We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening, both setting and dinner”
Review of Maffei's

Maffei's
Ranked #67 of 266 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $78
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, both setting and dinner”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were warmly greeted to this lovely restaurant and seated outdoors under cover of green and flowering vines. The space is romantically lit. We started with alici with orange (tasty unique pairing) and the grouper rolls. Next we dined on the grilled fresh octopus and the ravioli Nero in lobster sauce. The latter is a house specialty and was quite delicious. We didn't like the octopus as it was crunchy, but not rubbery. Not sure whether it was the type of octopus or the preparation, but would not order it again. The service was warm and attentive. Definitely make time to dine at Maffei.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandCathyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    110
    38
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Taoromina”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Tucked away in a side alley, this place is easy to miss. Our taxi driver told us to try it for lunch as he dropped us off at Taoromina. What a find!!! Really, really good food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank padma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Yes this restaurant can be seen as expensive given the lower cost options around Taormina but I and my family believe it is very much value for money. We ate here twice and most impressive were the steaks. The pasta dishes we ate to start were of the best quality we ate all week, try the sea urchin it is wonderful and the salmon. Because we ate traditional Italian every night, pasta and pizza's, here we chose steaks and they were cooked perfectly seasoned really well and, over the 2 nights we ate here as a family of 3! we tried every variation, I ally enjoyed the Rossini. Go there at least once and enjoy the food, atmosphere and service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Utterly delicious”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance, just passing by. We looked into this beautiful courtyard, covered at the top with vines and tree foliages, and we decided to go there for dinner. (August 2013). We thought: “Even if the food is disappointing, the setting is worth it. It would be a pleasure just to sit there!”

Well, the food was not disappointing at all! On the contrary, this is one of the best restaurants we have been to (and we like to eat, so we have been to a lot, in very different countries). Everything is perfectly cooked and balanced. The chef definitely knows what he is doing! The service is excellent - not too slow, not too fast, attentive but not obtrusive. The waiters all know what the dishes are, and can explain it in several languages.

We liked it so much that we went twice, while being on a week long holiday near Taormina.

On the 1st night, I had squid with Luciana stuffing, and it was absolutely delicious. On the second occasion, fish gratin - also wonderful. You could not cook that at home.

It is expensive, I should warn you. A dinner for two - three courses with one glass of wine is just over 100 euros. But it’s worth the pleasure! I would highly recommend it for a romantic evening or a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank praskovya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful Sea-Food”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located down some steps from the Corso Umberto this is a very good sea-food restaurant. The vine covered garden area is quite intimate and the staff are great. We had oysters to start - perfect.; then sea-bass (for two) which was cooked beautifully with optional spinach and potatoes as sides. A very nice (and inexpensive) wine was recommended by our waiter.
.
It's more expensive than other local restaurants but i think it is justified by the quality of the food and the service. One thing to watch for: an aperatif will be offered on arrival - ask the waiter the prices as they can raise an eyebrow when you get the bill!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r_chyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maffei's also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Maffei's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing