We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY AT IN TAORMINA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just got back from a 3 week holiday in Italy. We stayed in 6 different hotels in different parts of Italy and by far this was our favourite, not just because this hotel is where you get the best sea view in all of Taormina, not because the service and all the concierge recommendations where spot on and excellent, and definitely not only because of the infinity pool...
The location of this hotel is on Corso Umberto, the main street of Taormina and the happening buzzing part of the town. The hotel has a wonderful terrase lounge where you can enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sunset. The breakfast is good enough and there is a shuttle service to and from the many beaches in Taormina that is free for all those staying at the hotel..you can choose the time slot you want and fresh clean towels are provided by the hotel in cute bags to take to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the last floor :) You wake up to a divine view the best view you can get in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nataly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sorry, Lisa and I didn't stay at this hotel. But, we did stop twice and had some prosecco and sat on their balcony gazing out on the fabulous view. The service was very friendly and the waiter provided a plate of some cheese and bread for us with our cocktails. The drinks were not expensive at all, and when you consider the views are incredible, I'd say this is worth a review.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HoustonianYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The location of this hotel in the centre of town was great, but we were left disappointed by many other aspects of the hotel. Our 'deluxe' room provided us with 6 coat hangers and no other storage space for our stay and the air conditioning was also not working. The staff were very helpful and moved us to another room with the air conditioning working and a couple of shelves, which was an improvement. However, this room needed some repairs, as well as a further visit from maintenance to repair the TV. We also suffered the problem of a leaking shower, with water trickling through into the toilet next door. This problem had clearly been going on for a while, because the floor and the door frames were stained and damaged by the water and the doors no longer closed properly. Really, the room was looking tired and worn and was just not at the standard that we would normally expect from a 5 star hotel, charging rates like this.
Service in the room was OK, but we had to telephone for towels and soap, which were not provided a couple of times. The bathrobes were only changed after 8 nights in the hotel and the complimentary toiletries that we had used were not replaced during the stay. We stored our bags under the bed (as there was nowhere else to do so) and when we removed them they were very dusty. After about a week of our stay, some make up appeared on the table in the room. As it was not ours, I assume that it must have been left by the previous guest and the cleaners had only just found it lurking somewhere.
The bar and terrace enjoy fantastic views, with a good range of drinks on offer. As other reviewers have said, however, the prices at the Metropole are very high indeed, at least double those in other equally charming establishments. The Metropole restaurant is very special, with great food and excellent service. The maître d' was particularly attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner here and would recommend the chef's tasting menu.
Unlike other reviewers, we found the reception and waiting staff to be very helpful and friendly. Antonio was helpful with our room problem and the female receptionists advised us and willingly helped us with booking trips and transfers. The waitress at breakfast was also, very efficient and friendly.
We had a pleasant stay, but when we return to Taormina, we will choose to stay at a different hotel as the Metropole does not live up to its 5 star rating or price tag.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have stunning sea views, but those on ground floor can suffer some noise from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 27gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Metropole is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location with incredible sweeping views from the bar and the pool. The rooms look decent enough, although far from worthy of the price.

The bed is so hard that I think it would be softer to take a nap on the marble floor. If you go during the summer months, expect a sauna. The airconditioning was on and putting out cold air but it wasnt even close to being able to keep up - it was like trying to cool down a desert with an ice block. The 3 staff who came to investigate, all said it was far too hot but were unable to fix it and were unwilling to change us to another room. When we visited reception about the issue, the girl couldn't care less and just shrugged her shoulders and spoke to us rudely despite us being pleasant and simply wanting a resolution.

The showers also flood the bathroom as the enclosure leaks profusely and then there is no drainpipe outside of the shower itself - a 2 minute shower had the water running out of the bathroom, and down the stairs in to the bedroom. Drinks at the bar are way overpriced - about 2.5x the price of them elsewhere. The breakfast buffet is nice enough but limited.

Overall, if the rooms were fully functional and the reception staff were even semi-pleasant I'd give the place a glowing review. But the rooms aren't functional and the female reception staff are so horrendously rude that they ruin the entire experience (with the exception of one of the girls who was lovely).

Did I mention the staff ruin it?

Room Tip: For the best room, I'd suggest choosing a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hurricane0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As the previous reviewer says, a wonderful spot with great views of the bay and good cocktails. Goes for an upmarket feel with waitresses in little black dresses and high heels, but the atmosphere is still pretty relaxed.
However, it has to be said that drinks are not cheap here, My wife had a martini and I had a champagne cocktail no.1 and the 2 drinks came to 38 euros. They came with some nibbles, but I thought the ones at Daiquiri on the steps near the duomo were better (cocktails 8E there).
On the plus side, the jazz trio playing when we were there were really excellent - we could have sat there all evening listening to them.
If you want almost exactly the same view, but without the models-as-waitresses and the steep prices, the the Granduca pizzeria has a terrace very close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in July absolutely faultless, pain to drive to but that's no fault of the hotel,lovely hot tub in room breakfast was of very high quality very small boutique hotel I hope they open some more

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cab37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went here a couple of times for drinks during our holiday in Taormina. The bar produces exquisite drinks and tha ambince is chic and and cool. They had live jazz one night and the most amazing full moon I'we ever seen in my life the second night. Perfectly situated overlooking the bay of Taormina, this balcony is a true gem for drinks and light snacks. I'll be back.

Room Tip: The Mohito is amazing, so is the Bloody Mary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
El Jebel Hotel
El Jebel Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#26 of 87 in Taormina
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#39 of 87 in Taormina
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Address: Corso Umberto 154, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $357 - $1,458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Taormina Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Metropole Taormina Maison D'Hotes Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing