We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolute treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“What an absolute treat!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent two nights here in a superb room with a sea view and overlooking Mt. Etna. The staff, who take their jobs seriously and who are mostly multi-lingual, could not have done more to make us feel completely comfortable and spoilt. The pool staff, in particular, are just incredible laying out your towels for you on the lounge of your choice. The restaurant staff are very attentive too and gave us a table right at the front overlooking the lights in the bay down below - so romantic! The menu was extensive and the wine list great. We opted for the locally produced wines, which did not disappoint and matched the food perfectly. Breakfast was a real spread with five different mozarella cheeses to choose from, not to mention all the different types of honeys! The room was very well appointed with a balcony overlooking the beautiful, very well-tended gardens. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus down to the sister Hotel San Andrea, located on a stretch of private beach, which overlooks Isola Bella. We swam in the Mediterranean and lay on the lounges afterwards. The hotel is right next door to the Teatro Antico di Taormina, which is very well preserved and also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and sea view overlooking Mt. Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! We are delighted to receive such a lovely feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to our corner of heaven in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    59
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
159
464
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
upminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sit back and enjoy,this superb hotel set in a great position next door to the greek theatre ,overlooking the sea and mount etna has a wonderfully relaxed but professional fill about it(professional being the staff which where very friendly and accommadating with all our needs).The room was stunning overlooking the gardens and sea glorious to take in, night and day.The food was exceptional as you would expect from a orient express hotel.So just go sit on the terrance with a glass of your favorite, listen to the piano player(who is first class)and enjoy.Thanks to all the staff at the Grand timeo.(its nice to see a hotel named grand forfill its title)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colUpminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

I wish to thank you very much for your kind words that have been really appreciated by all our staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Taormina and to the Grand Hotel Timeo.

Remaining at your complete disposal we send our best regards.

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My dad celebrated his 60th in Sicily and 40 of our closest friends and family joined us for four days at Hotel Timeo. The pictures you see online do not do it justice. The place is just beautiful and I'm honestly not doing it justice with this description. I will do my best to explain below just how incredible this hotel was and how no detail was overlooked as they put together an incredible weekend for my dad.

I am fortunate to have stayed at some of the most amazing hotels in the world, from du Cap in the south of France to the Singita safari lodges in South Africa, from the Hassler in Italy to the Hay Adams in D.C. This is my new favorite and I will be back. Why?

For starters: The staff. They were every bit as amazing and attentive to our needs in this rather large hotel as the team at the small, 10 person hotels of the Singita lodges. I was amazed at the details the Timeo team covered while planning event after event for my dad. We had a pizza, cigar, wine and chocolate lunch by the pool, a trip out to the Planeta vineyard, a cocktail party that had to quickly e relocated indoors due to rain (flawlessly executed), and the most exquisite dinner for 40 on the terrace of the presidential suite with delicious plate after delicious plate of Sicilian specialties filling our guests (chased by glass after glass of Sicilian wine). They even arranged for a screen and projector to show a video I made for my dad at the dinner.

The rooms were equally amazing. I highly recommend any room with views of the water if they are at your price point, but many of our guests who chose less expensive rooms were happy with their accommodations.

The hotel has a lovely pool with an attentive staff at the cabana bar. If you wish to go to the beach, a shuttle takes you down the road to their sister hotel on the water. Everything is immaculate.

Finally, the food was phenomenal. For my dad’s birthday dinner we had an amazing meal start to finish which included one of the best prepared fillet of swordfish I have ever had, homemade gnocchi, the most amazing stuffed zucchini flowers, more prosciutto then I ever could have dreamed of, and a cannoli to die for.

If you are considering going to Hotel Timeo, stop considering and go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked the Timeo for a small group of organizational leaders. Certainly we selected the Timeo not just for the business meeting space, but for our client's comfort and extraordinary Sicilian experience. Our group has worn themselves out between our business sessions and their free time. I don't need to repeat comments on the views from the hotel. What is written already, and the photos tell the story.

The service level is friendly and exceptional. From our arrival reception by David, to our most personable and friendly receptionists at the Villa Flora (Carmen and Manuela) we have felt very well taken care of. After a week we felt more like a family member!

Mr. Domenico Pellegrino was in charge of our on-site program needs and he is excellent. From our arrival night group dinner to our often changing meeting requirements he never failed to meet our needs.

Have lunch and take in the beach at the sister hotel Villa Sant'Andrea - quite a treat. There are of course many choices outside of the hotel for meals. Two of our favorite places were the Trattoria Tiramisu and the Malvasia - both are on Salva Apollo Arcageta, through the arch at the far end of the Corso Umberto. Friendly, good food, good prices. Cooking classes are offered at a number of local restaurants - you don't have to go far to have this experience.

Beware of high prices if you tell a cab in Catania that you are coming to the Hotel Timeo. The hotel is happy to book you a car from the airport at a reasonable rate. It is not a short ride, and after arriving from a long flight, seeing our driver (Alex) was a welcome site and an informative conversation as we drove in.

Inexpensive, no. Quality all around, and a place to always remember, yes!! Grazie mille Hotel Timeo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConferenceGroupFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This summer was our third visit to the Grand Hotel Timeo and in our opinion it just gets better and better - although it's quite hard to improve upon perfection! The setting in the hills around Taormina is simply spectacular with jaw-dropping views of Mount Etna and the sea below. The Reception, Concierge, Hall Porter, Restaurant, Poolside and Housekeeping staff were as professional, yet as friendly as ever. We were recognised immediately upon our arrival and our preferred room had been made ready for us. A true home-from-home experience.

The terrace restaurant had undergone some impressive refurbishments, along with a number of enhancements to their sister hotel, the Villa Sant'Andrea, down by the sea. As a guest of the Grand Hotel Timeo, you are invited to use the very regular shuttle service to the Villa Sant'Andrea throughout the day, should you wish to use the private beach, the restaurant or sit at the greatly improved sea-side bar - the views are superb! The beach facilities are also excellent, making the trip very worthwhile. Sea swimming in the bay is an absolute delight.

The food quality and service at the Timeo are first-class, with the most impressive of buffet breakfasts that we have ever experienced. All-in-all this continues to be the very best hotel that we have stayed in anywhere in the world. I sincerely hope it stays that way. We'll be back next year!!

Room Tip: It is well worth booking a room in the main building overlooking the pool, with Mount Etna and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is an old fashioned, rather formal hotel. The front desk staff and particularly the concierge could not be more helpful but for me, I'm afraid, I found the rooms to be style (antiques) over substance and comfort and surprisingly spartan in some respects.

Housekeeping was abysmal (both late and lackadaisical)

The restaurant was hideously expensive and terrifically uninspiring given expectations of great Italian cooking - and my feeling was that the hotel relies too heavily on its outstanding location, views and lack of top end competition.

The swimming pool and staff were excellent - a highlight of the hotel

The primary problem to me (as someone who has owned hotels) is a distinct lack of visible management and imagination. Sorry, but this one was not for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreenUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor after your experience at the Grand Hotel Timeo.

We are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay and that you did not mention your disappointment to anyone on our executive teams during your sojourn; we are sure that we would have been able to resolve most issues directly here.

To be honest, I would say that our feedback in general are more than positive and we are therefore even more sorry that you had a different impression.
Nevertheless we have taken note of your observations regarding the housekeeping service and the quality of our cooking and we will make good use of them in order to make improvements.

I would also like to highlight that, as I already answered to your comment on LHW LCM Survey as General Manager of the hotel, I’m more than pleased to be at your complete disposal to fully understand the reasons of your dissatisfaction and I would be very glad to be in contact with you.

We appreciate your comments and assure you that we will do our best to avoid any similar situation in the future.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Grand Hotel Timeo and in the meantime we send you,

Best regards

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Area Manager Sicily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A fairly standard Orient Express experience: impressive old building, superb service but small rooms. The top floor rooms in the annexe do have a superb view over the bay from the balcony but when you are in the room yo see nothing but sky. The only mean we took there, in the bar on the first night was surprisingly poor so we ventured outside for future meals apart from breakfast, which was excellent. Steven, the head concierge, is excellent.

Room Tip: Top floor annexe rooms have great view from balcony but only sky when you are in the room. Floor bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Timeo and we were honoured to have you as our guests.

We appreciate very much your comments regarding the hotel building and your room. We wish to inform you that all the rooms located in our annex Villa Flora, a historic building in Art Nouveau style, have been recently renovated but due to the law restrictions we were not able to make important structural changes on the building, as larger rooms. All the rooms located on the top floor have a lovely terrace and enjoy a breathtaking view of the Bay of Naxos and Mount Etna, which is much appreciated by our clients as well as by yourself.

Nevertheless, we are sorry to learn that, right away, the evening of your arrival you did not have a good impression regarding our bar and the meal. Let me say that we are very sorry regarding your consideration on our cooking because we never had the opportunity to host you in our main restaurant in order to give us the right opinion accordingly.

We would like to assure you that if you had let us know about the problem at the time, we would have resolved it immediately.

A part of that we are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be very happy to share your positive comments with our Head Concierge Steven.

I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Timeo and in the meantime I am delighted to remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may require.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Area Manager Sicily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#16 of 88 in Taormina
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing