and swimming pool were all nice and well maintained
- bar prices and mini bar were good value considering general taormina prices
- excellent location, 10 minute walk to the central corso umberto and 1 minute to the bus station which we used several times for trips and days out.

The bad points:-

- some staff were a bit surly and slow, especially around the bar.
- Food wasnt great. It was by no means bad, but compared to some of the restaurants in Taormina it was inferior.
- The room has a feel of being a bit dated. The carpet looked pretty old, could have done with a lick of paint etc.
- the balcony was tiny

Overall a good experience, we would go there again but the key for the Ariston is that it has a superb location. If we had the choice in future we would go b&b - the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gullit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Not the most relaxing of holidays but this was purely down to some of hotel staff. If you are not put off by the odd rude staff member (some were very nice) and some difficulty in getting served drinks (sometimes up to a 20-30 min wait) then the hotel is great.

Cons - some rude and very slow staff
- not all rooms have balconys. The ones without balconys do have a sliding door out to an area you can stand on, but it's only a foot wide so you can't sit out there. We were very disappointed at this and we were facing a cliff wall. They did offer to switch us to a room with a balcony and/or sea view but at a fee. However they do have a wonderful terrace overlooking the sea with plenty of seating.
Pros - clean rooms
- excellent food and plenty of it
- very good location
- good pool
- dinner outside on the terrace one night during the week (assuming half or full board)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mars0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Stayed in the Ariston week 4-11 Aug. This is by no means a 4 star hotel, more like a 3, but it is fairly comfortable. The buffet style breakfast and dinners have plenty of choices and were generally nice (although we were half board, we only had 3 dinners in the hotel and preffered to eat out locally). If you were staying longer than a week or did eat in every night at the hotel I would imagine the menu being a bit 'samey' and would get a little boring. But overall all the food wasn't bad.
The rooms were of adequate size and cleaned daily. The only problem you will experiance is that the walls between rooms are all paper thin and you can hear any loud conversations from adjoining rooms (word for word !) We asked to change rooms and were accommodated in a better room (with quieter neighbours!).
The hotel pool is very good (although no shallow end),2.4m deep, but has a step entry. There are a numder of terraces around the hotel providing free loungers and parasols.
The best part of the hotel is the location. You will only be a 5 min walk from the cable cars and to the towns brilliant high street. The bus station is only 100m from the hotel and the bus service and prices were very good.
Beach wise - get the local half hourly bus to Gardini Naxos, the beaches there are better than those at the bottom of Taormina (access gained by cable car).
We visited Etna (expensive to get to the top but a must and worth it),and the nearby cliff top village of Catstomolina (quaint and beautiful).
We spent hours people watching and looking at the shops on Taormina high street (Corso Umberta) - eating fantastic ice cream and sorbets.
Also visit the Greek Theatre in Taormina, it is breathtaking - get tickets for a show if you can, there seemed to be something on there every night.
Overall, Sicily and in particulat Taormina & Ariston appeared expensive, but the location was brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank honeymoon387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#15 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#21 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bagnoli Croce | behind the ancient Greek Theatre, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $72 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariston 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Ariston And Palazzo Santa Caterina
Parc Hotel Taormina
Hotel Ariston Taormina, Sicily
Ariston Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing