We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star facilities - 5 Star people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My third time at the San Domenico, which suggests I like it. Having stayed previously at the Timeo, I have no hesitation in recommending the understated elegance of the former palace.
Yes, the corridors are long, but this only seems to add to the general air of tranquility. far from "...no sea views.." as one reviewer commented, the San Domenico enjoys breathtakingly beautiful views of Etna and the Bay below. Dine on the terrace, breakfast in the shade, or swim in the pool, and you will enjoy the views of this beautiful resort. (Incidentally,our room overlooked the Bay directly, so am not sure how you could miss a sea view !)
For me, however, what makes this my favourite hotel anywhere in Europe, are the staff and the levels of service. Whether you are seeking a romantic get away, or want to be pampered, the staff here seem to intuitively know, and deliver accordingly.
Yes, it lacks the bells, whistles and bling of the more gaudy resorts masquerading as 5 star, but, if it is a timeless quality you are looking for and a truly memorable stay, this is the place. The restaurant is fully deserving of it's two Michelin stars, and it's setting is amongst the most beautiful of any I have had the pleasure of visiting anywhere in the world..........and, yes, it does have the most beautiful of sea views.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and ensure you book at least one night on the terrace Restaurant. Then simply, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank alex e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved the feeling of staying in a former monastery. Truly exquisite. The breakfast was divine and the two star Michelin restaurant on the veranda was as memorable as it gets! Love the courtyard and we loved our upgraded room in the newer wing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and the service was only ok, in comparison to other hotels we went to for drinks and dinner. Facilities were poor, very long walks through corridors from room to reception, so it wasnt very practical. Main issue was nowhere in the hotel you could relax with a nice seaview, which we found in a few hotels. It felt we were very far from the sea when we were technically in front! Pool was also very cornered and you felt quite secluded and the rules at the pool were strict. Staff was not very helpful!
Worst was the cost, as everything in the hotel was really expensive! €9.50 for a beer and 11.50 for a mint tea or pasta for lunch at €25. We had to leave the hotel to get better value in other 5 star hotels such as the Timeo or Metropole, which are far better in luxury!
This hotel suits a couple in their 50's as it can be very relaxing be too secluded as an old convent!
After visiting many other hotels in Taormina, i would not stay there again. Not a top 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnFR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a lovely location, close to main street, but far enough away for a silent sleep. Incredible views and lovely restaurants. Staff were all efficient and pleasant. Extremely large garden and pool area, which made it feel like a luxurious home. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of their best suites, with an enormous balcony. What a lovely holiday.

Jo, David & Victoria Hovenden

Room Tip: All rooms seemed wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family and I have just returned from our trip to the San dominco. We had an enjoyable stay and the hotel is in a very convenient place to explore the local area.
1) Service - The service was mostly very good. The cleaning staff were very friendly and would always say hello to you. But the only criticism we had on the service was the pool staff. They were very grumpy and when our son asked for another towel (we were only given one each) they were rather unpleasant.
2) Food - At breakfast there was a wonderful selection of food and drinks. During our stay we had dinner at the principe cerami which is the 2 Michelin star restaurant in the hotel. The service there was faultless and the food was some of the best we have ever had. Highly recommend having a meal there.
3) Facilities- The facilities were good ,the pool was great for doing lengths. They say the gym is state of the art but it is very small and can get busy easily and it got very hot. There are some very beautiful rooms within the hotel which are worth having a look at.
Overall, we enjoyed are stay at the San Domenico, though the rooms could do with bit of a refurbishment. The hotel is seconds away from the shops and we recommend staying here if you are in Taormina.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThreeWalkersOneWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

these are some thoughts expressing how we feel about our stay in San Domenico recently;
fantastic atmosphere (in a monastery),
very friendly and helpfull staff,
beautiful seaview from the terrace of our room,
very good kitchen, ...
nothing negative.

Room Tip: ask for sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toponypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we arrived we were immediately upgraded from a classic to a deluxe room, which was a great start! Some of the other reviews have been a little negative about the rooms. Maybe we were just lucky because I thought that, although slightly small, it was well appointed and spotless, with crisp white bed linen. The sea view was superb!

The staff were very attentive and made our stay feel special. All the staff greeted us with a smile each day, from the reception staff to the chambermaids and gardeners.

The breakfast is excellent with a full choice of options from a cooked English breakfast to cured meats and a selection of pastries. Every morning we over ate due to the food on offer.

The wasps mentioned in another review were an issue, with most people opting to have breakfast indoors, however, in the evening they all disappeared.

Part of our package included two complimentary evening meals, however, I would say that these were very average and I would have been pretty disappointed if I had paid full price for them. You can have far superior meals in the town for less and with the same quality of service.

Pool snacks were extortionate for what you got. You will pay around €15 for a ham and cheese sandwich, which is one slice of ham with one slice of cheese in two slices of white bread and a bit of salad.

Having said this, my overall impression is that this is a lovely hotel in a great location, enjoy their breakfasts but eat out for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view. Enjoy the breakfasts, but eat out for lunch and dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $72 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed for renovation. Opening date to be announced soon. A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing