We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location, great vibe”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Metropole is amazingly well located in the centre of Taormina and within a 5 minute walk of everything of note. It has an outstanding main terrace which is great for an evening drink as well as an excellent restaurant (think it has a michelin star) with its own terrace. There is a bar in the lobby and live music most evenings which gives the hotel a classy "see and be seen" vibe.

Our room was very bright and airy with high ceilings, a sparkling white marble floor and an attached balcony. However, it was a bit on the small side. The bathroom was very dark and the shower was not functional with doors that didn't close completely.

Service was generally good with gracious front office staff helping us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, day trips, parking, etc. There were some slip ups though - it took over an hour to get fresh towels in the morning, housekeeping service was only available at certain times, and room service often took very long.

We travelled to Taormina with our 3.5 year old and I'm not sure this was the best hotel for him since children's facilities are limited and even the pool is not really appropriate for kids (small and very quiet).

The hotel is very expensive especially in relation to the size of the rooms, but given the location and view, I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sohilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    62
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
40
180
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were wowed by our recent visits to the Hotel Metropole. First, a terrific evening spent in the terrace bar, blown away by the beautiful live jazz and singing which the whole bar applauded. Next up was a visit to the Hotel Metropole spa. Staff could not have done more to look after us and to ensure our every whim was met and exceeded. The best pedicure experience yet in the capable hands of the spa therapist. Final memories were of the freshest, coldest and largest G&T served elegantly on the sun terrace accompanied by panoramic views and excellent snackettes, which will stay in our minds for some time yet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A struggling five stars. The room was five star. The bathroom excellent. The terrace has wonderful views and your needs are attended to well. The restaurant disappointed. Extremely pricey and the menu was poor to average - not good enough although the food itself was very good.

Drinks were pricey but a good menu and well delivered. The coffee was simply superb.

This is a stylish boutique hotel. It is in an excellent location being on the main thoroughfare in the pretty little town. It is a certain jewel.

The pool area suffers as it is cramped on the sun deck. Cosy. You are on view to the tourists from a prominent look-out off the main street and that was a little uncomfortable but possibly this speaks more of me! If you are proud of your body it will not be an issue ...

The staff wanted to please and worked hard. The music choice that played made you feel like you were in a glamorous movie a la Bond or an Audrey Hepburn classic with a Riviera touch. Coupled with the view ... Good. Very good.

Live music was played many nights. An outstanding British singer accompanied by a competent band which has a saxophonist who could hold his own anywhere in the World. This was loud and it was not conducive to conversation. But excellent if you like music and especially Jazz.

We had an excellent stay. Would recommend it and suggest a look at the Grand Timeo hotel too. See Syracuse and visit a vineyard on the way down from Etna for a tasting. You will get tipsy and enjoy it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a difficult review to compile as some aspects of this hotel are indeed 5 stars, but other aspects are certainly not.

On the positive, the staff were all exceptionally friendly & helpful. Even though they didn't always seem to have the infrastructure around them to cope with some requests, they did try. Another positive for this hotel is the location & the view. The position is right on the main street in Taormina & you step out in the middle of exactly where most tourists would want to be. The view & scenery is beautiful & used to full advantage as the bar, restaurant, & I believe most, if not all, of the rooms face out on the vista. The breakfasts were very good with a nice selection of fresh food.

So what are the negatives? Well, the rooms look nice but are very small & not particularly well furnished for comfort. We booked a suite with a spa (jacuzzi) on the balcony. This wasn't really a suite as it was a small bathroom with a small bedroom. There was no sitting area, but they obviously call it a suite because of the balcony area which was a decent size I must say. There wasn't any drawers or cupboards so we had to pile everything on the shelf in the wardrobe. The bathroom was very nice but far too dark for shaving or putting on make up.

Our room was certainly not cheap & I feel it would have still been overpriced if I had received a 50% discount! The balcony offered little privacy between the other 'spa suites' on either side of us. There is a flimsy slatted fence with some plants dividing the balconies, but this was not sufficient for privacy. You could easily see through to the other side, & it wasn't very pleasant to arrive back to the room one afternoon & go out on our balcony, to then be faced with the guests on the adjoining balcony in a position of extreme affection shall we say!

The hotel in general is lovely in some areas but poor in others. The reception & bar is nice, but somewhat cluttered, and the pool area is scruffy & in need of urgent maintenance. The pool itself is lovely. Other areas were not up to a five star standard, with carpets not fitting well & some wear & tear evident. The wi-fi connection was unpredictable & did not work for the last three days of our stay. The wi-fi is free though which is a bonus for any hotel I feel, but not much good if it doesn't work though! We had a problem with our jacuzzi as we couldn't turn it off at night & could hear the motor running from inside the room. We had to ask three times for somebody to show us how to turn the jacuzzi off at night. The only problem then was it became cold during the night, so we opted to leave it on in the end. It was only just warm enough to sit in at the best of times as there wasn't a cover to put over it & it lost a lot of heat. Probably a refreshing temperature in the height of the summer, but not a normal jacuzzi temperature for October. Basically, we feel we wasted a lot of money paying for a spa suite & would recommend that this is avoided.

The hotel as a whole felt cramped & uncomfortable & is grossly overpriced.

So, lots of silly little gripes which on their own are insignificant, but together they gave an overall impression that this hotel needs to review it's charges & I believe somebody should review its star rating. All of that said, we did have a pleasant stay, and if they reduced the prices significantly, & made the hotel a 100% five star hotel, then we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a 'spa suite' as the jacuzzi is not private on your balcony & the tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel, recently opened in a lovely old building that has been completely modernized, is right smack in the middle of what's happening in Taormina. It has one drawback--our room was right next to the area where jazz is played every night until well past our bedtimes, and the music blasted loudly into our space.(The walls seem to be awfully thin.) The hosts were kind enough to find us a quieter room ad even to upgrade us, and after that our stay was delightful. breakfast is served on the porch, and dinner next to the infinity pool. The rooms are spacious (even the non-upgraded one) and the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: Unless you love jazz, request a room VERY far away from the nightly concerts. All rooms have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I visit this beautiful hotel many times on every visit to Taormina mostly for a drink on the superb terrace,occasionally also for lunch or brunch.
This time we opted for a Friday evening dinner and hyped up my friends to the full that this Michelin star restaurant will be a night to remember.
On entrance to start with we were told that we would have dinner by the pool not the usual location ... I had no problem although it's not as nice as the top floor. The service was the worst part of the evening it took ages for anything we asked for ( very under staffed) or even worse they wouldn't even bother turning up to our table. Most of the time we served the wine ourselves and to get a waiters attention it was close to impossible.the head waitress or who ever she is! was the worst of the bunch and kept frowning all evening.she would occasionally turn up and explain what was on your plate.the food was just above average and not excellent as usual.also the hotel is crying for maintenance for example the decking by the pool is all broken and the sofas up stairs are now tierd.

For a whooping eur120 a head I would have at least expected some decent service as it was a really dissapointing dinner.

A real pity this was my favorite spot in all of Sicily.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Malta084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I would have given an 'excellent' but for the fact that when we arrived we were given a room with nowhere to put our clothes! The room had space for a chest of drawers or something and the bathroom was amazing but there wasn't even room to put our suitcase open on the floor if we'd had to keep our things in it!
On remarking about this to reception, they were very apologetic and said it was classed as a comfort room. (?) She advised us that if we stayed in that room that night she would upgrade us in the morning and true to her word, she did - To a fabulous sea view (and balcony) room on two levels, at no extra charge! Still stingy on cupboard space though!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
El Jebel Hotel
El Jebel Hotel
#18 of 88 in Taormina
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#15 of 88 in Taormina
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Tauro Hotel
Monte Tauro Hotel
#16 of 88 in Taormina
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Property: Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Address: Corso Umberto 154, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Taormina Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Metropole Taormina Maison D'Hotes Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing