We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Character and Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

You are transported in time to a gentle, quiet, elegant time. We loved the character of this old monestery turned hotel. It is higher priced than most sicilian hotels, but it's Taormina and touristy, so it's expected. Having said that, it's beautiful and grand and elegant. We loved the panoramic view from our quaint room, enjoyed breakfast on the hotel patio as well as drinks with friends in the courtyard. The air conditioning could use some tweaking, but it's Sicily where that is really not a priority. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a patio room if possible, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank browneydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you have enjoyed our location and especially that “you was transported into a gentle elegant time. We hope, it wont be long, until you return to see us again.

Best Sicilian Regards
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    229
    89
    18
    16
See reviews for
186
585
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week and found it to be very nice and comfortable with excellent staff except for reception staff who didn't seem to be able to understand what you were enquiring about. Breakfast was excellent but generally food and drinks are overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the hotel and particularly that you found our breakfast excellent, we are very sorry for the reception staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the San Domencio Palace Hotel again soon.

Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

A real luxury hotel, very quiet, very expensive.. The only problem was the wifi.. I payed 5000 Eur / room for 9 nights and I had to pay extra 9 Eur / day x 2 for the internet which was a very bad one with a very poor connection.. The food was also very good but very expensive. A lounch for two was about 180 eur..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tudor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the impression wrote on Trip Advisor. Comments like yours go a long way in helping us to understand what we're doing right, as well as opportunities for improvement. Thank you again and best regards.

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the San Domenico Palace Hotel, this time with the children. It's relaxed, understated, slightly faded style exudes peace and tranquility. Everything works (except the internet during part of our stay!) in a way that makes for a wonderful holiday. Taormina is a bustling place full of interest which makes the San Domenico the perfect place to retreat to. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Ionian Sea is a great way to start the day. The pool area is very pleasant. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive review of your recent visit to San Domencio Palace. We are so happy to hear that you find our hotel “relaxed, understated, slightly faded style exudes peace and tranquility”.It is really like you have written. We are happy that you will choose us again.

Best regards
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The San Dominica is one of the most beautiful hotels we've stated in. The view of Taromina is fabulous. The food, rooms, staff & romantic ambience made our trip a most memorable one. This was our 3rd time staying at this hotel. It's a very special place & we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing regarding your stay at the San Domenico. Your remarks are wonderful we really appreciate them. It is pleasant to know that was your third stay with us and you like the accommodations, the food and staff.
We truly believe that our staff brings an excellent service and we feel proud of this.
Thank you again for your great remarks and for returning.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

There are two hotels in Taormina that we would recommend and this was our first choice. The San Domenico Palace is a former monastery parts of which date back to the 14th century. It stands at the Western end of the upper area of Taormina with fantastic views from the front over the sea and towards Etna.

The public areas are large and impressive with many relics and antiques from the monastery. In the central area is the cloisters with comfortable seating beneath palm trees and bougainvillea. Drinks are served in this area and a pianist entertains at night.

Our room was a junior suite in spacious lofty rooms comprising the bedroom, en suite and a sitting area with doors opening onto a large terrace with sun loungers and a table and chairs. The view from the terrace was breathtaking. Definitely worth getting a room with a sea view at the highest price you can afford as some of the rooms are smaller.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and of high quality. It is served on a terrace which has beautiful views over the sea by friendly and efficient staff.

There are extensive terrace gardens with secluded seating areas. The outdoor pool and sun terrace is located below the gardens and is well sheltered with shaded sitting area and a bar serving serving snacks and drinks.

The hotel's location gives easy access to Taormina with its historic buildings, quality shops and bars and restaurants.

A car is not needed if you are staying in Taormina as all of the upper area is in easy walking distance and driving is not easy because of the one way systems and narrow streets. If you do hire a car however there is gated parking at the hotel for which no charge was made.

A stay at the San Domenico Palace is a relaxing experience to be enjoyed and relished and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view and if possible a terrace as the views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pc1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this spectacular review. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and provided you with an amazing experience.
We are very glad that you had the time to enjoy our garden, the ancient furniture that we are proud to save jealously and the entire property.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel and the grounds are very beautiful. I had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here. If I return to Taormina I would stay here again. It is also in a perfect location for Taormina, situated quite centrally, yet very peaceful. Having breakfast was also a good experience, seated on a terrace covered in pretty flowers and looking out over the sea. I thought the staff were friendly and helpful. I did not use the restaurant but did have snacks at the bar area including a very nice cheese platter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
we really appreciate your nice comments regarding your stay with us at the San Domenico Palace. We are glad to ear that you spent same unforgettable moment with you further more that you had appreciated our snacks by the Cloister Bar .

Thank you again and best Sicilian regards.

Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Property: San Domenico Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Travelocity so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing