We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Gianni House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gianni House
Ranked #49 of 117 Taormina B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hostel is a must go in Taormina. Even if it is a little far away from the main city Taormina, it has an owner who will make you wanna stay there forever. Kind and lovely, Gianni can spend hours and hours talking about all you have in Sicily, where you can get good thinks and landscapes. He will give you all the information you need and make you feel home.
The infrastructure is lovely too. The terrace has a wonderful view of Etna Volcano. The breakfast is ok and everything is tidy, clean and new.
I can't wait until see all the repairs he is going to do in the end of the year to make it bigger and cuter.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have lots of lugagge, try to be on the firsts floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Be_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Gianni and his staff are awesome! Good breakfast, good bedrooms (with private bathroom), good facilities. Very good atmosphere.I just spent a week over there even though my plan was stay for 3 days! Greeeeat place!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilgilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The owner is working in the hostel, he was very kind with us giving good tips about where to travel, what to try and even borrow his own bike!! Everything in the four floor building is focusing on your travel: you can cook, you can chill on the roof, in the first 10 minutes you get all information you need. The WIFI was not so strong on our floor, but that was the only bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita Rozi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived here late & with no reservation on the eve of an italian holiday so weren't expecting to be able to stay. Gianni was incredibly helpful & friendly, he seems to really want you to enjoy your time in sicily. The room was very basic but there is access to a communal kitchen, rooftop terrace with cooking facilities & free wifi. We needed to print out some documents, which they did for no charge. I would say this is the perfect place for younger people to go as there is a really good party atmosphere. A bit too noisy if you're looking for a relaxing break though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikstar1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We loved this place! Gianni and his staff were fantastic as they were so kind and extremely helpful.
We were originally staying here for 3 nights but extended another 2 just because there was so much more we wanted to do and loved it there. The location is great as it is right near the beach and there is a bus stop right outside and the buses take you to the nicer beaches in Taormina for about 1.50 per person. Tours for Etna will pick you up from the house and the staff are more than willing to help you pick the right tour thats appropriate for you, and even call them up and book it for you! Some of the rooms have views of Etna while others have the view of the beach. There is also a roof top that you can chill out and eat on. You can also see everything from up there, and you get a brilliant view of Etna.
Our first three nights were in a really nice room that was very clean and a had a nice view! The bathroom was really clean however the hot water was a bit temperamental but this was actually fine because it was really hot anyways and we used the cold water to cool ourselves down.
The first night there we paid the 10 euros for the ac which is a fair price to pay for such an energy consuming device, however our ac was broken and we didn't have a great sleep because of the heat. We told the staff about it and they did the best they could to fix it, so we went out for our day. When we came back, we entered into this ice cold room with a mobile air con and a very nice note from Gianni with sincere apologies! He also provided ear plugs as the air con was rather loud. However for the rest of our nights we slept really well.
There is decent internet (which is a bit hard to connect to if on the second floor) and two computers which are free to use. Umbrellas and mats for the beach are free to rent and and they also run a laundry service for a small and fair cost.
There was a communal room and kitchen with fridges, cookers, microwave and all the crockery, cutlery and food preparation related things you'll ever need (except a toaster!). Because of these communal areas we met several other travellers which made the whole experience so much nicer.
Gianni himself is the friendliest and nicest person you'll ever meet. He wrapped up my girlfriend's cut foot, helped me in the middle of the night to ease some insanely itchy heat rash by getting some ice, crushing it up and putting it in a bag, he gave us directions over the phone when we were lost and helped organise an etna tour for us among many other things. His daughters and wife were exceptionally helpful as well. Such a heartwarming place, and we both highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to explore Taormina and the surrounding area.
Overall the nicest place we stayed at in Italy, it was so homely, welcoming and fun.

Room Tip: As high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkpelelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for three nights in a private room, which was comfortable and secure (could be a little noisy as it was on the street side - take earplugs and you'll be fine though). The main purpose of our stay in Sicily was to go as far up Mount Etna as we could, and I was struggling a bit to find a tour that departed from the local area; I emailed Gianni the week before we arrived and he sorted it out completely, booking us onto a tour to 3000m which was just breathtaking and for me the highlight of our whole holiday. We spent the rest of our time enjoying the beach which is just a few minutes' walk from the hostel. If you've not experienced floating around in the sea as you watch an active volcano gently smoking away - go here and do it! The hostel is well located for restaurants and bars too. The roof terrace with its views of the volcano was lovely, and we took our breakfast (plentiful and yummy) up there every morning. We spend evenings up there too, hoping to catch the glow of lava on the mountain (sadly we didn't!). One night Gianni threw a pasta party for all of the guests; we enjoyed his delicious pasta on a lovely evening on the roof terrace, chatting with the others. I can't recommend this hostel and this area of Sicily enough - just go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelsbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Make sure you pay the extra 10€ per night to get a/c unit turned on in room or you will sweat to death. The rooms were good size but the shower/bathroom was one of worst I have experienced in hostel. The manager was very attentive and seemed to always be available. Wifi was a pain cause you had to go in stairwell to access. Location of hostel was a little shady. However it wasn't far from beach and some local restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
3 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
3.2 mi away
B&B Villa Schiticchiu
B&B Villa Schiticchiu
#1 of 1 in Spisone
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Hotel Villa Carlotta
#2 of 87 in Taormina
1,720 reviews
2.2 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gianni House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gianni House

Address: 47 Via Pergusa, 98035, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range: $35 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of Sicily is right outside our front door and Mt. Etna, the sea, and the Taormina hills can be seen from or our lovely rooftop terrace where we socialize or just relax and take in the Sicilian sunshine! We are 200 meters from the bus station which will provide you with daily bus excursions to Mt. Etna, Siracusa, Cefalu, Alcantara Gorge, Noto, the Aeolian Islands, Agrigento, Messina, and Palermo! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gianni House Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing