We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Fontana Vecchia
Ranked #15 of 112 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
1 review
“Charming and comfortable B&B”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at Fontana Vecchia for 3 days. It has a comfortable, clean and cosy rooms and has a good location just 5 walking mins from the town centre. The owner is very friendly and helpful person and also prepared breakfast earlier, if I needed to leave the house early in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Despite a welcoming host who was helpful with directions and a charming name, this is a bare-bones B&B; perhaps a bargain for Taormina, but....the only common area is the kitchen, which was un-airconditioned and in August, quite warm. The host does not arrive to help with breakfast until 9 a.m., so you make your own coffee and select from the items in the fridge and pantry. MIlk, juice, low-end cheese, cereal, jam and pre-packaged breads and sweets are provided. The location was very good, quite near the main part of Taormina, and the room was clean and fine, though the mattresses seemed to slope and the pillows were hard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORADEA,ROMANIA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I choose Fontana Vecchia very late for the price, not for location.It was a little complicate to travel with public transport from Giardini Naxos to Taormina.I took a shared taxi with others travelers paying just 5 euro/person.There is public transport in Taormina but is impossible to understand how works.It happens to be chaotic in April ,because they have a special celebration of the city for three days.
It's better to arrive in Taormina by bus, not by train.The bus station situated on Via Pirandello was a little far from Fontana Vecchia, half on hour walking.
Fontana Vecchia is a very clean guesthouse situated ten minutes walking from the main street.My single room was basic, small, with a comfortable bed , a little tv.Free wifi.Bathroom was huge with clean towels.Next my room was the kitchen(breakfast included in the price) with all was necessary to prepare my coffee.I must prepare it myself.The food consists in industrial cheap cakes, bread, butter,,jam.No fruits, but in proximity was a mini market , very easy to buy some bananas or oranges.
Unfortunatelly It was impossible to have a view from my room, may be in other rooms it was better.
The owner, Nando, a young polite man was the best component of this guesthouse.He will be ready to help a traveller in every moment. A very efficient and honest man .
Only real disappointment was how loud the apartments were, especially from family above, those with little children.

Room Tip: Choose to stay in a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found the B & B incredibly cosy,clean and perfect for our needs. The bathroom was also clean . The owner Nando was such a lovely man who was incredibly helpful and attentive to our needs, he really did makes us feel at home and we could use the kitchen facilities whenever we wished. From the B&B it was a 5 minute beautiful walk into the city centre. This is simple solid accommodation, I would l totally recommend it and would certainly stay here again, and thank you once again to Nando.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna3195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our last stop on a 10 day driving tour of Sicily. We had some difficulty finding the b&b, until Nando called to us from the balcony. The b&b was clean and well appointed. For the price, it was a good value. It is about a 5 min. walk to the center of town. The grocery was just up the street and we were allowed to use the kitchen to fix dinner. Nando was a kind and gracious host. As he says, "my home is your home!"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLAgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'Bugia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this very small BB situated in a residential area but only 5 mins walk from Porta Messina and the centre of Taormina.

The rooms are not huge but are extremely clean and seemed to be recently renovated - A/C, satellite TV and free wifi are all included and the ensuite bathroom was of a decent size and most importantly, spotless like the rest of the room !

The owner, Nando, is very welcoming and always ready to help - he makes you feel like you are staying in his home. He also told to use the kitchen whenever we felt like having a cup of coffee etc and not just for breakfast (which by the way was always abundant).

The only thing readers need to keep in mind is that there is a 15 to 20 min walk from the BB to the bus station (which is itself situated in Via Pirandello on the outskirts of Taormina) - we walked all the way with our luggage without any problems but its good to know for anyone who is arriving in Taormina by coach from Catania airport.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay in Taormina and Nando and his BB made it all the more memorable !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Everything was excellent! From the cleanliness of the rooms to our perfect host Nando, who was always ready to help us no matter what. Rooms are lovely, exactly as seen in the pictures. And also there is quite a view! It is very close to the city centre, only about 5 minutes walk. This made us feel home and welcome in the lovely city of Taormina. I highly reccommend this since it is not expensive and you get the best value out of it! Thankyou Nando!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara_ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#19 of 88 in Taormina
483 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Sicily in Love
B&B Sicily in Love
#5 of 112 in Taormina
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
B&B Villa Valentina Taormina
0.6 mi away
Villa Astoria
Villa Astoria
#2 of 112 in Taormina
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Agon
Bed & Breakfast Agon
#3 of 112 in Taormina
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Fontana Vecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Fontana Vecchia

Property: B&B Fontana Vecchia
Address: Via David Herbert Lawrence 8, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your B&B Fontana Vecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Fontana Vecchia Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing