We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute must if in Sicily!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legendary Sicily

Legendary Sicily
Ranked #6 of 33 Tours in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Legendary Sicily offers daily tours to the Etna Vulcano.Pick-up from your hotel.Drive up an old lava flow by 4wd jeep.Stop to enjoy the beautiful panorama of the Bove Valley.Visit cave originated by prehistoric lava flows.Trekking on old craters dating back from 1865.Visit the lava flow originated from Piano Provenzana in 2002.Pick-nic.The tour continues through off-road paths to reach the two little towns of Linguaglossa and Castiglione.Visit the Alcantara Gorges. Return to the hotel.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An absolute must if in Sicily!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a fantastic day trip through Mt. Etna and the surrounding towns. Eddy was a wonderful guide who was not only knowledgeable about the history of this area, but gives the real sense of being passionate and caring of everyone he is giving this experience to! Eddy, the multi-lingual Mt. Etna maestro, brings you back to that childhood excitement you had when you went on the unique school field trip. An archaeologist by trade, we tabbed him Sicily's Indiana Jones!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2nd time around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this trip so much last year we booked again on our return to Taormina.
Eddy is best contacted by email on Legendary Sicily's website as he is usually out on trips - he responds promptly and all arrangements for time, pick-up etc can be made.
This time there were just 2 4x4s for a small group of 8. We had an amazing day, starting with the short walk on the Valle del Bove, where Eddy gave us so much interesting information about the history + geology of Etna.
We then did a 2 hour trek from Piano Provenzana around the craters from the 2002 eruption. This was great for us as it was a different trek from last year - and even better! Luckily it was a beautiful day with amazing views. Before lunch at the mountain refuge we experienced one of the lava tunnels and learned about their use as ice storage facilities!
After a lovely meal we drove to the Alcantara river and walked down to the bottom of the gorge, both of which are areas of great natural beauty.
Eddy is a fount of knowledge and always responds with enthusiasm to questions, often in great detail in several languages. He communicates his love of the area with great passion. The day's itinerary can be varied according to weather conditions, which means hopefully the group gains the best experience of each place visited.
If you want to experience Etna in a small group away from the crowds and with a personal touch, then go with one of Eddy's trips - you won't be disappointed!
Thanks again Eddy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank daveanddee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get closer to the real Sicily!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were very lucky to be on this tour with only one other couple along with Eddy and Francesco so we felt like we were getting an exclusive insight to Etna and the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend the Etna Off Road/ Alcantara tour for anyone who wants to feel part of the culture and history of Sicily and wants to learn about and experience the 'off the beaten tracks' areas of this region. I can't speak highly enough of Eddy, his knowledge is incredible and extensive (history,geology, theology to wines, culture, politics) - absolutely astounding and he has a genuine passion which made everything really interesting (so you don't feel like you're back in school!) Francesco too was great, we loved the fact that he couldn't resist picking the local fruit for us to enjoy!
We thoroughly enjoyed the frequent stops in small villages, at the gorges and lava tunnels and of course on Etna and the lunch was the best meal we had all holiday.... delicious!
The only mild warnings I would give is that this is a very long, quite tiring, day so be prepared and make sure you have the right footwear and clothes. Also, if you are a bit unfit (as I am!) you may find some of the trekking (especially on Etna itself) hard going - I actually had to admit defeat at one point and turn back and wait for the others at the base but I definitely didn't regret going on this tour! If you decide to visit Etna on a coach/ cable car with big groups of other tourists then I think you will really miss out whereas a tour with Eddy and Legendary Sicily will not disappoint!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaRED-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like being with the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very knowledgable and friendly guide. Great off road sections in comfortable 7 seater LandRover. Interesting walking sections. Reasonable prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JNxio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrific tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family of 4 (my wife and I and two teenage boys) did the Mt. Etna tour with Eddy. I can't say enough good things about Eddy. He made things interesting and exciting for my boys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GracieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legendary Sicily also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Legendary Sicily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing