We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

On a trip to Taormina, my family went into this hotel for lunch. After waiting an hour on a very quiet restaurant terrace for a toasted panini at astronomical prices, I complained to the acting manager. Basically he told me I could leave if I didnt like the wait. We did....very disappointing for my mum whose birthday it was!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KTB22860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I did not stay at this hotel, but only had lunch on their amazing terrace. The view is just stunning. Quality of the food is excellent and service outstanding. All staff was very kind. Love to stay their once.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Superlative.
I work in luxury marketing for hotels and can't fault the place. Special kudos to Daniella on concierge, and the gorgeous breakfast waitress - both went beyond the service of duty.

Combine that with the standard luxury 'bones' of great views, modern amenities, beautiful surroundings, the best breakfast ever (we'd come straight from st tropez).

I've found myself raving and raving and raving.

Not to mention the location. If you can afford it, are of a contemporary nature, I'd recommend staying here over Timeo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegSydney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel is lovely and views spectacular.
Customer service and hospitality is excellent. Spa treatment great. Had the degustation menu, great price and beautiful meal.

Special thanks to Alessia, Josephina and the Management.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonewickholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The service and accommodations were outstanbding and the location, with the front door literally right on Corso Umberto and the back of the hotel overlooking the ocean, was perfect. The staff tended to every need and went out of their way to accommodate special requests. The rooms were modern and well-equipped including the best showers we've ever seen!

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms offer outstanding views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis02021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is on the sea and there is any kind of comfort. You had pool, spa, air conditioning, park. The room was amazing! We had tub inside the room very big!!
The staff was very nice and friendly and the toast we ordered in the pool was delicious!
We had such a great time there! I suggest you only a reccomendation: if you are in the room and you want to be sure no one come in just put the sign outside ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel in our opinion has shortfalls whilst beautiful overall. We arrived as a family of 4( 2 children ) on a very hot day late afternoon. Our allocated room was a two story suite. The most disappointing introduction of this hotel was to enter a room in where the airconditiong was off and the temperature upstairs about 40!!
It took the AC on full blast two days to eventually cool the suite down. At 850 euros per night not acceptable in 5 Star language!!
We felt the staff generally forced their smiles and were accommodating only if asked - very uncomfortable ambience!
Maybe the staff should all take a leaf from the branch of the wonderful waitress serving breakfast. She was efficient, engaging and incredibly friendly - 5 Star service!!!!!
The hotel itself is perfectly located and extremely well maintained.
Rooms are spotless!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauchosCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
El Jebel Hotel
El Jebel Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,840 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#41 of 87 in Taormina
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Address: Corso Umberto 154, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $384 - $1,665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Taormina Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Metropole Taormina Maison D'Hotes Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing