We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveler rating
934
88
35
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
934
88
35
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa flora sister hotel greek theatre main building gallery room mount etna complimentary boat trip pool staff separate building the general manager outstanding hotel five star hotel terrace bar teatro greco hotel terrace breathtaking views junior suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

Words cannot express the depth of our gratitude to Alessandra and Dominico and all the staff at the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo for giving us truly the BEST day of our lives. Everyone, even guests who were in their 60's and 70's, said it was the most incredible, most romantic wedding they'd ever been to!!! One funny uncle said "I can't wait to die- if this is Sicily, what's Heaven like!" And a friend said "That's it, this is the pinnacle of weddings, I need go to no more!"

Where to start..From the very first interactions by email Dominico and Alessandra were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Then when we came to Taormina to preview the hotel and Taormina in April before our wedding in June we were blown away by the sublime beauty of the whole place and the hotel grounds but also importantly by the staff. Every single person we met was so warm and welcoming with marvellous personality. Alessandra and Dominico were so friendly and accommodating.

The food was to die for! In fact one of our guests is a Michelin star chef and he was super impressed, as was everyone and all reported how lovely the waiting staff were.

The setting itself.. just heavenly! Unbeatable. It's got a stunning view of Mt Etna; it's got the beguiling tiered gardens of the hotel; the resplendent terraces and we went for the elegant long table which was definitely a winner. Just magnificent. People took photos of it from the Ganimede terrace where we had the aperatifs and they couldn't believe that was where we'd be dining. It looked like something out of a fairytale. And with the candles lit as the sun went down it was even more magical! It makes me well up every time I think of it.

Our bedroom suite was sublime! A gorgeous bedroom/living area with a huge, super comfortable bed, incredible views over the gardens and also over the pool, big luxurious bathroom. We requested to have some of the aperitifs in our room for after the photos and before we went down to join our guests and we couldn't believe that there were about 3/4 waiters there to greet us outside our bedroom with bottles of champagne and the aperitifs. strawberries etc etc.. just over and beyond the call! And for breakfast 2 waiters came cheerfully in to serve us with such aplomb! Moving our table to the now open-shuttered window where they laid out our various silver dishes before the most glorious views. We felt like royalty!

We could go on and on but you get the idea!

If you want to have the most magical , most romantic wedding it all comes down to the setting, the venue and the people and for all three and for sheer excellence in every way you cannot beat The Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo. You and your guests will be transformed by the experience!

We cannot thank you Dominico and Alessandra and all the beautiful people at the Timeo enough for your boundless hospitality. We were truly bowled over and will treasure the memories and surely return many times in the future on anniversaries! You are a part of our hearts now forever.

Maeve and Mark XxXxX

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank MaeveCorkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore generale at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear MaeveCorkLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such fabulous feedback following your most recent visit to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

We are very pleased to learn that you have chosen us for celebrating the most important day of your life and that our team, Domenico and Alessandra in particular, have created wonderful experiences you will never forget.

We really hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

We recently returned from Taormina and the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo. The property, views, food and especially staff were wonderful. Our room was lovely facing the water with a wrap around balcony. We dined at the hotel quite a few nights and the menu in "The Restaurant" and on the Patio and at the pool were terrific. Unfortunately, I was on crutches and the concierge was able to get me a wheelchair. The staff couldn't be more helpful and considerate. We were in a suite with a huge closet, bedroom/living area and balcony overlooking the pool. You must have a drink on the Patio to watch the sunset and Mt. Etna in the distance. We weren't able to get to the sister property but I'm sure we will return and get there. would be happy to answer questions. Smoking is permitted on the balcony or Patio but not in restaurants or public areas. The hotel can arrange a tour to the town of Savoca where part of the Godfather was filmed. Actually, the Bar where Michael asked for Appalonia's hand as well as the church where they were married.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore generale at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear Karin S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your recent stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

We really appreciate all of your comments and were delighted to read that you very much enjoyed the hotel accomodation together with the service provided and the external activities sugggested.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

The Timeo Belmondo is a stunning and elegant old world retreat in Taormina overlooking the Sicilian coast and Mount Etna. The service is exquisite and everything about the hotel from the suites to the terrace bar is fantastic. It's a very elegant and refined oasis. The morning breakfast is superb. Our only disappointment was our dinner in the restaurant. It was just not up to the locale and the cuisine and service were only average. Much better food in the many places in Taormina itself so go out for dinner. The hotel is a must. You won't regret it or forget it!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank T1204WGwilliamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore generale at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear William B,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to express your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely time with us enjoying the Sicilian atmosphere and the service offered.

On the other hand, I'm sorry to learn that some aspects of the service provided in our Restaurant and our cuisine were not as per your expectations. So, I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back and I will make sure that our Executive Chef, Roberto Toro, personally take care of you, making your favourite Sicilian dish according to your preferred flavours.

Sincerely,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Timeo before moving to three nights at the sister property the Villa Sant'Andrea. Both properties are physically beautiful, the former in town, the latter right on the beach. And both offer a genial level of service, commensurate with what one would expect of hotels at this level. The training of the staff is apparent. Occasional lapses one would find anywhere also exist (at the first hotel our egg order never came, and when we finally asked, we were told "they forgot"; at the second, when seated at a distance, our egg order was never taken, and we had to find a waiter to take our order; other minor examples exist, but you get the idea; they are small). But this does not matter and would not lead to a 3-star review.

What led to the 3-star review is the very surprising arrogance at the top of the service chain. When we left the Timeo to move to the Sant'Andrea, we inadvertently left a few things behind in the Timeo. Who has not done this? Most of these things are irrelevant, and if lost do not matter. One of the items, however, was some medicine. We inquired. The items were not found. We inquired again. No, the items were not found. Because one of the items was medicine, we went back to the Timeo, inquired again in person, and told, no, the item was not found. We asked to see the box in which left-behind items are placed. No we were told, all lost items are logged in the book. If it is not in the book, it is not in the box. No, you may not see the box. Well, we asked, mistakes do happen. What harm is there if we look ourselves to see if by chance someone dropped the medicine in the box and failed to put it in the book. No, it is out of the question. No mistake has happened. You may not look in the box. We pressed repeatedly and we were repeatedly refused by the Manager. Well, how delightful it must be to work in an establishment where no mistakes happen. And you can imagine our surprise at being told so in an officious way after having been on the receiving end of several mistakes.

We sandwiched the two Belmond stays between Park Hyatt stays in Milan. The Belmond may be as good as you are going to do in Taormina, but do not expect Park Hyatt or Four Seasons level of service, particularly from the senior staff. For a nice hotel in town you might try the San Domenico Palace Hotel over the Timeo, which has the advantage of housing the town's only 2-star Michelin restaurant. We went for dinner (though did not stay) and it was delightful.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore generale at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Dear Mark C,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your feedback about your most recent stay at the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

I was very pleased to read that you found our Belmond Sicilian properties physically beautiful with a genial level of service.

On the other hand, I was extremely sorry to learn that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations in full and more specifically the issue concerning some medicines that were left in the room upon departure.

We have no records of the lost items and for a matter of privacy we do not allow guests to the lost and found department but I can assure you that every single item is carefully logged.

Nevertheless, I do agree with you that a matter of such a sensitivity should have been handle with a greater concern and interest.

I wish to express my most sincere apologies and I hope to welcome you back to Belmond Hotels in Sicily this time for a faultless stay.

Best regards.

Stefano Gegnacorsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

We were only there for a drink early evening, but the views from their bar terrace are absolutely stunning - close to over beautiful gardens and then out over the sea from very high up. Cocktails gorgeous - but expensive as one would expect from a 5-star hotel.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank caroline21650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore generale at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear caroline21650,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your recent visit to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely time with us enjoying a drink and the pleasant atmosphere on our terrace.

We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews