We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DREAM COME TRUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes to your Saves list
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 154, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A DREAM COME TRUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a fantastic stay we had at the hotel!! The drive from Palermo was fast and easy but the drive up to the hotel, Ouch!!! Narrow streets and poor signage made it difficult to navigate so just call from the bottom of the mountain before you start up and the hotel will send staff to get you up.We found this out later after trying to do it solo.The hotel is extraordinary,"luxe" in a laid back way,and situated on the main pedestrian street(no car needed for shops or restaurants)with all the best shops and restaurants almost next door.The staff ,including our "rescuers" could not have been nicer and they did finally whisk us up to the hotel. The hotel is incredible and the views to "die for". Our room OH LA LA!!A duplex with marble staircase and terrace looking out to the sea.The room decorated all in white and cream,the bed covered in linen, silk and soft wool,overheard a grand contemporary crystal chandelier and similar sconces on the walls. The shower was a huge walk in space and an adjacent bathroom with every amenity.Tea in the lobby at sunset was ravishing and done with impeccable service and light jazz later in the evening was cool...all this with fantastic views.The infinity pool was perfect as was the Negroni at poolside. Breakfast was superb with a fresh fruit buffet and then anything else cooked to order. We would go back in a heart beat....and we will.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybermommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    56
    25
    11
    14
See reviews for
36
159
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a lovely boutique hotel. In order to reach to the hotel, the Taxi will take you through narrow roads until you are at the door steps of a building that does not give you the impression of what is waiting for you. The view from the terrace is Stunning! the rooms are excellent, with same view. The location is great. You are in the middle of the old Taormina. It was our first destination in our trip to Italy that stretched to COMO and was fabulous.
Don't miss the famous Sicilian Gelato and the famous Sicilian Cannoli.
The Hotel restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms on the sea side are great, they do offer rooms with private Jacuzzi on the terrace, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver_Zeitoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten breakfast here. Have had lunch here. Dinner here. Cocktails here. A coffee here. Attended jazz concerts here. The only thing I've never done is sleep here. Much to my regret because it is as close to a perfect place as one is likely to get. Just walking around induces slack-jaw, it's so visually astonishing. And the service and friendliness is incomparable. Every detail is perfectly addressed. If I didn't have friends here THIS is the only place I'd even consider staying. Treat yourself. Come for just a look. You'll come back over and over and over again. Just like me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank eamccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was newly renovated and is quite beautiful. the rooms are magnificent - best shower of our trip. The view from the balcony is out of this world. You are right in the centre of town. Infinity pool was fabulous! Breakfast was lovely overlooking the water. Here are the negatives: The rooms don't have any form of soundproofing. It is very loud and they have live music playing late at night that we heard in our room! Don't expect a beach! They have shuttle service to any of the public beaches but they are all ROCKS, you have to pay for your chair, you are subject to all the people getting in your face offering their services. Not where we wanted to be, so after spending 2 hours we left and never returned. Finally, while trying to be very boutique like, we found the staff to be very uppity. The reception desk is manned by "models" that seemed very beautiful but very unfriendly. the owner was there every night holding court, but on one occasion when we approached him he walked away, like he was too good to talk to us. Not sure if I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank choco_nut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just spent 4 days at this hotel. We had fantastic service, a fantastic room and great breakfast. My partner has to eat gluten free and they went to loads of trouble to ensure she had fresh bread and other items of the highest quality. In fact the bread was the best she has ever had! Staff collected us from the main road when we arrived and parked the car. after that everything we needed was organised for us. We were driven to the beach and all advice for a successful stay was available. a fantastic relaxing stay with an amazing view.

Room Tip: Pretty much all rooms face the sea and we were upgraded. We got a four nights for three deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I got married in Taormina in September 2012. We stayed for the week of our wedding at the Hotel Metropole. We had a fabulous stay. The location is perfect, being in the very centre of Taormina, with the main entrance on the Corso Umberto itself, near the main piazza. The panoramic views are stunning and made for excellent wedding pictures on the balcony of our room pre-ceremony.
The room we stayed in was spacious and modern. The cleaning service was excellent. One thing we particularly enjoyed was the breakfast- there was a wide variety of pastries/yoghurts/fruits, etc on a buffet and, along with that came a freshly-cooked hot breakfast and fresh coffee. All of this on the terrace with the wonderful view- it was really idyllic.
To stay at the hotel is not cheap but, having looked at a number of good hotels, I don't think it is over the odds really.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katielewis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent some days this september in taormina. First the weather was perfect, sunny every day. The service in the restaurant was just to say friendly, fast and we didn't even wanted to leave the hotel. Its a beautiful location, the few from the terrasse of the restaurant: you cant get it better!! A big compliment to the kitchen, for the creative, made with love amazing food! I travel a lot, i know what is good food, and this place will see me again and again...
Hopefully i will have time soon to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
El Jebel Hotel
El Jebel Hotel
#17 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
San Domenico Palace Hotel
#11 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Tauro Hotel
Monte Tauro Hotel
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Property: Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Address: Corso Umberto 154, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Taormina Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Metropole Taormina Maison D'Hotes Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing